PIT Perfect

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of GliDOS.

Postby Kaminari » 2003-4-08 @ 22:32

There is an effect like that you can get from playing two different games without shutting down Glidos in between.


Bingo. It only occurs when switching from Redguard to TR/TRUB (not the other way around, nor between TR and TRUB) without shutting Glidos down.
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 775
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Postby Snover » 2003-4-09 @ 07:05

Nicht Sehr Gut wrote:...and this time, he means it. *heh*
ROFLMAO, oh man. That was QUALITY, Nicht.
Snover
l33t++
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 04:47

Postby Glidos » 2003-4-09 @ 07:54

Kaminari wrote:Bingo. It only occurs when switching from Redguard to TR/TRUB (not the other way around, nor between TR and TRUB) without shutting Glidos down.


Brilliant, so that version of PollPipe.dll is okay. It runs the process
priority down if there isn't any Glide activity for a while which makes things work okay if a game just sits waiting for a key stroke.

Guess this swap from Redguard to TR thing is a bug I should look at some time, but it isn't desperate.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Glidos » 2003-4-09 @ 07:57

Nicht Sehr Gut wrote:...and this time, he means it. *heh*

No, I really did mean it... and I'm sure I'll really mean it the next time too.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Nicht Sehr Gut » 2003-4-09 @ 14:35

Originally posted by Snover [B]ROFLMAO, oh man. That was QUALITY, Nicht.
http://www.joke-archives.com/drinking/5levelsofdrinking.html
Originally posted by Glidos [B]No, I really did mean it... and I'm sure I'll really mean it the next time too.
Yes. People always do....
User avatar
Nicht Sehr Gut
l33t
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 17:32

Postby AntiSnipe » 2003-4-13 @ 21:53

I'm probably too late to this, but for what it's worth here's what I got so far from just a quick test:

Tomb Raider 1 only
P4 2.4 CPU
Asus P4S533-E with Evil VISA breaking SIS chipset (offending SIS AGP driver not installed).
Windows XP Pro SP1
Geforce 4 Ti4400 with Nvidia 43.45

Glidos v 1.20:
Runs too fast sometimes, others it is fine.
Starting newgame, starts in menu ring, not controlling Lara.
Random Keyboard input failure. Arrow keys spin the menu ring but that's all that works.

Glidos v 1.21 without any of the added test files later in this thread:

ControlJudderFix: 1
Game speed is correct.
New game starts correctly, not in menu ring.

ControlJudderFix: 2, and 3
Game runs too fast, didn't test further

I will try to test with ControlJudderFix: 1 more today and reply if I find anything.
Last edited by AntiSnipe on 2003-4-14 @ 01:25, edited 1 time in total.
AntiSnipe
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2003-1-28 @ 20:24

Postby Nicht Sehr Gut » 2003-4-13 @ 23:50

I split the VDMSound posts off from this thread and placed them in the General VDMSound forum:

http://www.vogons.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1425
User avatar
Nicht Sehr Gut
l33t
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 17:32

Postby AntiSnipe » 2003-4-14 @ 01:28

After playing a few levels with 1.21, ControlJudderFix: 1:

1. The sound during the in-game cutscenes got delayed by about 2 or 3 seconds. This delay carried over in to the game after level 5 loaded so everything was off time. Game over.

2. When level 5 loaded, the camera was all zoomed in too close and I could not judge distance or see much of the surroundings.

Screenshot here.
Should look like so.

Another thing I noticed, is there are no shadows? Where are the shadows under Lara and enemies? It really looks funny without them.
AntiSnipe
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2003-1-28 @ 20:24

Postby Kaminari » 2003-4-14 @ 02:35

Camera zoom>

I too saw this happening a couple of times at the beginning of Khamoon. Call the menu ring, save your game - the zoom goes back to normal. The trick works for me.

Shadow>

Trash your settings.dat file, TR will build a fresh one. The old file was created during the DOS installation of the game and isn't fully compatible with the Glide executable.
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 775
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Postby AntiSnipe » 2003-4-14 @ 05:24

Kaminari wrote:Shadow>

Trash your settings.dat file, TR will build a fresh one. The old file was created during the DOS installation of the game and isn't fully compatible with the Glide executable.


Excellent! Shadow fixed. Thanks. That is weird because the new file and the old one appear identical in Notepad, but the shadow works great now.

As for the zoom, it was easy enough to get rid of, but the sound delay was not. I posted about it because I figure, it may be a symptom of another bug or something that may make sense to Paul.
Last edited by AntiSnipe on 2003-4-14 @ 05:33, edited 1 time in total.
AntiSnipe
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2003-1-28 @ 20:24

Postby Glidos » 2003-4-14 @ 07:28

AntiSnipe wrote:I'm probably too late to this, but for what it's worth here's what I got so far from just a quick test:

Tomb Raider 1 only
P4 2.4 CPU
Asus P4S533-E with Evil VISA breaking SIS chipset (offending SIS AGP driver not installed).
Windows XP Pro SP1
Geforce 4 Ti4400 with Nvidia 43.45

Glidos v 1.20:
Runs too fast sometimes, others it is fine.
Starting newgame, starts in menu ring, not controlling Lara.
Random Keyboard input failure. Arrow keys spin the menu ring but that's all that works.

Glidos v 1.21 without any of the added test files later in this thread:

ControlJudderFix: 1
Game speed is correct.
New game starts correctly, not in menu ring.

Magic. I'll be pleased if I've accidently cured that problem. The changes I made in 1.21 cure keybaord problems in GTA, so this makes some sort of sense.
[B]
ControlJudderFix: 2, and 3
Game runs too fast, didn't test further

I will try to test with ControlJudderFix: 1 more today and reply if I find anything.

Probably best to hold off until I release 1.22. Actually there is a chance that 1.22 will bring back the problem. Hope not.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Glidos » 2003-4-14 @ 07:29

Nicht Sehr Gut wrote:I split the VDMSound posts off from this thread and placed them in the General VDMSound forum:

http://www.vogons.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1425


Ah good. I didn't think to do that.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby Glidos » 2003-4-14 @ 07:32

AntiSnipe wrote:After playing a few levels with 1.21, ControlJudderFix: 1:

1. The sound during the in-game cutscenes got delayed by about 2 or 3 seconds. This delay carried over in to the game after level 5 loaded so everything was off time. Game over.


v1.21 has known audio problems (unless you use the very last version of PollPipe.dll posted in the PIT Perfect thread (VarPri.zp I think the file is called). v1.22 should be better, but it might bring back the keyboard problem.
User avatar
Glidos
l33t
 
Posts: 3115
Joined: 2002-8-08 @ 02:55

Postby AntiSnipe » 2003-4-14 @ 09:40

The keyboard input loss? That is a strange one. It seems random, but I don't think it is. If I have started Glidos/Tomb Raider and stopped it a time or 3 without rebooting my PC it seems to happen. Also if I "rush" it and Escape past the opening Logos and Movie it seems to increase the chance of it.

In other words, it seems that if I baby it, the odds are good the keyboard will be fine. Reboot before playing or after making adjustments to graphics then starting Glidos again. Let the opening junk play, etc.

I'll play with 1.22 tomorrow and let you know.
AntiSnipe
Newbie
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2003-1-28 @ 20:24

Previous

Return to GliDOS Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest