VOGONS

Slow midi

Topic actions

First post, by Kyl3

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Sorry if I'm terribly wrong:

I think you know this issue, of midi playing to slow.. it's mentioned somewhere else in this board. Some old games, expecially the sierra ones, play their midi music to slow compared to dos versions.. Timing is great, jus tempo is to slow.

I'm no midi expert, maybe i'm just wrong (I hope so).. is this issue known?

I even made an example recording for ya.. (worst case, lsl5.. other games are also slower, but not as slow as this one)

joop.phlex.net/dat/lsl5MT-dos.mp3

joop.phlex.net/dat/lsl5MT-vdm.mp3

(actually a rather bad quality recording.. sorry, but it does de job)

Reply 2 of 19, by Kyl3

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Ofcourse.. I should have mentioned that the games theirself run perfect. Midi timing is great, midi tempo isn't.

I've tried speedset ofcourse, though never gave it any thought because the games run just fine!

I'll speedset some more later this evening, maybe you're right.

Last edited by Kyl3 on 2002-11-21, 10:46. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 3 of 19, by Kyl3

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Shame on me, speedset is the thing!

I seem to need to set it at 0.0053 for old dos playback.. THNX!

There just one thing, I get real small velocity/tempo changes in midisongs.. timing is perfect, overall tempo is overall perfect..

Is there more to speedset, maybe I should not set in prime numbers?

I can give a recording if u'd like..

Reply 4 of 19, by Stiletto

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Hm - hey Vlad - next version of Speedset: use external recording (wave file, midi), extract tempo using algorithms, attempt to automatically match it using Speedset?

😉

Complicated and more complicated.

"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto

Reply 5 of 19, by Snover

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++