PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Schedules and announcements about program releases.

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SarahWalker » 2017-12-11 @ 21:14

v13 is now out. Changes from v12 :

  • New machines added - Atari PC3, Epson PC AX, Epson PC AX2e, GW-286CT GEAR, IBM PS/2 Model 30-286, IBM PS/2 Model 50, IBM PS/2 Model 55SX, IBM PS/2 Model 80, IBM XT Model 286, KMX-C-02, Samsung SPC-4200P, Samsung SPC-4216P, Toshiba 3100e
  • New graphics cards - ATI Video Xpression, MDSI Genius
  • New sound cards added - Disney Sound Source, Ensoniq AudioPCI (ES1371), LPT DAC, Sound Blaster PCI 128
  • New hard drive controllers added - AT Fixed Disk Adapter, DTC 5150X, Fixed Disk Adapter (Xebec), IBM ESDI Fixed Disk Controller, Western Digital WD1007V-SE1
  • New SCSI adapters added - Adaptec AHA-1542C, BusLogic BT-545S, Longshine LCS-6821N, Rancho RT1000B, Trantor T130B
  • New network adapters added - NE2000 compatible
  • New cross-platform GUI
  • Voodoo SLI emulation
  • Improvements to Sound Blaster emulation
  • Improvements to Pentium timing
  • Various bug fixes
  • Minor optimisations

As ever, it's at http://pcem-emulator.co.uk.
SarahWalker
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2016-5-12 @ 17:07

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby vvbee » 2017-12-12 @ 00:15

Tried the new linux and windows versions in linux. For the linux version, got build errors in wx-app.h, so didn't bother with it.

The windows version seems to work well in wine now, under ubuntu mate 16.04 with wine 1.6.2. Performance is good and 3dfx works, as does the virge's 3d acceleration. Still need to call 'export LANG=us_US.UTF-8' from the command line first or my nordic öä keys produce no output at all. Not sure if pcem can do anything about that. The alt keys still don't appear to get recognized properly, so can't type characters that need alt. Mouse lock still lets ubuntu hotkeys like ctrl+alt+arrows through, but unlike last time, this also seems to resize the pcem window to something silly like 10 x 20. You can still navigate the pcem menus half-blind with the arrow keys to restore the size though. Pcem is identified as v12 in the dialog under misc -> machine -> misc -> about.
User avatar
vvbee
Member
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby gerwin » 2017-12-12 @ 00:28

SarahWalker wrote:v13 is now out.[/url].

Great! Thanks for improving this already amazing emulator. I will certainly try v13 out, later this month.
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2401
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby lightmaster » 2017-12-12 @ 10:26

SarahWalker wrote:v13 is now out. Changes from v12 :

  • New machines added - Atari PC3, Epson PC AX, Epson PC AX2e, GW-286CT GEAR, IBM PS/2 Model 30-286, IBM PS/2 Model 50, IBM PS/2 Model 55SX, IBM PS/2 Model 80, IBM XT Model 286, KMX-C-02, Samsung SPC-4200P, Samsung SPC-4216P, Toshiba 3100e
  • New graphics cards - ATI Video Xpression, MDSI Genius
  • New sound cards added - Disney Sound Source, Ensoniq AudioPCI (ES1371), LPT DAC, Sound Blaster PCI 128
  • New hard drive controllers added - AT Fixed Disk Adapter, DTC 5150X, Fixed Disk Adapter (Xebec), IBM ESDI Fixed Disk Controller, Western Digital WD1007V-SE1
  • New SCSI adapters added - Adaptec AHA-1542C, BusLogic BT-545S, Longshine LCS-6821N, Rancho RT1000B, Trantor T130B
  • New network adapters added - NE2000 compatible
  • New cross-platform GUI
  • Voodoo SLI emulation
  • Improvements to Sound Blaster emulation
  • Improvements to Pentium timing
  • Various bug fixes
  • Minor optimisations

As ever, it's at http://pcem-emulator.co.uk.

Thanks S.W.!
Image
User avatar
lightmaster
Oldbie
 
Posts: 603
Joined: 2005-10-01 @ 12:09
Location: Sol III(¡¿

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby vvbee » 2017-12-13 @ 01:31

The problem with the right alt not working with pcem in wine is to do with it getting mapped on this layout to iso_level3_shift instead of alt_r, which apparently is correct but pcem doesn't know to anticipate it. Mapping it manually with xmodmap to alt_r makes it work with pcem but breaks it elsewhere.

I sorted the linux version's compile errors, but the finished binary bails out saying it can't locate roms. The roms are there and work with the windows version, so sounds like a path/filename issue. No doubt I can get it to work with more time spent on it, but in general I think precompiled pcem binaries for linux should be a thing. Target and test for something popular like ubuntu where users don't want to build software from sources, and make messing with the compiler a fallback.
User avatar
vvbee
Member
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby leileilol » 2017-12-13 @ 01:50

Since V13's out now i'm making this old video about its AudioPCI emulation public:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tiKxeCJ3BpE

The crackling's only apparent when OALSoft's used
Last edited by leileilol on 2017-12-13 @ 02:02, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8774
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby gerwin » 2017-12-13 @ 02:01

leileilol wrote:Since V13's out now i'm making this old video about its AudioPCI emulation public:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tiKxeCJ3BpE

Do you have to use the DOS Soundblaster/Soundscape emulation TSR for the AudioPCI work in DOS?
User avatar
gerwin
l33t
 
Posts: 2401
Joined: 2004-5-07 @ 19:21
Location: NL

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby leileilol » 2017-12-13 @ 02:02

Yes though i haven't tried any of hte soundscape emulation stuff yet, i'm not certain if the drivers i've tried support that. I mostly tried the 2000-2002 creative drivers

There's even the bug with Epic's dos psm-playing games that also shows the same difference using the later WDM driver.
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 8774
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DOSfan1994 » 2017-12-13 @ 02:57

Where are the roms for v13?
DOSfan1994
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2012-9-03 @ 05:41

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby telanus » 2017-12-13 @ 03:46

DOSfan1994 wrote:Where are the roms for v13?

Gone
My Retro PC:
Spec: PII400 with 400MB, Riva128zx and C-Media soundcard
OS: Win 98SE
Main:
Spec: Dual-Core 2.60, GeForce GT 240 3Gb Ram & Creative Audigy
OS: Win XP Pro (SP3)
User avatar
telanus
Newbie
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2007-10-03 @ 14:20

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DOSfan1994 » 2017-12-13 @ 06:28

telanus wrote:
DOSfan1994 wrote:Where are the roms for v13?

Gone

Why are they gone?
DOSfan1994
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2012-9-03 @ 05:41

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Zup » 2017-12-13 @ 07:04

AFAIK, no emulators risk to include copyrighted ROMs (or at least ROMs they haven't secured permission to distribute). Official versions of PCem only included MDA.ROM and xt-ide ones.

PCem 13 doesn't seem to include xt-ide (I don't know if it's still needed, because RLL disks are supported now) and there is a new zip file to download because MDA.ROM was not included in the first zip released. Every other ROM is not included, so you'll need to get it from your own computers or get it from elsewhere.

BTW, it you had a working earlier PCem, you can copy the ROMs from there.
I have traveled across the universe and through the years to find Her.
Sometimes going all the way is just a start...

I'm selling some stuff!
User avatar
Zup
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: 2003-10-04 @ 12:16

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DOSfan1994 » 2017-12-13 @ 07:06

Zup wrote:AFAIK, no emulators risk to include copyrighted ROMs (or at least ROMs they haven't secured permission to distribute). Official versions of PCem only included MDA.ROM and xt-ide ones.

PCem 13 doesn't seem to include xt-ide (I don't know if it's still needed, because RLL disks are supported now) and there is a new zip file to download because MDA.ROM was not included in the first zip released. Every other ROM is not included, so you'll need to get it from your own computers or get it from elsewhere.

BTW, it you had a working earlier PCem, you can copy the ROMs from there.

Ok I'm still waiting for another version to emulate a ATi Rage pro.
DOSfan1994
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2012-9-03 @ 05:41

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby vvbee » 2017-12-13 @ 08:34

Looked into why pcem linux wasn't finding roms. Seems it's because it wants them primarily in ~/.pcem. I'm annoyed when programs do this. I want them to run in the folder I put them in, not create duplicate hidden folders in my home directory and get upset when I don't put files there.

The code seems to use get_pcem_path() to get the program's directory. For the windows version it returns the directory the program was run, but for the linux version it returns the user's home dir. Is there a reason for this? For now, I changed the linux version to use wx's getcwd for the current working directory, and also commented out a call to add_config_callback() in paths_init() to seemingly prevent pcem from looking for paths in the cfg file. get_pcem_path() ignores the buffer size, by the way.
User avatar
vvbee
Member
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DOSfan1994 » 2017-12-13 @ 08:43

Zup wrote:AFAIK, no emulators risk to include copyrighted ROMs (or at least ROMs they haven't secured permission to distribute). Official versions of PCem only included MDA.ROM and xt-ide ones.

PCem 13 doesn't seem to include xt-ide (I don't know if it's still needed, because RLL disks are supported now) and there is a new zip file to download because MDA.ROM was not included in the first zip released. Every other ROM is not included, so you'll need to get it from your own computers or get it from elsewhere.

BTW, it you had a working earlier PCem, you can copy the ROMs from there.

How am I going to make the roms from my real hardware?
DOSfan1994
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2012-9-03 @ 05:41

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby jesolo » 2017-12-13 @ 08:58

DOSfan1994 wrote:How am I going to make the roms from my real hardware?

You basically need an EEPROM reader to read the contents of the BIOS ROM chip.
On most 286 and higher CPU's, you can try a utility called Navrátil System Information (NSSI 0.60).
This utility has the option to read and save the BIOS ROM contents of the motherboard BIOS and also the video card's BIOS.
However, as alluded to in previous posts, you can find these online (if you know where to look).
PCem will also tell you (refer to each subfolder) what the name of the ROM is that it will look for.
User avatar
jesolo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: 2014-6-24 @ 19:04
Location: South Africa

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DOSfan1994 » 2017-12-13 @ 09:26

jesolo wrote:
DOSfan1994 wrote:How am I going to make the roms from my real hardware?

You basically need an EEPROM reader to read the contents of the BIOS ROM chip.
On most 286 and higher CPU's, you can try a utility called Navrátil System Information (NSSI 0.60).
This utility has the option to read and save the BIOS ROM contents of the motherboard BIOS and also the video card's BIOS.
However, as alluded to in previous posts, you can find these online (if you know where to look).
PCem will also tell you (refer to each subfolder) what the name of the ROM is that it will look for.


How easy is it? How will I make my rom file and how will it work? How do I get the Natratile system information ?
I bet I can make a ATi Rage pro rom with those.
DOSfan1994
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2012-9-03 @ 05:41

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby jesolo » 2017-12-13 @ 12:05

DOSfan1994 wrote:
jesolo wrote:
DOSfan1994 wrote:How am I going to make the roms from my real hardware?

You basically need an EEPROM reader to read the contents of the BIOS ROM chip.
On most 286 and higher CPU's, you can try a utility called Navrátil System Information (NSSI 0.60).
This utility has the option to read and save the BIOS ROM contents of the motherboard BIOS and also the video card's BIOS.
However, as alluded to in previous posts, you can find these online (if you know where to look).
PCem will also tell you (refer to each subfolder) what the name of the ROM is that it will look for.


How easy is it? How will I make my rom file and how will it work? How do I get the Natratile system information ?
I bet I can make a ATi Rage pro rom with those.

Depends on whether you want to use an EEPROM reader or the NSSI utility.
With an EEPROM reader you need to physically remove the BIOS chip(s) from your motherboard and then insert it into the EEPROM reader.
You can then save the contents to a file.

NSSI makes the process considerably easier, since you don't need to physically remove the BIOS chip.
NSSI can be obtained from their website (http://www.navsoft.cz/products.htm).
This is essentially a DOS based utility and you can extract your BIOS contents by going under the "Tools" menu.
The file is normally saved (with the extension "*.BIO".) in the same folder where the NSSI program files are located.
You then just rename that BIOS file to the name that PCem would expect and place it in the appropriate PCem subfolder.

I suggest that you rather go onto the PCem website and asks PCem specific questions on that forum (most of your questions would already have been answered there): https://pcem-emulator.co.uk/
User avatar
jesolo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: 2014-6-24 @ 19:04
Location: South Africa

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby DOSfan1994 » 2017-12-13 @ 17:03

Sorry to say this Jesolo, but you see I got banned from there about a year ago.
Because I was asking too much questions about if Voodoo 2 is GDI compatible. Because there was this old LEGO pc game called "Lego creator" I would like to play how it originally was played on. I wanted to get like better framerates by using the voodoo 2 (with the SLI) but when PCem v12 was released I tried it with a Mach 64x and a voodoo 2 on windows 95 and it did not use the voodoo 2 card it still stayed on software. After that I felt guilty and realized the truth that Leileilol was right, I'd wished I believed him more and Sarahwalker too. Now I have to wait until PCem emulates an ATi rage pro or a Savage 4 3d card to get better GDI frame rates so I can put in a whole lot a models in my world.
DOSfan1994
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2012-9-03 @ 05:41

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SarahWalker » 2017-12-13 @ 18:19

vvbee wrote:Looked into why pcem linux wasn't finding roms. Seems it's because it wants them primarily in ~/.pcem. I'm annoyed when programs do this. I want them to run in the folder I put them in, not create duplicate hidden folders in my home directory and get upset when I don't put files there.

The code seems to use get_pcem_path() to get the program's directory. For the windows version it returns the directory the program was run, but for the linux version it returns the user's home dir. Is there a reason for this?

Because numerous Linux users were asking for it. I guess you can't please everyone...
SarahWalker
Newbie
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 2016-5-12 @ 17:07

PreviousNext

Return to Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests