Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of GliDOS.

Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby teet » 2012-1-13 @ 23:07

I started to use Glidos for playing Tomb Raider, and found out, that there is bad support for wide screen formats. Big wide screens become more popular and popular (with 16:10 and 16:9 angles), but Glidos offers only limited choice of old screens, or 1600x1200, what is "normal" screen with 4:3 aspect ratio, but unfortunately I cannot use this resolution on my monitor.

My wish is, that Glidos should have support for screen formats 1680x1050 and 1920x1080. I have tried to enter those resolutons manually, but OpenGL mode refuses to open this resolution, or switches to 1024x768 in left upper screen corner, and Direct3D shows 1024x768 window centered to black screen. It were great, if it could use and show me whole new generation bitmaps in full glory.

Computer:
mainboard: Gigabyte G31M-S2
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8200, 2666 MHz
RAM: DDR2 4 GB (under Windows XP 3,6 GB)
Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 9600GT, 512 MB
teet
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-1-13 @ 22:48

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby Glidos » 2012-1-14 @ 00:17

Glidos just interprets the Glide commands from the game. It is still the game that generates the scene, and TR can generate only a 4:3 area. Because of this, the best that is achievable on a 16:9 screen, is to paint a 4:3 subarea, leaving black bars at the side. I have put support for that in Glidos, but it is available only in Direct3D mode. It's the setting labelled "Inhibit mode change".
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3114
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby teet » 2012-1-14 @ 01:03

Njah, but how can i make it stretch 4:3 picture over whole screen? Is it possible to add some less-known 4:3 format between 1280x1024 and 1600x1200, like 1280x960 and 1400x1050? In OpenGL mode, this mode can perfecly stretched to bigger resolution, in same time offering better graphics. At the moment it seems, like all non-standard resolutions are defaulting to 1024x768 (I can type resolution manually into settings box).
teet
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-1-13 @ 22:48

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby Glidos » 2012-1-14 @ 10:07

Stretching doesn't seem like a good option. Lara will be short and fat.

In Direct3D mode, with "Inhibit mode change" selected, you should be able to select any 4:3 resolution you like, and it will be fitted within the screen area (or even hanging off top and bottom if you select a resolution bigger than the sctreen, but then there will be content you cannot see).

I'm still not quite understanding exactly what the difference is between what it does, and what you were hoping for. If you were hoping for the game to display exactly within the screen bounds, with no content invisible because of being off screen, and with lara proportioned correctly, I'm afraid it cannot be done. Nothing to do with Glidos. It is just impossible to produce that from what TR1 generates.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3114
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby teet » 2012-1-15 @ 23:16

OK, here are screenshots about what I wanna accomplish.
My screen natural resolution is 1920x1080, sp highest 3x4 resolution were (1080/3*4)x1080=1440x1080. I write it to Glidos settings window (picture 1)

Then I launch game, and get this: picture 2

What I wanna see: picture 3, Tomb Raider game with resolution 1440x1080 nicely on my screen natural resolution

Seems like entering any resolution except this ones that Glidos offers default, does not have any effect, and they default always to situation on picture 2.

What is my goal? use highest resolution available, like I had 1600x1200 screen.
Attachments
tomb3.jpg
(3) What I wanna accomplish: high resolution with game stretched to window borders, using my natural screen resolution 1920x1080 pixels.
(103.4 KiB) Downloaded 481 times
tomb2.jpg
(2) Small Tomb Raider game screen in resolution 1920x1080, with black border, game window 1024x868
(71.38 KiB) Downloaded 463 times
tomb1.png
(1) Glidos TR game settings, manually entering my own screen resolution
tomb1.png (18.29 KiB) Viewed 15601 times
teet
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-1-13 @ 22:48

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby Glidos » 2012-1-15 @ 23:36

Ah I see. I've made the Resolution control writable. Oops! Only the resolutions in the drop down list are supported by the Windows side Glide wrappers. If you click on 1280x1024 then that will give very nearly what you want. There will be just a thin black line top and bottom.

As you say, it would be worth adding a 1440x1080. I'll try to get around to that sometime.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3114
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby teet » 2012-1-16 @ 00:26

Actually, if that is not too hard to implement any resolution on Windows Glide side, some games populate all available screen resolutions to drop-down list, for example, using DirectX function enumDisplayModes(), like explained here:
http://justlikeamagic.com/2009/05/19/ch ... a-directx/
It helps avoid problem, that some user does not find screen resolution suitable for him.
teet
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-1-13 @ 22:48

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby AntiSnipe » 2015-1-27 @ 23:34

...and three years later...

I would really like to see 1440x1080 (1400x1050 for the 16:10 monitors) because my native resolution is 1920x1080 and my monitor does 1440x1080 (scaled properly with side fill bars) and looks native (good) without any odd and ugly resizing. 1280x1024 is just wrong and smashes it horizontally and is not even 4:3. At least 1280x960 is a 'correct' resolution. 1600x1200 is beyond my monitors 1080 vertical limit so that's no good!
AntiSnipe
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2003-1-28 @ 20:24

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-1-27 @ 23:44

I find that nGlide does it in a way I like it.

You just set the resolution of your monitor, which is 1920 x 1080 on my system and set 4:3 aspect ratio.

It then scales it to aspect ratio correct full screen with black bars on the sides, basically 1440 x 1080 resolution.

AntiSnipe I also find it awesome that you care about this. So many people play these old games in the wrong aspect ratio. For many games in general, I have a custom resolution of 1440 x 1080, and use that quite often. Some games can access this resolution directly, others you can edit ini files to make them work. Many can't be modified though and you have to scale from 1024 x 768.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby AntiSnipe » 2015-1-29 @ 03:39

Yes sir, nGlide does it nicely, for me though, I modify my Nvidia drivers before install to include 1440x1080 (just to avoid having to make a custom resolution all the time) and nGlide sees that and lets me choose that resolution directly, but choosing 1920x1080 + keep aspect ratio gets the same result, as you said.

Just out of curiosity, why is the Glidos resolution box 'writable'? If I write in 1280x960 or any other resolution not already in the pull down selection, it just throws up an error (that I can not click OK on) followed by a crash when I try to run the game.
AntiSnipe
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2003-1-28 @ 20:24

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2015-10-15 @ 18:04

nglide can force any resolution you want, so it will be very good for glidos too, but nglide do not fix blood walls, +to glidos, and cant hack lara shadow
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 143
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine

Re: Currently bad support in Glidos for high resolution & wide screen formats

Postby RaVeN-05 » 2017-9-26 @ 05:47

sorry for bump i found interestion solution, copy glide2x.dll shipped with nGlide to \Glidos\psVoodoo\glide2x.dll
overwrite it.
and you will able force any resolution & widescreen. Blood fix and Laras Shadow will work, also force smooth too works.
Exellent for me.
in combination with vdos in winxp + RedGuard its awesome experience.
But i am assembled retro pc with 3dfx.
Did spinning logo slow down games?
User avatar
RaVeN-05
Member
 
Posts: 143
Joined: 2009-12-30 @ 13:32
Location: Ukraine


Return to GliDOS Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest