Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Emulation of old consoles and arcades.

Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby paulo_becas » 2015-10-26 @ 09:12

Just asking around if theres any version of mame32 working under windows 3.11

The earliest version i have is Mame32 v0.35 and it won't run on windows 3.11, i was wondering if any previous version works or not.
MY SPECS-Hardware
AMD 486 DX4-S/120 Mhz - 64Mb Ram
VGA Matrox Mystique MGA 64-Bit
Soundblaster AWE64 + Roland MT-32
LAN-3Com EtherLink(3C90X)
2x1.44 Mitsumi Floppy Drive
2xMaxtor 6gb HD
1xSeagate 8gb HD
CD-Rom Samsung 52x
http://jp-retro.blogspot.com
User avatar
paulo_becas
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-21 @ 21:45
Location: Porto, Portugal

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby dr.zeissler » 2015-10-26 @ 09:32

mame on a 486/100 ? i think my PII-333 is not fast enough for it.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 753
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby kixs » 2015-10-26 @ 10:39

paulo... You should try MAME DOS port.

Early MAME versions would work fine on a Pentium.
My Amibay: SALE Last update 2017-04-29
My Amibay: BUY Last update 2017-01-15
User avatar
kixs
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby paulo_becas » 2015-10-26 @ 16:19

dr.zeissler wrote:mame on a 486/100 ? i think my PII-333 is not fast enough for it.


I was thinking on playing old games like Pacman, Asteroids, Apydia and things like that.

kixs wrote:paulo... You should try MAME DOS port.

Early MAME versions would work fine on a Pentium.


Where can i get those early versions? I already google it but i can't find those old versions nor any Dos ports
MY SPECS-Hardware
AMD 486 DX4-S/120 Mhz - 64Mb Ram
VGA Matrox Mystique MGA 64-Bit
Soundblaster AWE64 + Roland MT-32
LAN-3Com EtherLink(3C90X)
2x1.44 Mitsumi Floppy Drive
2xMaxtor 6gb HD
1xSeagate 8gb HD
CD-Rom Samsung 52x
http://jp-retro.blogspot.com
User avatar
paulo_becas
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2015-10-21 @ 21:45
Location: Porto, Portugal

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby b_rros » 2015-10-26 @ 16:31

Hi, you can try here:

http://mamedev.org/oldrel.html

although most of the links are dead :(

Or play with archive.org a little :)

https://web.archive.org/web/20011224191 ... nmain.html

there are some links that work, don't really know what version you should download...
b_rros
Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 2013-12-08 @ 08:29

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby dr.zeissler » 2015-10-26 @ 16:47

sure that tho old dosport works on a P1 or P2 ?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 753
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby b_rros » 2015-10-26 @ 17:09

I never tried, but looks like it's possible

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... D5ki2yRBaw
b_rros
Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 2013-12-08 @ 08:29

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Stiletto » 2015-10-26 @ 17:24

b_rros wrote:Hi, you can try here:

http://mamedev.org/oldrel.html

although most of the links are dead :(


Yeah, I guess I finally need to fix that, huh? Okay, I'll try to dig up the time. :)
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3507
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby b_rros » 2015-10-26 @ 17:52

Blame paulo_becas not me :blush:

Didn't know you were all this: http://wiki.mamedev.org/index.php/Stiletto :happy:
b_rros
Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 2013-12-08 @ 08:29

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Stiletto » 2015-10-26 @ 18:57

b_rros wrote:Blame paulo_becas not me :blush:

Didn't know you were all this: http://wiki.mamedev.org/index.php/Stiletto :happy:


That's me! There's a few other MAME/MESS-related folks around here too, such as Lord Nightmare and Justin.
(Thanks for linking that BTW, reminded me that there were a few things I should have added/fixed. I also have a Twitter but I am on it so rarely...)

Yeah, back in... May 2015 or something Micko (the development team leader these days) said "the hell with our ancient network of emulator-friendly MAME binary package mirrors, I'm having issues dealing with them from Eastern Europe, let's switch all binary hosting to Github too". I volunteered for all the grunt work, but then promptly ran out of time. Oh well. I mean, there's torrents and stuff of these things, but it doesn't look good to have let it go for so long. Maybe I'll finally finish it this week if I can.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3507
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby r.cade » 2015-10-26 @ 19:10

No to Windows 3.11, unless you just mean DOS-mode. MAME certainly worked in DOS on hardware available at the time, which was Pentium-class by then.

It did also work on 486, but likely pretty slow. You needed Sparcade/Dasarcade for 486.
r.cade
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2014-7-22 @ 14:32

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby leileilol » 2015-10-29 @ 00:35

I remember 0.33 working exceptionally well across almost everything in '98. Obviously not for Win3.1 but still

Can't find the archives for 0.33 anymore though and I forgot the cutoff point when MAME overhauled its video system (for the worse, when a P2 can't even run Chack n' Pop fullspeed anymore)
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8289
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Lo Wang » 2015-12-23 @ 02:36

Not Win31 (or DOS for that matter), but I remember fastMAME doing wonders on my PIII 550mhz back in the day. It did really live up to it's name.
User avatar
Lo Wang
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 2014-12-03 @ 05:28

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby dr_st » 2015-12-23 @ 13:09

I used the DOS version of MAME on a K6-II 500MHz. I recall it working so-so.
User avatar
dr_st
Oldbie
 
Posts: 700
Joined: 2015-4-09 @ 07:18

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby Errius » 2016-11-07 @ 04:30

I believe MAME 0.37 BETA 14 is the last one that runs in DOS. On a 180 MHz Pentium Pro with Sound Blaster 16 it works well with early games, though you have to run a lot of them with sound off to get decent FPS. It also needs the old version ROMs. It won't work with the newer ROMs.
“Your mission is to attack and destroy the Apple Computer manufacturing plant. You are allotted 35 bombs and 60 lasers."
User avatar
Errius
Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: Mame32 on windows 3.11???

Postby lightmaster » 2016-11-07 @ 13:16

Necroposting again?? Don't do it please!...
Image
User avatar
lightmaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 559
Joined: 2005-10-01 @ 12:09
Location: Sol III(¡¿


Return to Console & Arcade Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest