Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Emulation of old consoles and arcades.

Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby paulo_becas » 2015-10-26 @ 09:12

Just asking around if theres any version of mame32 working under windows 3.11

The earliest version i have is Mame32 v0.35 and it won't run on windows 3.11, i was wondering if any previous version works or not.
MY SPECS-Hardware
AMD 486 DX4-S/120 Mhz - 64Mb Ram
VGA Matrox Mystique MGA 64-Bit
Soundblaster AWE64 + Roland MT-32
LAN-3Com EtherLink(3C90X)
2x1.44 Mitsumi Floppy Drive
2xMaxtor 6gb HD
1xSeagate 8gb HD
CD-Rom Samsung 52x
http://jp-retro.blogspot.com
User avatar
paulo_becas
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-21 @ 21:45
Location: Porto, Portugal

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby dr.zeissler » 2015-10-26 @ 09:32

mame on a 486/100 ? i think my PII-333 is not fast enough for it.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby kixs » 2015-10-26 @ 10:39

paulo... You should try MAME DOS port.

Early MAME versions would work fine on a Pentium.
My Amibay: SALE Last update 2017-10-19
My Amibay: BUY Last update 2017-10-20
User avatar
kixs
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1723
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby paulo_becas » 2015-10-26 @ 16:19

dr.zeissler wrote:mame on a 486/100 ? i think my PII-333 is not fast enough for it.


I was thinking on playing old games like Pacman, Asteroids, Apydia and things like that.

kixs wrote:paulo... You should try MAME DOS port.

Early MAME versions would work fine on a Pentium.


Where can i get those early versions? I already google it but i can't find those old versions nor any Dos ports
MY SPECS-Hardware
AMD 486 DX4-S/120 Mhz - 64Mb Ram
VGA Matrox Mystique MGA 64-Bit
Soundblaster AWE64 + Roland MT-32
LAN-3Com EtherLink(3C90X)
2x1.44 Mitsumi Floppy Drive
2xMaxtor 6gb HD
1xSeagate 8gb HD
CD-Rom Samsung 52x
http://jp-retro.blogspot.com
User avatar
paulo_becas
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-21 @ 21:45
Location: Porto, Portugal

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby b_rros » 2015-10-26 @ 16:31

Hi, you can try here:

http://mamedev.org/oldrel.html

although most of the links are dead :(

Or play with archive.org a little :)

https://web.archive.org/web/20011224191 ... nmain.html

there are some links that work, don't really know what version you should download...
b_rros
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2013-12-08 @ 08:29

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby dr.zeissler » 2015-10-26 @ 16:47

sure that tho old dosport works on a P1 or P2 ?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby b_rros » 2015-10-26 @ 17:09

I never tried, but looks like it's possible

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... D5ki2yRBaw
b_rros
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2013-12-08 @ 08:29

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Stiletto » 2015-10-26 @ 17:24

b_rros wrote:Hi, you can try here:

http://mamedev.org/oldrel.html

although most of the links are dead :(


Yeah, I guess I finally need to fix that, huh? Okay, I'll try to dig up the time. :)
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3783
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby b_rros » 2015-10-26 @ 17:52

Blame paulo_becas not me :blush:

Didn't know you were all this: http://wiki.mamedev.org/index.php/Stiletto :happy:
b_rros
Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2013-12-08 @ 08:29

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Stiletto » 2015-10-26 @ 18:57

b_rros wrote:Blame paulo_becas not me :blush:

Didn't know you were all this: http://wiki.mamedev.org/index.php/Stiletto :happy:


That's me! There's a few other MAME/MESS-related folks around here too, such as Lord Nightmare and Justin.
(Thanks for linking that BTW, reminded me that there were a few things I should have added/fixed. I also have a Twitter but I am on it so rarely...)

Yeah, back in... May 2015 or something Micko (the development team leader these days) said "the hell with our ancient network of emulator-friendly MAME binary package mirrors, I'm having issues dealing with them from Eastern Europe, let's switch all binary hosting to Github too". I volunteered for all the grunt work, but then promptly ran out of time. Oh well. I mean, there's torrents and stuff of these things, but it doesn't look good to have let it go for so long. Maybe I'll finally finish it this week if I can.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3783
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby r.cade » 2015-10-26 @ 19:10

No to Windows 3.11, unless you just mean DOS-mode. MAME certainly worked in DOS on hardware available at the time, which was Pentium-class by then.

It did also work on 486, but likely pretty slow. You needed Sparcade/Dasarcade for 486.
r.cade
Newbie
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2014-7-22 @ 14:32

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby leileilol » 2015-10-29 @ 00:35

I remember 0.33 working exceptionally well across almost everything in '98. Obviously not for Win3.1 but still

Can't find the archives for 0.33 anymore though and I forgot the cutoff point when MAME overhauled its video system (for the worse, when a P2 can't even run Chack n' Pop fullspeed anymore)
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8712
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Lo Wang » 2015-12-23 @ 02:36

Not Win31 (or DOS for that matter), but I remember fastMAME doing wonders on my PIII 550mhz back in the day. It did really live up to it's name.
User avatar
Lo Wang
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 2014-12-03 @ 05:28

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby dr_st » 2015-12-23 @ 13:09

I used the DOS version of MAME on a K6-II 500MHz. I recall it working so-so.
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 871
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Errius » 2016-11-07 @ 04:30

I believe MAME 0.37 BETA 14 is the last one that runs in DOS. On a 180 MHz Pentium Pro with Sound Blaster 16 it works well with early games, though you have to run a lot of them with sound off to get decent FPS. It also needs the old version ROMs. It won't work with the newer ROMs.
“This all reminds me when i took the windows vista sticker thingy off my old laptop, and on my washing machine as a joke. A few days later said washing machine stopped working. I still think this cannot be a coincidence."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 658
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby lightmaster » 2016-11-07 @ 13:16

Necroposting again?? Don't do it please!...
Image
User avatar
lightmaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 602
Joined: 2005-10-01 @ 12:09
Location: Sol III(¡¿

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby olddos25 » 2017-8-23 @ 14:45

He is not necroposting cause it has to do with the topic. Think better next time.
You can't be the best,but you also can't be the worst
Other places to find me:
DraStic: http://drastic-ds.com (as dsattorney)
EPForums: http://www.epforums.org (as emulationfan)
User avatar
olddos25
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2017-5-14 @ 02:34
Location: Argentina

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby lightmaster » 2017-8-23 @ 15:03

Right..
Image
User avatar
lightmaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 602
Joined: 2005-10-01 @ 12:09
Location: Sol III(¡¿


Return to Console & Arcade Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests