Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Emulation of old consoles and arcades.

Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby eraH » 2014-1-11 @ 22:15

I was wondering if anyone has managed to load NeoGeo games with MESS, using a filename instead of the softname?
This works;
Code: Select all
messpp.exe aes -cart kof94


This doesn't;
Code: Select all
messpp.exe aes -cart roms\kof94.zip
FATALERROR: Device Cartslot load failed: Unspecified error
eraH
Newbie
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2009-10-19 @ 19:58

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby Stiletto » 2014-1-16 @ 08:49

What version are you running?

Anyhow, you should consider asking at http://forums.bannister.org
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3672
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby eraH » 2014-1-18 @ 04:42

0.152. Will do, thanks.
eraH
Newbie
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2009-10-19 @ 19:58

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby eraH » 2015-3-16 @ 08:46

I never looked into this further, I ended up using MAME. I've since found UME (http://mamedev.emulab.it/haze/) which is MAME + MESS if that helps.
eraH
Newbie
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2009-10-19 @ 19:58

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby olddos25 » 2017-6-25 @ 08:32

Why not just use Winkawaks for Neo Geo titles? It's so much better than MAME (plus it can also emulate the CPS1 and CPS2 arcade boards)
You can't be the best,but you also can't be the worst
Other places to find me:
DraStic: http://drastic-ds.com (as dsattorney)
EPForums: http://www.epforums.org (as emulationfan)
User avatar
olddos25
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 2017-5-14 @ 02:34
Location: Argentina

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby Stiletto » 2017-6-25 @ 15:44

olddos25 wrote:Why not just use Winkawaks for Neo Geo titles? It's so much better than MAME (plus it can also emulate the CPS1 and CPS2 arcade boards)


Speaking as a MAME developer, how about "no" :lol:

PS. MAME can emulate CPS1 and CPS2 arcade boards too, in fact, it pioneered proper CPS2 emulation!
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3672
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby olddos25 » 2017-7-06 @ 01:08

But I use Winkawaks because when I try to run a Neo Geo game, it tells me that there are files missing. How can I solvent that?
EDIT: WinKawaks can also emulate the AES versions of Neo Geo games, thing that MAME can't do.
You can't be the best,but you also can't be the worst
Other places to find me:
DraStic: http://drastic-ds.com (as dsattorney)
EPForums: http://www.epforums.org (as emulationfan)
User avatar
olddos25
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 2017-5-14 @ 02:34
Location: Argentina

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby Stiletto » 2017-7-06 @ 22:25

olddos25 wrote:But I use Winkawaks because when I try to run a Neo Geo game, it tells me that there are files missing. How can I solvent that?


If MAME says you're missing files, you're missing files. For example, MAME often requires that you have all versions of the NeoGeo BIOS available, not just one version. This is probably where you're screwed up, you probably don't have all the NeoGeo BIOS revisions. No, I can't tell you where to find your missing files, but searching for "MAME <your MAME version> ROMS" might get you started.

http://docs.mamedev.org/usingmame/aboutromsets.html
http://wiki.mamedev.org/index.php/FAQ:R ... he_ROMs.3F
http://choccyhobnob.com/articles/demyst ... mame-roms/

The current MAME release is MAME 0.187.

olddos25 wrote:EDIT: WinKawaks can also emulate the AES versions of Neo Geo games, thing that MAME can't do.


I guess "mame.exe aes maglordh" doesn't work, then, huh?

This guy running AES vs MVS games in MAME is fake?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2BJ2vBNId4

MAME's been able to do this for a very long time, at least since MAME 0.132. It was previously a feature of MESS. MESS and MAME merged May 27, 2015.
Your MAME might be very out of date if it can't run NeoGeo AES games.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3672
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Using MESS for NeoGeo (AES) with filename

Postby olddos25 » 2017-8-23 @ 01:21

I never knew MAME could run AES games. My bad.
Oh, and stop trolling me! You are making me feel like an idiot.
You can't be the best,but you also can't be the worst
Other places to find me:
DraStic: http://drastic-ds.com (as dsattorney)
EPForums: http://www.epforums.org (as emulationfan)
User avatar
olddos25
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 2017-5-14 @ 02:34
Location: Argentina


Return to Console & Arcade Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 1 guest