PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Schedules and announcements about program releases.

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Scali » 2016-8-11 @ 15:17

Scali wrote:Did anyone else notice this? And is there a fix/workaround?


I found the problem: the PIC mask is set to 0xFF, so the keyboard interrupts don't fire, which means the menu can't respond to keypresses.
I think the problem may be this, in pic_write() (in file pic.c at line 106):

Code: Select all
if (val&16) /*ICW1*/
{
    //pic.mask=0xFF;
    pic.mask2=0;
    pic.icw=1;
    pic.icw1=val;
    pic.ins = 0;
    pic_updatepending();
}


I've commented out the pic.mask = 0xFF there, and then it works. The demo writes the mask 0xFB, which would keep the keyboard enabled.
However, this bit of code overwrites it to 0xFF later, which seems to be the problem. I don't think the mask gets reset on real hardware when you write an ICW1. Should be easy to verify.
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby NJRoadfan » 2016-8-11 @ 17:26

Looks like it does......according to the datasheet.
https://pdos.csail.mit.edu/6.828/2005/r ... /8259A.pdf

See page 9.

Of course the datasheet isn't always right (learned that when bug fixing another emulator).
NJRoadfan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 909
Joined: 2012-5-26 @ 03:54
Location: Northern NJ

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Scali » 2016-8-11 @ 17:36

NJRoadfan wrote:Looks like it does......according to the datasheet.
https://pdos.csail.mit.edu/6.828/2005/r ... /8259A.pdf

See page 9.

Of course the datasheet isn't always right (learned that when bug fixing another emulator).


It says the mask register is 'cleared'. But perhaps that means a value of 0x00 instead of 0xFF. That would also make the code work.
I guess it's easy enough to test that on real hardware by just reading the mask value after you write an ICW1.
Scali
l33t
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: 2014-12-13 @ 14:24

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Jo22 » 2016-9-30 @ 17:08

Uhm, sorry for posting here, but I've got a question about PCem. Hope it is okay..:
Is it possible with the current version of PCem to install DOS/V ? I can't get past the first few seconds of the the installation program.
When DOS asks for another diskette, and I do insert the right one, it refuses to use it.

Edit: Found the issue, it works now. ^^ Turned out DOS didn't ask for the startup disk, but wanted to create one.
Apparently, DOS/V refused to use a pre-formatted HDD image for its installation. Using a blank one worked.
Attachments
dosv_install.gif
Last edited by Jo22 on 2016-10-03 @ 06:29, edited 1 time in total.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2898
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SA1988 » 2016-10-02 @ 09:56

I don't know if those are 1.44MB issues, but use 86Box, it features more complete Floppy emulation including Teledisk handling.
SA1988
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 21:09

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Jo22 » 2016-10-02 @ 20:42

Hi, thanks dude! It's not the first time I had problems with images. Perhaps something is wrong with my disk images ?
I created them myself with WinImage. Same issue appeared with DOS Plus, for some reason I can't install it in PCem (though booting works).
It's just strange that they do work on my old computers. Perhaps these OSes do strange things with the hardware, dunno.
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2898
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby danrevella » 2016-10-15 @ 17:38

Please excuse....
About 86box and T86 & Td0 floppy image, is it available a utility to generate void image of these standard?
Is a void T86 image available for download?
many thanks.
danrevella
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2009-5-10 @ 13:34

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DosFreak » 2017-1-24 @ 23:43

So I've finally started looking into PC-Em. (Good job btw)

Can't find the list of questions I made the other day so I'll see if I can hunt that down.

Some I can remember:

Is it recommended to use a certain video card BIOS version? Reason I ask is that the romsets you can find usually have older BIOS so say if a bug report was posted should the video card bios version be posted?

Any issue with simplifying the HD image creation? Obviously just increase the cylinders but mabye hide the advanced options behind another dialog?

A wizard or default profiles preconfigured and organized by generations, years, etc

Show the Video and BIOS version in the GUI instead of opening the file or booting the machine (in those cases where it's visible).
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9811
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby leileilol » 2017-1-25 @ 00:33

I use the Phoenix S3 Trio 64 with the bios dump I did in that one parking space. Seems to work fine. ATI Mach64 is said to emulate the fastest and support the most video modes, IIRC

There are poor Stealth3D 2000 dumps that have adverse effects in PCem's Stealth3D 2000 emulation btw (leading to grayscale textmode and VGA) so at least for that card you'd have to be careful.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9362
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DosFreak » 2017-1-26 @ 00:54

Well no speed issues with the Cyberstorm 2 demo. I'm convinced. :D
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9811
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SA1988 » 2017-1-27 @ 17:07

If anyone wants SCSI emulation, just use 86Box.
SA1988
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 21:09

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby ppgrainbow » 2017-1-27 @ 20:21

SA1988 wrote:If anyone wants SCSI emulation, just use 86Box.

Has Battler tried to add hard disk SCSI emulation to 86Box yet? This can be done somehow by porting some of the code from QEMU.

Until then, for SCSI hard disk and CD-ROM emulation, either use VMware Workstation Player, Qemu or VirtualBox. :)
User avatar
ppgrainbow
Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 2009-1-03 @ 22:24

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SA1988 » 2017-1-27 @ 21:50

ppgrainbow wrote:
SA1988 wrote:If anyone wants SCSI emulation, just use 86Box.

Has Battler tried to add hard disk SCSI emulation to 86Box yet? This can be done somehow by porting some of the code from QEMU.

Until then, for SCSI hard disk and CD-ROM emulation, either use VMware Workstation Player, Qemu or VirtualBox. :)


Just only CD-ROMs.
SA1988
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 21:09

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby ppgrainbow » 2017-1-27 @ 23:32

SA1988 wrote:
ppgrainbow wrote:
SA1988 wrote:If anyone wants SCSI emulation, just use 86Box.

Has Battler tried to add hard disk SCSI emulation to 86Box yet? This can be done somehow by porting some of the code from QEMU.

Until then, for SCSI hard disk and CD-ROM emulation, either use VMware Workstation Player, Qemu or VirtualBox. :)


Just only CD-ROMs.


Thank you for telling me! SCSI CD-ROMs are useful if you have two IDE hard disk images installed under 86Box and the BIOS only has one IDE channel. :)

The problem with the AMI 286, AMI 386SX, AMI 386DX and AMI 486 BIOSes are that it didn't support hard disks larger than 504 MB. I'm wondering how this can be addressed though...
User avatar
ppgrainbow
Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 2009-1-03 @ 22:24

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SA1988 » 2017-1-28 @ 00:49

ppgrainbow wrote:Thank you for telling me! SCSI CD-ROMs are useful if you have two IDE hard disk images installed under 86Box and the BIOS only has one IDE channel. :)

The problem with the AMI 286, AMI 386SX, AMI 386DX and AMI 486 BIOSes are that it didn't support hard disks larger than 504 MB. I'm wondering how this can be addressed though...


there's no need to support over 504MB hard disks in those bioses, as that limit is imposed by the BIOS and cannot be circumvented.
SA1988
Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: 2013-7-16 @ 21:09

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby ppgrainbow » 2017-1-28 @ 01:27

SA1988 wrote:
ppgrainbow wrote:Thank you for telling me! SCSI CD-ROMs are useful if you have two IDE hard disk images installed under 86Box and the BIOS only has one IDE channel. :)

The problem with the AMI 286, AMI 386SX, AMI 386DX and AMI 486 BIOSes are that it didn't support hard disks larger than 504 MB. I'm wondering how this can be addressed though...


there's no need to support over 504MB hard disks in those bioses, as that limit is imposed by the BIOS and cannot be circumvented.


That's what I've been thinking. That limit was overcome in the AMI WinBIOS when it introduced hard disks up to 7.88 GB, which is the maximum that PCem can support.
User avatar
ppgrainbow
Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 2009-1-03 @ 22:24

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DosFreak » 2017-1-29 @ 01:15

Outrage working in Pcem v11 with Windows 98SE in D3D (with minor graphics corruption).

I've been going through the non-working games on my compatibility list as well as the games I currently have to use VPC and vmware for. So far I've gotten far better results with pcem.
Attachments
outragedemo.PNG
outrageconfig.PNG
outrageconfig.PNG (11.57 KiB) Viewed 1037 times
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9811
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby leileilol » 2017-1-30 @ 07:45

The texture corruption's fixed in the current tree (for VG and V2). Outrage doesn't look good on V2 though
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9362
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SarahWalker » 2017-2-18 @ 22:22

v12 is now out. Changes since v11 :

  • New machines added - AMI 386DX, MR 386DX
  • New graphics cards - Plantronics ColorPlus, Wyse WY-700, Obsidian SB50, Voodoo 2
  • CPU optimisations - up to 50% speedup seen
  • 3DFX optimisations
  • Improved joystick emulation - analogue joystick up to 8 buttons, CH Flightstick Pro, ThrustMaster FCS, SideWinder pad(s)
  • Mouse can be selected between serial, PS/2, and IntelliMouse
  • Basic 286/386 prefetch emulation - 286 & 386 performance much closer to real systems
  • Improved CGA/PCjr/Tandy composite emulation
  • Various bug fixes

As ever, http://pcem-emulator.co.uk.
User avatar
SarahWalker
Member
 
Posts: 239
Joined: 2007-8-19 @ 10:51

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby gerwin » 2017-2-18 @ 23:11

Good news! Will give it a try. Thanks Sarah and the other contributors.
Last edited by gerwin on 2017-2-19 @ 13:03, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2505
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

PreviousNext

Return to Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest