PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Schedules and announcements about program releases.

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Battler » 2018-4-08 @ 11:37

Actually, the BIOS remapping serial port 1 (where the mouse is) is perfectly normal - it's what's supposed to happen.
Battler
Newbie
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 21:27

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Battler » 2018-4-12 @ 16:30

About https://pcem-emulator.co.uk/phpBB3/view ... f=2&t=2989 - I confirm the bug. Basically, when I draw in Paintbrush with the S3 Trio64 1.70.04 drivers in Windows 3.1x, I can't see what I'm drawing.
Battler
Newbie
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 21:27

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby jm2k7 » 2018-4-13 @ 01:53

Battler wrote:About https://pcem-emulator.co.uk/phpBB3/view ... f=2&t=2989 - I confirm the bug. Basically, when I draw in Paintbrush with the S3 Trio64 1.70.04 drivers in Windows 3.1x, I can't see what I'm drawing.


Right, I just tried and have that problem.
At the end of the post I read that he has released a new rev 1156, but I do not see where to download.
Well, let's wait while it progresses and wait for the author to publish the update.


== Another Problem ==

and there's another problem that I do not know if it's the emulator or the game, but I think if it's the emulator:
"Need for Speed Special Edition", the accelerate key "up key" stops working when you switch to the first speed. It is a very strange error.
With dosbox working properly, I was perplexed.
User avatar
jm2k7
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-1-06 @ 02:44

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Jo22 » 2018-4-14 @ 13:03

jm2k7 wrote:
Battler wrote:About https://pcem-emulator.co.uk/phpBB3/view ... f=2&t=2989 - I confirm the bug. Basically, when I draw in Paintbrush with the S3 Trio64 1.70.04 drivers in Windows 3.1x, I can't see what I'm drawing.


Right, I just tried and have that problem.
At the end of the post I read that he has released a new rev 1156, but I do not see where to download.
Well, let's wait while it progresses and wait for the author to publish the update.

Oh, this S3/Paintbrush issue is still a thing ? :surprised: First noticed it about a year ago.
(Last time I checked, Paintbrush worked just fine on a real Trio64V/Virge325.)
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Battler » 2018-4-14 @ 13:58

Yes, it seems to be. Though I have to correct one thing - the Virge 235 2D engine is shared with the Trio64V (which means it should technically be easy to implement the Trio64V emulation on top of the Virge325 code), but on PCem the issue was on the emulation of the original Trio64, which has an entirely different 2D engine. :p Of course, the issue is fixed now.
Battler
Newbie
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 21:27

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Jo22 » 2018-4-14 @ 15:49

I see, thank you very much for explaining. :)
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby hail-to-the-ryzen » 2018-4-18 @ 09:49

Lost access to menu and title bar of PCem window where switching back and forth between fullscreen and windowed modes. Caused by window shifting upwards on screen in Windows 10. Tested with latest version of emulator and SDL2.
hail-to-the-ryzen
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-3-09 @ 01:34

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SarahWalker » 2018-4-20 @ 13:24

PCem v14 is now available. Changes from v13.1 :
  • New machines added - Compaq Portable Plus, Compaq Portable II, Elonex PC-425X, IBM PS/2 Model 70 (types 3 & 4), Intel Advanced/ZP, NCR PC4i, Packard Bell Legend 300SX, Packard Bell PB520R, Packard Bell PB570, Thomson TO16 PC, Toshiba T1000, Toshiba T1200, Xi8088
  • New graphics cards added - ATI Korean VGA, Cirrus Logic CL-GD5429, Cirrus Logic CL-GD5430, Cirrus Logic CL-GD5435, OAK OTI-037, Trident TGUI9400CXi
  • New network adapters added - Realtek RTL8029AS
  • Iomega Zip drive emulation
  • Added option for default video timing
  • Added dynamic low-pass filter for SB16/AWE32 DSP playback
  • Can select external video card on some systems with built-in video
  • Can use IDE hard drives up to 127 GB
  • Can now use 7 SCSI devices
  • Implemented CMPXCHG8B on Winchip. Can now boot Windows XP on Winchip processors
  • CD-ROM emulation on OS X
  • Tweaks to Pentium and 6x86 timing
  • Numerous bug fixes
As ever, it's at http://pcem-emulator.co.uk/
User avatar
SarahWalker
Newbie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 2016-5-12 @ 17:07

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby James-F » 2018-4-21 @ 07:08

Thanks Sarah!

Added dynamic low-pass filter for SB16/AWE32 DSP playback

This is great, might be the most accurate SB16 emulation yet.
User avatar
James-F
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: 2015-11-30 @ 04:10

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Dominus » 2018-4-21 @ 08:52

Excuse my ignorance, I haven't paid attention to PCEm besides knowing it exists. But now I have the Japanese Ultima 8 for DOS/V and PC9801. Can I play that with PCEm?
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7572
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna or Ludwigsburg

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby SarahWalker » 2018-4-21 @ 09:04

DOS/V worked the last time I checked, so you should be able to run that version.
User avatar
SarahWalker
Newbie
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 2016-5-12 @ 17:07

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Dominus » 2018-4-21 @ 09:07

Thanks, now I need to read up on PCEm, I have no clue what I need to run it. But I'll figure it out :)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7572
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna or Ludwigsburg

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby vvbee » 2018-4-21 @ 23:55

For the users of pcbi, the project is hibernating and there are no plans to keep it up with pcem 14 in the near term. Those with the source to pcbi can do what the gpl permits.
User avatar
vvbee
Member
 
Posts: 413
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby leileilol » 2018-4-23 @ 01:11

*scratches off plans to model the packard bell pb570 family :(

v15's going to be a relatively long while away
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9190
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby kolano » 2018-4-24 @ 06:18

James-F wrote:Thanks Sarah!

Added dynamic low-pass filter for SB16/AWE32 DSP playback

This is great, might be the most accurate SB16 emulation yet.


Still hoping for eventual addition of mic / cd / line-in support.
User avatar
kolano
Oldbie
 
Posts: 527
Joined: 2010-12-26 @ 21:03

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby hail-to-the-ryzen » 2018-5-21 @ 07:39

Haven't yet tested this replacement for openal 1.1 which depends on SDL. It could reduce the number of libraries required: https://hg.icculus.org/icculus/mojoAL
hail-to-the-ryzen
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-3-09 @ 01:34

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby leileilol » 2018-5-22 @ 00:03

ATTN expert Voodoo owners: Recently I've been working on this patch and I desire technical feedback to perfect it further..
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9190
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby JSO » 2018-5-31 @ 20:11

PCEm works great! Tested many DOS, Windows 3.x, 9x games and applications!

But I facing an issue with Fifa 94, which I think it was present on the first DOSBox versions also.

The program doesn't runs because of the following error :

Abnormal program termination : Memory protection fault
CS:EIP = 000Fh :0009C4E7h

Any solution? It is related with a bios setting? This occurs with various mb's and cpu's and using MS DOS 6.22 and PC DOS 2000.
DOS IS THE POWER OF OUR CHILDHOOD MEMORIES!
User avatar
JSO
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2008-5-19 @ 20:32
Location: Larissa, Greece

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby Destroy » 2018-6-02 @ 17:40

leileilol wrote:ATTN expert Voodoo owners: Recently I've been working on this patch and I desire technical feedback to perfect it further..


Thank you very much for your efforts but when a file is put out there with no instructions on how to install or use it, it's hard to give feedback.
Destroy
Newbie
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 2011-4-17 @ 14:51

Re: PCEm. Another PC emulator.

Postby leileilol » 2018-6-03 @ 03:27

If you have to ask what a .patch is, chances are you're not one of the expert Voodoo owners I've ATTN'd for. This is not in an end-user-ready state.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
386DX vs SX isn't about a missing FPU
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
Old PCs aren't 'aesthetic'
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9190
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

PreviousNext

Return to Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest