I need some help

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of GliDOS.

I need some help

Postby Glidos » 2003-2-03 @ 23:05

I've found what seems to be a bug in the voodoo version of TR1. It has shown up since I extended the chromakeying in OpenGLide (done for the sake of Croc and Screamer 2). First thought was the the change introduced a bug, but analysing TR1's Glide calls the bug does seem to be in the game.

Is there anybody still able to play TR1 through a voodoo card? If so could I give you a savegame to try out?
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Nicht Sehr Gut » 2003-2-04 @ 05:41

Go ahead Paul. I have a rigged PC that at present has an original Voodoo 1 in it. Upload your save game before it bursts into flames on me...
User avatar
Nicht Sehr Gut
l33t
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 17:32

Postby Glidos » 2003-2-04 @ 19:17

Great thanks Nicht. Here's the savegame. It should leave you in Palace Midas somewhere. The test is to press ESC to get the ring menu and look at the darkened game snapshot that is used as a background. Do you see any little dark patches on the floor and ceiling.

TR uses one particular color to mean transparent, and it looks like it is accidently using that color when darkening the game snapshots.
Attachments
savegame.zip
(1.42 KiB) Downloaded 1195 times
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Nicht Sehr Gut » 2003-2-05 @ 04:39

Originally posted by Glidos
Great thanks Nicht.

Just earning my keep...
Do you see any little dark patches on the floor and ceiling.

Nope, everything looks just like it should. Menu screen background looks like a 40% darker area with no "discoloration". Ran around the area, jumping back and forth between the menu and the game. All worked fine...
User avatar
Nicht Sehr Gut
l33t
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 17:32

Postby Glidos » 2003-2-05 @ 09:32

That's weird. Which tomb.exe? Uh what size in bytes?

The little dark patches might be visible only with the monitor
brightness turned up.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Nicht Sehr Gut » 2003-2-05 @ 20:52

Originally posted by Glidos
Which tomb.exe?

The original Voodoo version.

what size in bytes?

1,114K 1,140,735 Bytes
Came from the Tomb Raider Gold CD
The little dark patches might be visible only with the monitor brightness turned up.


Brightness was turned all the way up. The monitor isn't all that bright, but I could see everything quite clearly.
User avatar
Nicht Sehr Gut
l33t
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 17:32

Postby Glidos » 2003-2-05 @ 23:15

Could you try this one? But you'll need a suitable Glide2x.ovl for your card and I don't know where you'd find that.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Nicht Sehr Gut » 2003-2-05 @ 23:39

Originally posted by Glidos
But you'll need a suitable Glide2x.ovl for your card and I don't know where you'd find that.

I swapped it for my original, no change of OVL file and it worked fine except for a few columns in the immediate area (they had corrupted textures). No change in the Menu/Darkening effect. No "dark spots" appearing...
User avatar
Nicht Sehr Gut
l33t
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 17:32

Postby Glidos » 2003-2-06 @ 09:13

Okay thanks very much Nicht. Guess I need to think a little more about this one.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55


Return to GliDOS Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest