Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby raskil » 2007-3-09 @ 20:06

Hi,

DosBox 0.70 refuses to run Shadow Warrior. It used to work wich 0.65, now i get a black screen after the graphics init. I' ve tried switching to normal core and static cycles and I' ve turned off sound, but i still get the black screen. Any ideas?

Greets

Raskil

Edit: Tried the DOS32a Extender too, but no luck.
raskil
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-3-09 @ 19:59

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby red_avatar » 2007-3-09 @ 20:54

It works fine with the standard settings to be honest. Try a clean install of Blood? Also select VGA in setup.
User avatar
red_avatar
Oldbie
 
Posts: 785
Joined: 2004-4-12 @ 13:24

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Hazekel » 2007-3-09 @ 21:49

Assuming you are using Windows XP or later, I would recommend using the free port on this site:

http://jonof.edgenetwork.org/?p=jfsw

The game will run natively through Windows with this port. It runs better than with DOSBOX 0.65. Haven't tried 0.70 on this one.
User avatar
Hazekel
Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: 2004-1-06 @ 17:32

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby raskil » 2007-3-09 @ 22:19

Got it working. A reinstall did the trick. Shadow Warrior runs quite good on 0.70, even in 800x600 SVG.
How good is the Multiplayer Code from the port?
raskil
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-3-09 @ 19:59

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby leileilol » 2007-3-10 @ 22:39

jfSW has fatal crashes in areas (especially mirrors) and has broken multiplayer though. For stability I still recommend DOSBox with SW.
On the virge of being a rendition of a raged voodoo savage with a bundle of TNT leading a revolution into an apocalypse. At speed warp 5, mindnumbed from the geforce
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Wintermute » 2007-3-10 @ 23:17

I don't know about Multiplayer but I didn't experience any crashes with Jono's port on my computer.
Wintermute
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: 2005-5-02 @ 12:49

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby raskil » 2007-3-13 @ 21:36

What a beauty, SW runs great under DoxBox 0.70 even in 800x600 SVGA. And after a little trouble with the IPX frame type i got the multiplayer working too. LO WANG RALLY, I'M COMING! Many thx to all contributers of DosBox, you just made one person alot happier :)
raskil
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-3-09 @ 19:59

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Wkdsht » 2007-6-12 @ 17:11

Havin trouble gettin Shadow Warrior running it says CFG not found what am i doing wrong... i'm wiggin out cause i been wantin to play this game again for years lol....
User avatar
Wkdsht
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-6-12 @ 16:52

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby MiniMax » 2007-6-12 @ 22:38

What did you do Wkdsht?
Last edited by MiniMax on 2007-6-15 @ 17:32, edited 1 time in total.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Inspiron 9400 | Core Duo T2400 @ 1.83 GHz | GeForce Go 7800 | SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A | Win XP Pro/SP2
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5109
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby leileilol » 2007-6-13 @ 19:05

then run setup.exe to make a new one
On the virge of being a rendition of a raged voodoo savage with a bundle of TNT leading a revolution into an apocalypse. At speed warp 5, mindnumbed from the geforce
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5194
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Wkdsht » 2007-6-15 @ 16:36

I have re-installed it and went thru the set up and now i can do it but get no sound.
User avatar
Wkdsht
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-6-12 @ 16:52

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby wd » 2007-6-15 @ 16:37

What sound card and what settings did you choose in setup?
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10819
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby MiniMax » 2007-6-15 @ 17:33

MiniMax wrote:What did you do Wkdsht?

Let me try once more: EXACTLY what did you do Wkdsht?
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Inspiron 9400 | Core Duo T2400 @ 1.83 GHz | GeForce Go 7800 | SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A | Win XP Pro/SP2
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5109
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Wkdsht » 2007-6-15 @ 18:32

I installed the game went thru the setup like normal, then i go into DOSbox and get it goin and it says something about playback failed or something. Sorry for seeming so dense triin to learn some of this stuff still...
User avatar
Wkdsht
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-6-12 @ 16:52

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby MiniMax » 2007-6-15 @ 18:48

MiniMax wrote:
MiniMax wrote:What did you do Wkdsht?

Let me try once more: EXACTLY what did you do Wkdsht?

Trying one more time. EXACTLY, line by line, command by command, keypress by keypress.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Inspiron 9400 | Core Duo T2400 @ 1.83 GHz | GeForce Go 7800 | SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A | Win XP Pro/SP2
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5109
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Wkdsht » 2007-6-15 @ 22:07

First i installed it ran the set up and everything then opend the dosbox changed the drive to C: then typed in SW like it says to then i will load up but while loading up it says playback failed possibly due to an invalid or conflicting IRQ.
User avatar
Wkdsht
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-6-12 @ 16:52

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby MiniMax » 2007-6-15 @ 22:17

I asked 3 times, and never got an answer, so I am not going to waste more time on you.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Inspiron 9400 | Core Duo T2400 @ 1.83 GHz | GeForce Go 7800 | SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A | Win XP Pro/SP2
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5109
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Hillsy_ » 2007-6-19 @ 17:26

The game works fine with Dosbox 0.70 even with SVGA 800x600 as mentioned above. It seems you have the incorrect settings for your sound card. Try changing the IRQ and DMA channels when you choose your sound card when running the setup file.

Manually choose your sound card. Don't accept the default settings. It has an option 'Choose Sound Card'. Select it to choose your sound card. I find the best one is sound blaster or 100% compatable...

What sound card are you using?

Tinker alittle and you will find the right setting to run the game.

Old DOS game were very sound card sensitive. You have to get the correct settings. You will know when you have as when you test the sound and music in the setup file you will hear something...such as 'you don't mess with Lo Wang'...or something equally as amusing.

Enjoy.
Hillsy_
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-5-08 @ 15:42

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby Wkdsht » 2007-6-20 @ 15:56

Is it best to run the set up in DOSbox or just use set up during the install?
User avatar
Wkdsht
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2007-6-12 @ 16:52

Re: Dosbox 0.70 & Shadow Warrior

Postby wd » 2007-6-20 @ 15:58

Shouldn't matter, as long as you select the correct card with correct
parameters, that is irq=7 and dma=1
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10819
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Next

Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: keropi and 1 guest