The Dark Eye on Mac

Emulation of old Macintoshes, Mac hardware, or Mac peripherals.

The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby lonelysith66 » 2010-9-25 @ 23:43

Hey, guys, do you know how to install The Dark Eye on Mac? I'm running Snow Leopard and I really want to play it.
lonelysith66
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-9-25 @ 01:11

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Jorpho » 2010-9-27 @ 01:50

This one? A 1995 System 7 game? That is a game designed for a computer with very little in common with the current Macintoshes. You'd likely have to set up Basilisk II or Sheepshaver.

You'd do just as well to get the Windows version and use Virtual PC.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby lonelysith66 » 2010-9-27 @ 11:43

What's the website for Virtual PC?
lonelysith66
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-9-25 @ 01:11

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Jorpho » 2010-9-27 @ 11:58

I would tell you to Google it, but come to think of it Virtual PC wouldn't be too helpful here. I could say VMware Fusion, but that's not free either. I suppose I should say Boot Camp.

(Please don't ask what the website for Boot Camp is.)
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby lonelysith66 » 2010-9-27 @ 12:49

Well, I have Windows 7 and if I upgrade it to Ultimate, I could use XP Mode. Would that work?
lonelysith66
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-9-25 @ 01:11

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Jorpho » 2010-9-27 @ 13:05

lonelysith66 wrote:Well, I have Windows 7
Well, have you tried running the Windows version under Windows 7?

(Running the Mac version under Windows 7 would once again require setting up Basilisk II or Sheepshaver, which is not a trivial operation.)
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby lonelysith66 » 2010-9-27 @ 14:04

I actually have the hybrid CDROM the game. I tried to install it on Windows 7, but it wasn't compatible.
lonelysith66
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-9-25 @ 01:11

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Jorpho » 2010-9-27 @ 15:08

lonelysith66 wrote:I actually have the hybrid CDROM the game. I tried to install it on Windows 7, but it wasn't compatible.
It is extremely probable that it will be less problematic getting the Windows version to run under Windows 7 than it will be to get the Macintosh version running on any computer sold in the last five years.

You're going to have to provide more details than "it wasn't compatible", however - that could mean anything! Did you get a specific error message?

Also, are you running Windows 7 64-bit or 32-bit? If you don't know, use Google and I am sure you will find out how to determine this information.
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby lonelysith66 » 2010-9-27 @ 17:41

I have Windows 7 64-bit Home. Whenever I would try to setup, it would say that it's not compatible with the current OS. I even tried Troubleshoot Compatibility, but that didn't work, either.
lonelysith66
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-9-25 @ 01:11

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Jorpho » 2010-9-27 @ 18:50

That's not very specific, but yes, 16-bit Windows applications won't run under Windows 7 64-bit. Your best bet is to install Windows 3.1x in DOSBox and run the game from there. People have successfully done this in the past with The Dark Eye:
viewtopic.php?t=25013
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Svenne » 2010-9-27 @ 18:53

VMWare Player is free, and lets you create your own VM's.
Intel C2D 2.8 GHz @ 3.0 GHz | ASUS P5KPL | ASUS GTS250 1 GB | 4GB DDR2-800 | 500 GB SATA | Win 7 Pro/Ubuntu 9.10
Svenne
Member
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 2009-8-05 @ 00:40

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby lonelysith66 » 2010-9-27 @ 19:08

IT WORKS!!!
IT WORKS!!!
IT WORKS!!!
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!
<3 <3 <3
lonelysith66
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-9-25 @ 01:11

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Jorpho » 2010-9-27 @ 19:52

Yay.

Svenne wrote:VMware Player is free, and lets you create your own VM's.
There's no VMware Player for OS X. (Is there?)
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: The Dark Eye on Mac

Postby Dominus » 2010-9-27 @ 20:11

Not as far as I know... There is only Vmware Fusion (which works nicely). For free you can have Virtualbox though.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg


Return to Macintosh Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests