Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Emulation of old Macintoshes, Mac hardware, or Mac peripherals.

Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby Nilfisken » 2012-8-14 @ 17:00

When OS X Lion came a quite a while back now, I immediately rushed to the app store to download and do a clean install of this fantastic feline fruit child.

Had I known, however, the perils this whiskered wildcat would bring me, I'd have thought twice - if not thrice - before throwing myself into the reckless endeavor.

For - alas - because of its stubborn belief in old-fashioned (binary) values and ideas, Rosetta was thrown out - abandoned by the lion's flock - left for the hyenas (and late-movers) to feed on.


Anyway: Without Rosetta, I had to say goodbye to some of my beloved older Mac games, most prominently Command and Conquer Generals. I've been without for quite some time - but now I simply miss it too much :happy:

However I know for sure that Generals (after the last update) is a Universal Binary, which means it should be able to run on Intel Macs.

Unfortunately the CnC Generals installer isn't a Universal Binary, which means - that although it should be able to run in the end, I can't be allowed to install it.

Therefore I'd love to know if there's any way to manually put the different game files in the right places in Lion, and if anyone knows where all these "right places" might be?

I have an installed version backed up on an old Time Machine and on my old G5 PowerMac. So would there be any way to grab the files from there and put them in place on my Lion?

(And no, I'm not going to make a Snow Leopard Partition just to run Generals ) :happy:

Edit: I realize that this doesn't actually concern emulating games on mac - but I don't know where else to turn.
User avatar
Nilfisken
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 14:31
Location: St. Elsewhere

Re: Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby DosFreak » 2012-8-14 @ 17:23

I can't help you with the Mac version of Generals but if you want to play the Windows ver then it would probably work fine in a VM.
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"Who's got time to read all the way down to the bottom of an email?"
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9493
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby Dominus » 2012-8-14 @ 17:41

you should be able to connect via firewire and target mode... or put the files on the g5 on a media and pop that into the new mac...
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7299
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby Nilfisken » 2012-8-17 @ 10:56

you should be able to connect via firewire and target mode... or put the files on the g5 on a media and pop that into the new mac...


That's what I'm thinking too - but does anyone know where - apart from the main applications directory - C&C Generals place files?
User avatar
Nilfisken
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 14:31
Location: St. Elsewhere

Re: Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby Dominus » 2012-8-17 @ 11:33

The usual places probably, shoudn't take too long to find. /users/yourusername/documents or library/preferences library/application support or somewhere in library (both /library and ~/library in all cases)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7299
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby Nilfisken » 2012-8-17 @ 19:09

The usual places probably, shoudn't take too long to find. /users/yourusername/documents or library/preferences library/application support or somewhere in library (both /library and ~/library in all cases)


I'll try to boot up the old dusty powermac and look around your suggested locations.

I'll be back!
User avatar
Nilfisken
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 14:31
Location: St. Elsewhere

Re: Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby filipetolhuizen » 2012-8-17 @ 21:44

You should be able to explore the installer file and find the game folder inside it. Just drag it to your applications folder and you're ready to go.
User avatar
filipetolhuizen
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: 2006-10-24 @ 02:25
Location: Curitiba, Brazil

Re: Help needed: Manually installing Command and Conquer Generals on OS X Lion (and above)

Postby Nilfisken » 2012-8-18 @ 22:11

Well sometimes things are almost too easy!

Here's what I did:
- I copied the (fully patched) C&C Generals (and Zero Hour) folder from the Applications folder on my old PowerMac to the Applications folder on my OS X Lion MBP.
- I copied the two files "com.aspyr.command.conquer.generals.plist" and "com.aspyr.command.conquer.generals.zero.hour.plist" from the "users/'username'/Library/Preferences" folder.
- I put in my Zero Hour disc.
- The game just worked right away.

So that was pretty amazing.

Thanks a lot for all the help in here.

Next up is trying to see if multiplayer will work (I know from experience that trying to play a multiplayer game PowerPC vs. Intel Mac doesn't work at all, but maybe two Intel macs will do the trick).
User avatar
Nilfisken
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 14:31
Location: St. Elsewhere


Return to Macintosh Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest