HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Schedules and announcements about program releases.

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby gerwin » 2018-3-08 @ 00:45

The "Force clipper" option is gone in the latest DxWnd version, but I have set Clipper to 'ON' in the DirectX(2) section. Hoping it is the same thing.

Attached the bit where I changed the width resolution of EOP's targetting modification. A005h is 1440 pixels there, it used to be 1024. Note that this section of EOP's modifications is no longer included in my patch version E, at all. So it does not apply to it.
Attachments
MechW3-targetfix-1440.png
MechW3-targetfix-1440.png (2.76 KiB) Viewed 1307 times
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2705
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2018-4-06 @ 16:19

Here's a reg file that disables the compatibility database that prevents alt tabbing out of the game.

If it has no effect rightclick on Mech3.exe, change any compatibility setting and click on OK. Then undo your changes and click on OK again.

Might in theory cause some instability.
Attachments
MW3nocompat.zip
(766 Bytes) Downloaded 113 times
Last edited by teleguy on 2018-9-11 @ 17:46, edited 1 time in total.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby lowenz » 2018-5-09 @ 07:50

teleguy wrote:I asked AncientxFreako if he could resize the HUD like he did for the other resolutions since he owns the necessary mod tools but he's currently too busy with his other projects so I made some adjustments via hex editing.

Mech3-1440-1080c_2018_03_07_16_57_20_182.jpg

Windows 10 Fall Creators + dgVoodoo2 2.55 (OR NOT, the issue remains with Windows stock ddraw) + your patch + 1440x1080 added to Windows (but not forced in dgVoodoo2):

Image

Any idea? Other fullscreen resolutions work and 1440x1080 forced through dgVoodoo2 works !
In my system the "8" value for resolution is 1152x864, "9" is 1280x1024 and "A" (10) 1440x1080 (so I set A)
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2018-5-09 @ 17:41

lowenz wrote:
teleguy wrote:I asked AncientxFreako if he could resize the HUD like he did for the other resolutions since he owns the necessary mod tools but he's currently too busy with his other projects so I made some adjustments via hex editing.

Mech3-1440-1080c_2018_03_07_16_57_20_182.jpg

Windows 10 Fall Creators + dgVoodoo2 2.55 (OR NOT, the issue remains with Windows stock ddraw) + your patch + 1440x1080 added to Windows (but not forced in dgVoodoo2):

Image

Any idea? Other fullscreen resolutions work and 1440x1080 forced through dgVoodoo2 works !
In my system the "8" value for resolution is 1152x864, "9" is 1280x1024 and "A" (10) 1440x1080 (so I set A)


With my patch it should be 8 not A IIRC
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby lowenz » 2018-5-09 @ 21:34

Oh! The damn overthinking :D

It works
Image


And for Pirate's Moon? :)
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1169
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2018-5-20 @ 12:13

lowenz wrote:

And for Pirate's Moon? :)


I'm currently not up to that for personal reasons. AncientxFreako's help would probably also be required again as well.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby AncientxFreako » 2018-11-28 @ 20:38

Hi guys, sorry I'm so late to this party! Nice to see all this work being done. I've back-tracked what's been done so far about 3 pages back but wouldn't mind a quick summary if someone feels up to it?

I'm putting together a discord "welcome page" that has a detailed list of what to do to get the game running with all downloads and mods and I'd like to be able to include whatever finished projects end up here.

Yes, I can definitely assist on the HUD.zrd in both games if someone is working on the same resolutions for Pirate's Moon that Teleguy did for 'Mech3. Also, I'd be interested to know if the possible expanding on EOP's triangle fix is going to be included. I guess that would be a lot of work huh? One for each resolution? Also, am I correct in assuming that you need to switch one of the resolutions in teleguy's patch with a different one? Or perhaps since I am now able to assist you can simply add it?

Actually, it'll be a little while before I can do any work in the Pirate's Moon hud.zrd as I'm getting a VB6 error when I boot that file in the utility. Not sure if I caused a corruption when I used it last or if the utility itself is deficient. I'm getting a new PC soon and will transfer everything over to it.
AncientxFreako
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-16 @ 13:16

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby AncientxFreako » 2018-11-28 @ 20:39

here's the link to the discord:

https://discord.gg/gnacUBB
AncientxFreako
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-16 @ 13:16

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby Night Thastus » 2019-3-09 @ 21:22

So with that alt-tab fix, how are we supposed to use it? Do we use both of the registry files, or just one of them? If one, which one?

Thanks!
Night Thastus
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-7-05 @ 17:28

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2019-3-10 @ 15:09

Night Thastus wrote:So with that alt-tab fix, how are we supposed to use it? Do we use both of the registry files, or just one of them? If one, which one?

Thanks!


You use just the nocampat one. The other reverses the changes made by that file and restores the default Windows settings.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby AncientxFreako » 2019-3-12 @ 10:28

teleguy, a question we had, and I know I asked you this when we worked on it but it was too long ago for me to remember, but does your resolution program patch the .exe when in use, or does it replace it?
AncientxFreako
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-16 @ 13:16

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2019-3-12 @ 11:32

The exe has been hex edited to add the new resolutions. The launcher just writes to the registry so that the game uses the right resolution.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby AncientxFreako » 2019-3-13 @ 14:33

So does that mean the launcher redirects(using new registry) the game to the (hex edited) .exe stored in the launcher for the resolution information it needs?
AncientxFreako
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-16 @ 13:16

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2019-3-15 @ 17:02

AncientxFreako wrote:So does that mean the launcher redirects(using new registry) the game to the (hex edited) .exe stored in the launcher for the resolution information it needs?


No, the exe is located in plain form on the hard drive.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby CommanderHunter » 2019-10-09 @ 15:13

Hey, CommanderHunter here, you still working on this Teleguy? Have you found where the FOV setting is located?
CommanderHunter
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-8-12 @ 18:44

Previous

Return to Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest