Will Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia SNES work in UK?

Emulation of old consoles and arcades.

Will Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia SNES work in UK?

Postby manic232 » 2013-3-11 @ 18:36

I have a brand new SNES that is for Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia markets only (says on the box) Will this work in the UK without issues? It says it is PAL so i guess it will?
User avatar
manic232
Newbie
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2012-7-14 @ 16:57
Location: London, UK

Re: Will Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia SNES work in UK?

Postby SquallStrife » 2013-3-12 @ 03:19

Just check the primary voltage on the AC adaptor, make sure it's 240V for UK outlets.
VogonsDrivers.com | Link | News Thread
[retro swim] | Link | Release Thread
Twice-weekly silliness on Twitch!! http://www.twitch.tv/SquallStrifeAU (9:30PM Fri+Sat AEST)
User avatar
SquallStrife
l33t
 
Posts: 2810
Joined: 2010-2-06 @ 15:18
Location: Drowning in consoles

Re: Will Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia SNES work in UK?

Postby PowerPie5000 » 2013-3-12 @ 11:42

manic232 wrote:I have a brand new SNES that is for Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia markets only (says on the box) Will this work in the UK without issues? It says it is PAL so i guess it will?


Yes it will work fine :happy:. The standard voltage in Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia is the same as the UK (220-240V @ 50hz), so the power pack should work fine if you use an adapter or wire on a 3-pin plug :wink:.
User avatar
PowerPie5000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 738
Joined: 2009-6-27 @ 00:07
Location: UK

Re: Will Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia SNES work in UK?

Postby manic232 » 2013-3-12 @ 21:30

Many thanks for that, actually the plug looks like a UK plug, so I might not even need to do that, I will try it and post back if it works
My System: SuperMicro P6SBA Motherboard, Win98SE, PIII 600Mhz, 256MB Ram, Voodoo 5 5500, SB AWE 64 Gold Sound Card, Roland LAPC-I
User avatar
manic232
Newbie
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2012-7-14 @ 16:57
Location: London, UK

Re: Will Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia SNES work in UK?

Postby Malik » 2013-4-30 @ 15:22

Didn't check this thread in a while.

Yes, Malaysia uses the same as UK. Even the 3-rectangle-pins power plugs are the same as the UK, and voltage runs at 50Hz. The same is true for Singapore and Indonesia. I think in Indonesia, more appliances use the 2-rounded-pin plugs.
User avatar
Malik
l33t
 
Posts: 2483
Joined: 2004-4-10 @ 14:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Will Singapore/Malasia/Indonesia SNES work in UK?

Postby manic232 » 2013-4-30 @ 17:40

Thanks again for your help, It worked perfectly, I was very happy with it actual it was New Old Stock, Mint..... nice
User avatar
manic232
Newbie
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2012-7-14 @ 16:57
Location: London, UK


Return to Console & Arcade Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest