Warcraft II

Emulation of old Macintoshes, Mac hardware, or Mac peripherals.

Warcraft II

Postby whistler » 2017-4-21 @ 00:35

I was able to mount the CD and the new directory that i was going to install it to with no issue. When i view the files on the CD without dosbox I can see the file names correctly. They look like this:
Custom PUDs
Data
Destop Folder
etc etc etc...
When I look at the files on the CD from dosbox the names are totally wrong. They look like this:
CUSTOM~1
DATA
DESKTO~3

I can not change directory no matter what i do and cant run the install files. What's wrong here?
whistler
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-4-21 @ 00:25

Re: Warcraft II

Postby vladstamate » 2017-4-21 @ 01:04

Is this Warcraft II for Mac? If yes then DosBox cannot help you.

Plus DosBox is basically DOS and in DOS (unlike Windows 95+ or MacOS) file names are 8.3 so the names will be truncated.
User avatar
vladstamate
Oldbie
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 2015-8-23 @ 01:43

Re: Warcraft II

Postby collector » 2017-4-21 @ 12:57

If you are trying to use DOSBox ask in the DOSBox forum.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4018
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: Warcraft II

Postby Azarien » 2017-5-21 @ 15:30

DOSBox does not support LFN (long filenames).
There's unofficial patch somewhere on this forum, but I don't think that would solve your problem.
A DOS version of the game certainly would not require support for LFN to install.
Azarien
Member
 
Posts: 382
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14

Re: Warcraft II

Postby collector » 2017-5-21 @ 22:33

Also note that this forum is for the emulation *of* Macs, not emulation *on* Macs.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4018
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39


Return to Macintosh Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest