VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Files, FAQs, and other things to help you get your games running before you start asking questions.

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-1-04 @ 01:45

Ummmm, I installed. And when i right-click I don't get the Run with VDM option. I have tried using the dosdrv command and there is no diffrence.
Additional info:
I am running windows xp.
The program is The mean gene machine.
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Snover » 2005-1-04 @ 04:33

If there isn't a shellex command, it isn't installed properly :)
Snover
l33t++
 
Posts: 5207
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 04:47

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-1-13 @ 04:55

I don't know if this is possible, could the VESA support be completed?
This would providing support for a goup of old games that require the VESA (because people don't have those old video cards).
-- MindBender --
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-1-18 @ 00:36

I'm new to this, but I would like to use this with conquests of the longbow, so I can hear things. Could someone tell me why I get the error message saying I have to be an administrator? I am not on a network or at school so please explain this. THANK YOU!
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby mirekluza » 2005-1-18 @ 06:46

Anonymous wrote:Could someone tell me why I get the error message saying I have to be an administrator? I am not on a network or at school so please explain this. THANK YOU!


a) You are using Windows 9x, Windows ME - VDMSound does not support them (there is an alpha version for W9x in another thread)

b) You are not administrator! Administrator does not mean network administrator - every computer using WXP or similar systems have one or more administrator accounts (with max. access rights on everything).

Mirek
mirekluza
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: 2003-8-21 @ 04:19

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby DosFreak » 2005-1-18 @ 07:32

Anonymous wrote:I don't know if this is possible, could the VESA support be completed?
This would providing support for a goup of old games that require the VESA (because people don't have those old video cards).
-- MindBender --


Well, problem with VESA isn't something that can be done through VDMSound. The utility that fixes 2K/XP's problem with VESA access to video cards can be fixed with another utility: http://www.nomissoft.com/newsflash.html

This could probably be included with VDMSound.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9716
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-1-20 @ 09:13

i am not understand naver jisik in gum sek....
this site nono understand you know?????
my game,,, hwansei chi ho jun,,, not sound......
i am angry......................sound hwanse...
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2005-1-20 @ 09:23

I don't understand a thing. What is it? Chinenglish? :happyhappy:

Sorry about that, but I couldn't help myself. It's just funny. No pun intended, though.
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-1-28 @ 06:00

Excellent after years of giving up with Azrael Tear, no config would work with the new PC, several times trying setting up VDMsound and DOSBox, just by chance I ran the game on default mode via a .bat file, BINGO! The game is faster than ever and plays bug free except for a few audio skips once in a while is quite better now than the slide show in DosBox which I used to setup the sound. They are both needed anyways one way or another.

A Happy Customer.
Frank.

Uh ok the PC specs are P4 2.8GHz running with HT disabled for the time being.
With a on board 5.1 sound by Realtek. And a FX5200 and 512MB of system RAM.
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-1-30 @ 15:19

Just installed 2.1.0 on my machine hoping to run SWOS. But i don't get the run with VDSM option? Tried installing a couple of times with no joy any ideas?
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby collector » 2005-1-30 @ 19:18

Did you reboot after installing?
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4153
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Snover » 2005-2-04 @ 00:09

VDMSound install shouldn't require a reboot unless you had it installed previously...
Snover
l33t++
 
Posts: 5207
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 04:47

She let me go to sleep and she

Postby Mistress R » 2005-3-27 @ 02:40

editted by eL_PuSHeR.

OFFENDING POST REMOVED.

Hi, moron. You are gonna get it if you keep posting things like that. :angry:

PS - According to Snover it was some sort of spamming bot, hmpfff. :angry: :angry: :angry:
Mistress R
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-4-02 @ 17:08

Hi,

When I try to run a DOS version of M.A.M.E. in WinXP Pro SP2 as a .bat-file I get the following errors:

First of all, I get a pop-up that says "FATAL ERROR" & "Unhandled exception encountered while loading".

Then, after clicking on 'Ok' I get (in the command window):
Code: Select all
"Exciting due to SIGSEGV
General Protection Fault at eip=00435943... etc.


The lines end with:
Code: Select all
Call frame traceback EIPs:
0x00435943
0x0040e35d


I do know that there are working Windows versions of M.A.M.E. out there, but believe me, I have my reasons for wanting to run this old DOS one.

FYI, I did have a previous installation that I manually uninstalled before installing 2.1.0.

I did try DOSBOX as well, but it was way too slow.
Emph
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-4-15 @ 14:07

Gah! I shoulda checked here first... I actually *paid* good money for v2.0.4 in, ummm, 2001? Anyway, not that I need it anymore, but I'll dl just for good measure.
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Snover » 2005-4-15 @ 18:10

I'd be interested to know how you "*paid* good money" since VDMSound has always been free and open-source.
Snover
l33t++
 
Posts: 5207
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 04:47

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-4-15 @ 23:38

I have a problem with the joystick emulation of this program.

I have a 10 buttons Microsoft SideWinder digital gamepad, plugged on the joystick port of my PC (my pad is not USB).

I use VDMSound with the default settings to launch a Beats of Rage MOD, running under DOS obviously (I have Windows XP), so that the soundcard is correctly emulated and my gamepad detected. The sound is then perfect, but for my gamepad, only the directions and 2 buttons (A and B) are detected !

Then I looked in the joystick options of VDMSound and I chose joy1.map instead of the default joy2.map (joy3.map produces an error for me). This time, the game detects 2 more buttons (C and X), so 4 total, but still not the 10 buttons.

Is there a way to get all 10 buttons to work ? Why do I get an error when I try joy3.map ?

Thanks for your help !
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby Guest » 2005-4-22 @ 22:55

Anyone here ? :sad:

Could anyone solve my problem, please ?
Guest
 

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby DosFreak » 2005-4-23 @ 01:06

IIRC, 4 is the max. I'll doublecheck tho.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9716
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: VDMSound 2.1.0 PUBLIC BETA

Postby zzz » 2005-5-24 @ 19:34

Hello,

Anyone have any working links for the VDMSound project page?

Thank you.
zzz
 

PreviousNext

Return to Deep Thought

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests