wolf3d for mac

Emulation of old Macintoshes, Mac hardware, or Mac peripherals.

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby Asa » 2010-8-21 @ 16:48

I am running System 7.5.5 in Basilisk II. I downloaded the shareware version of Wolf3D for the Mac (1st Encounter), and it quits with the error that there are no color monitors attached to this Mac. What do I have to do? I have checked and rechecked the settings. The monitor type is always Multiscan, and it won't allow anything but millions of colors. I have changed the resolution from Basilisk II's prefs, but that doesn't help either.

Also, the source for Mac Wolf3D was released in 1995, but I can't find a copy of the source anywhere. All of the links I find are dead. Does anyone here know where I can find it?
Asa
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-8-11 @ 21:32

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby Asa » 2010-8-21 @ 16:53

OK, I typed in the wrong year. Bill Heineman released the source in 2000.
Asa
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-8-11 @ 21:32

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby rfnagel » 2010-8-21 @ 22:33

wildweasel wrote:Also, I haven't had much luck running Wolfenstein through Basilisk II - granted it was an older version of the emulator, and while the game did run, it would occasionally just crash the emulator. Maybe it's been fixed, but I haven't managed to get the newer Basilisk II's working on my Windows machine due to crazy conflicts with the version of GTK that came with Pidgin. =P


I had the same problem with the older version of BII. The crashes seem to be random, but are inevitable nonetheless... it will eventually ALWAYS crash for me.

Had similar problems as you with the newer version of BII... for me, no fullscreen mode, problems with GTK, etc... I simply decided to stick with the older version of BII which seems to run fairly well on my PC (short of running Wolf3D under it, that is).


@Asa,

What version of BII are you running? Per above, I myself had problems with the newer GTK version of the emulator. In the older (non-GTK) one that I run though, I can't change the color depth from within that emulated Mac, I have to change it using the BII prefs utility.
Rich ¥Weeds¥ Nagel
http://www.richnagel.net
User avatar
rfnagel
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1199
Joined: 2009-4-03 @ 22:24
Location: Out in the woods of Crystal River, Florida USA

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby sliderider » 2010-8-22 @ 01:04

robertmo wrote:you just said wolf3d works with system 7 or earlier.


Intel Macs can't run system 7 natively.
User avatar
sliderider
l33t++
 
Posts: 5754
Joined: 2010-6-25 @ 13:02

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby Glitchologteam » 2011-1-19 @ 15:35

Is wolfenstein supported on Mac OS System 9.2.2? (I have an Old Mac that run this OS)
User avatar
Glitchologteam
Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: 2011-1-10 @ 02:37
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby aasimn » 2011-2-27 @ 02:40

PLEASE HELP!!
I downloaded the Wolf3d for mac from here http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/wolfenstein-3d/
and have been using dosbox for games. But when i tried playing Wolf3d it keeps giving me an error. It says error loading file wolf.DAT . PLEASE HELP THANKS.
aasimn
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-2-27 @ 02:36

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby shock__ » 2011-2-27 @ 04:02

aasimn wrote:PLEASE HELP!!
I downloaded the Wolf3d for mac from here http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/wolfenstein-3d/
and have been using dosbox for games. But when i tried playing Wolf3d it keeps giving me an error. It says error loading file wolf.DAT . PLEASE HELP THANKS.
PLEASE READ!!
This thread is about the [blink]MACINTOSH[/blink] version.
PLEASE re-download it from the id software homepage
THANKS
User avatar
shock__
Oldbie
 
Posts: 882
Joined: 2010-12-22 @ 01:53
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby SquallStrife » 2011-3-07 @ 05:09

Sheepshaver runs OS9, Wolf3D should run on that right? I think Sheepshaver is a pretty fast emulator.
User avatar
SquallStrife
l33t
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: 2010-2-06 @ 15:18
Location: Drowning in consoles

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2011-5-10 @ 00:48

Wolf3D runs fine in every Mac OS previous to X. It runs pretty fast under Sheepshaver. In system 8.6 and 9.xx under Sheepshaver some minor lagging occurs. It's smoother under system 8.5 and earlier.
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1142
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby hargcore » 2011-5-10 @ 14:04

There are 2 copies of Wolfenstein 3D for the Mac on ebay at the moment (The instruction manual looks cool):

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Wolfenstein-3D-19 ... 4cf706a927

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Wolfenstein-3D-MA ... 3cb68718d8
User avatar
hargcore
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-9-12 @ 15:46
Location: UK

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby temptingthelure » 2011-5-19 @ 01:46

hargcore wrote:There are 2 copies of Wolfenstein 3D for the Mac on ebay at the moment (The instruction manual looks cool):

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Wolfenstein-3D-19 ... 4cf706a927

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Wolfenstein-3D-MA ... 3cb68718d8


This is the mac release, with the better graphics?
temptingthelure
Member
 
Posts: 228
Joined: 2008-12-26 @ 19:26

Re: wolf3d for mac

Postby Sune Salminen » 2011-5-19 @ 17:09

Both auctions clearly state that it's the Mac version.
User avatar
Sune Salminen
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2002-7-28 @ 17:40
Location: BH, Brasil

Previous

Return to Macintosh Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest