VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

CD version installed on WinXp with the 3DFX patches. Looks like it can't find the game.dat file but have Glidos
pointed to the right directory. Info on this game is pretty minimal anyone have any ideas to get it going?

For the record Glidos runs Blood and TR1 like a dream on the same system (see my sig) .

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 2 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Glidos wrote on 2021-07-28, 08:45:

Is this a versioin of Screamer 2 from Steam , GoG or similar?

No, it's the CD version. I installed it via D-Fend if that makes a difference. So the install location
would be c:\program files\D-fend\virtualHD\S2.

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 4 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Glidos wrote on 2021-07-28, 15:50:

Using D-Fend could be the problem. Glidos is supplied with an altered version of DOSBox and needs to use that.

Ok, so use Glidos to install the game? Wasn't aware there was an option for that in the menu.

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 5 of 14, by Glidos

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I don't know much about D-Fend, but the usual way to use Glidos is to use the Adjust button to get into the config menu and from there set up the path to Screamer 2's exe and the disc image. Then you can start Screamer 2 from Glidos.

Reply 6 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Glidos wrote on 2021-07-28, 22:47:

I don't know much about D-Fend, but the usual way to use Glidos is to use the Adjust button to get into the config menu and from there set up the path to Screamer 2's exe and the disc image. Then you can start Screamer 2 from Glidos.

D-Fend is just a front end for dosbox. I only used it to install Screamer 2 on my XP system as trying to do it "straight way"
XP was throwing up errors during the setup. Maybe copying the install from my win98 system will work, I'll try it.

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 7 of 14, by svk

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
buckeye wrote on 2021-07-27, 21:34:

CD version installed on WinXp with the 3DFX patches. Looks like it can't find the game.dat file but have Glidos
pointed to the right directory. Info on this game is pretty minimal anyone have any ideas to get it going?

This is due to incorrect mounting.
When you select an executable file in the Glidos GUI, for example dosbox mounts the directory containing this file as drive c:\.
And for Screamer2 (and for Screamer, by the way, too), this does not work - the directory containing the game folder must be mounted as the c:\ drive.
I solved the problem as follows, created a .bat file with the following content, in the root of the folder with the disk image:
cd c:\S2\
S2_3DFX.EXE
Also, in this directory I have a folder with the installed game "S2". And already selected this .bat file as executable in the GUI.
And how you install the game - it doesn't matter.

Here, I shot a video from the screen:
https://youtu.be/3WkdhAhOEk4
Bandicam for some reason stretches the picture when recording, in fact there is a normal 4: 3 aspect

Reply 8 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
svk wrote on 2021-09-27, 13:04:
This is due to incorrect mounting. When you select an executable file in the Glidos GUI, for example dosbox mounts the directory […]
Show full quote
buckeye wrote on 2021-07-27, 21:34:

CD version installed on WinXp with the 3DFX patches. Looks like it can't find the game.dat file but have Glidos
pointed to the right directory. Info on this game is pretty minimal anyone have any ideas to get it going?

This is due to incorrect mounting.
When you select an executable file in the Glidos GUI, for example dosbox mounts the directory containing this file as drive c:\.
And for Screamer2 (and for Screamer, by the way, too), this does not work - the directory containing the game folder must be mounted as the c:\ drive.
I solved the problem as follows, created a .bat file with the following content, in the root of the folder with the disk image:
cd c:\S2\
S2_3DFX.EXE
Also, in this directory I have a folder with the installed game "S2". And already selected this .bat file as executable in the GUI.
And how you install the game - it doesn't matter.

Here, I shot a video from the screen:
https://youtu.be/3WkdhAhOEk4
Bandicam for some reason stretches the picture when recording, in fact there is a normal 4: 3 aspect

Had this on the "backburner" for awhile. I'll try it out and report back, thanks!

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 9 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Success! Created an image from the CD and made the batch file as above, it worked.

Now if I can only figure out how to get a gamepad to work in this game.

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 10 of 14, by svk

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
buckeye wrote on 2021-09-29, 12:54:

Now if I can only figure out how to get a gamepad to work in this game.

The simplest way to make the gamepad work in any game is: https://github.com/AntiMicro/antimicro
convenient and practical program, I recommend

Reply 11 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
svk wrote on 2021-09-29, 15:10:
buckeye wrote on 2021-09-29, 12:54:

Now if I can only figure out how to get a gamepad to work in this game.

The simplest way to make the gamepad work in any game is: https://github.com/AntiMicro/antimicro
convenient and practical program, I recommend

Thanks again svk, I'll try it!

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 12 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Got it working, Antimicro did the trick thanks! Just need to fine tune the controls now.

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 13 of 14, by svk

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

It's good)
In the meantime, I found another solution to the problem you described in the first post.
In the game directory, there is a SCREAMER.CFG file. It contains two paths within itself, to the game files.
If you edit these paths correctly, relative to the environment where the game is launched, then the problem can be solved. For Screamer 1 it works, I think for Screamer 2 it will work too.

Reply 14 of 14, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
svk wrote on 2021-10-14, 07:25:
It's good) In the meantime, I found another solution to the problem you described in the first post. In the game directory, ther […]
Show full quote

It's good)
In the meantime, I found another solution to the problem you described in the first post.
In the game directory, there is a SCREAMER.CFG file. It contains two paths within itself, to the game files.
If you edit these paths correctly, relative to the environment where the game is launched, then the problem can be solved. For Screamer 1 it works, I think for Screamer 2 it will work too.

I'll take a look at it, thanks!

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W