Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Schedules and announcements about program releases.

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby Skyscraper » 2017-5-20 @ 21:35

agent_x007 wrote:Opterons are simply easier to get these days :)
Also they may clock higher because of better silicone used in them.
PS. Opteron 185 vs. Athlon 64 FX-60.
In case of Opteron, you lose unlocked multi.



If you look in the the Doom 3 thread you will see that the best clocking Socket 939 CPU tested so far actually is an Athlon 4000+, Phil picked the right CPU! ;)




In my experience the San Diego 4000+, the San Diego FX55, the FX60 and the Opteron 285 all overclock about the same on avarage, 2900 - 3100 MHz with good air cooling and a really good motherboard like a DFI LANParty series NF4/RD480/RD580 or an Asus A8N32. Only the FX57 (and Opteron 154 + 156 + 190 but those are very rare) is a safe choice when it comes to getting 3 GHz + overclocks on air. The FX57 normally overclocks to 3000 - 3200 MHz with one of the mentioned motherboards, in rare cases 3300 MHz.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-5-20 @ 23:01

Skyscraper wrote:If you look in the the Doom 3 thread you will see that the best clocking Socket 939 CPU tested so far actually is an Athlon 4000+, Phil picked the right CPU! ;)
Period correct :
Stock settings.

1. 106.0 FPS, Skyscraper, 2x Opteron 248 2.2GHz Sledgehammer, MSI K8T Master2 FAR, 2GB DDR314 CL2-3-3-7, 6800Ultra 92.91, onboard audio, XP-SP3

Overclocked.

1. 120.6 FPS, Skyscraper, A64 4000+@3120 San Diego, DFI Nforce4 Vanilla, 2x1GB DDR520 CL3,3,2,7 1T, GF6800GT@425/1100 92.91, onboard audio, XP-SP3
"Less" period correct :
Stock settings.

1. 177.1 FPS, candle_86, AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.0, 8gb DDR2 800, ASUS M2N-E SLI, PNY 7900GTX SLI 92.91, onboard Sound, Windows XP Home SP3

Overclocked.

1. 214.5 FPS, agent_x007, Pentium D 965@5,1, Rampage Extreme, 16GB DDR3-1133 CL5.6.5.15 1T, GF7900GX2 @600/1400 92.91, X-Fi Fatal1ty XG, XP-SP3
It's first on Doom 3... after OC'ing, and is crushed by Athlon 64 x2 6000+ (Opteron 185/FX-60 with small OC) without any OC.
And no, better GPU doesn't help single cored CPU in this case :
112.8 FPS, Skyscraper, AMD64 "FX57" 2.8GHz, Asus A8N32-SLI Nforce4, 2GB DDR470 CL2.5-3-3-5, Geforce 7900GTX 92.91, onboard audio, XP-SP3.

With Win XP it's not about highest clock, it's about havin' at least a Dual Core to go along with high-ish clock speed.
Skyscraper wrote:In my experience the San Diego 4000+, the San Diego FX55, the FX60 and the Opteron 285 all overclock about the same on avarage, 2900 - 3100 MHz with good air cooling and a really good motherboard like a DFI LANParty series NF4/RD480/RD580 or an Asus A8N32.

I own FX-55 that can do 2,91GHz... it's ClawHammer 130nm : LINK
But I cheat with TRUE cooler :D
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-5-21 @ 03:30

So this question keeps coming up. Using Daemon Tools under Windows 98 and getting the CD Audio to work properly. Well, here is a little tutorial that shows you what to do!

Daemon Tools in Windows 98 - Rip your games and use virtual discs
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby Skyscraper » 2017-5-21 @ 07:46

agent_x007 wrote:Period correct :
Stock settings.

1. 106.0 FPS, Skyscraper, 2x Opteron 248 2.2GHz Sledgehammer, MSI K8T Master2 FAR, 2GB DDR314 CL2-3-3-7, 6800Ultra 92.91, onboard audio, XP-SP3


With Win XP it's not about highest clock, it's about havin' at least a Dual Core to go along with high-ish clock speed.
Skyscraper wrote:In my experience the San Diego 4000+, the San Diego FX55, the FX60 and the Opteron 285 all overclock about the same on avarage, 2900 - 3100 MHz with good air cooling and a really good motherboard like a DFI LANParty series NF4/RD480/RD580 or an Asus A8N32.

I own FX-55 that can do 2,91GHz... it's ClawHammer 130nm : LINK
But I cheat with TRUE cooler :D




The reason the dual Operon 240 system is on top in the period correct list is that I have not tested a stock FX55 with Doom 1.0 yet. All my socket 939 scores except for the top overcloked one with the 4000+ were made before we figured out that Doom 3 1.0 was faster than 1.3. We are kind of slow so figuring out why some members systems were faster clock for clock took a while... My top period correct Gallatin score on the other hand was made with 1.0 like the dual Operon 240 score so the list is a bit skewed. I really need to rebench some configurations.

You are right about dual CPU / dual core though, Doom 3 gains alot from it but probably not enough to close the gap from 2.2 GHz to 2.6 GHz when using a Geforce 6800 Ultra. I do have a couple of Clawhammer Opteron 250 that will work in the MSI K8T Master2 FAR and at 2.4 GHz it will probably come close to or even beat a FX55.


That is a nice Clawhammer! I also own a FX55 Clawhammer! :)

As many Socket 939 Athlon 64 models use both Clawhammer and San Diego cores, they perform the same stock and the max clock only differs 100 - 150 MHz or so it seemed practical to just consider them the same even though the San Diego core was released Feb 2005.



On topic

Nice Phil.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-5-23 @ 11:11

Desoldering gun for removing capacitors: https://youtu.be/akX1vPekj6A
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-5-25 @ 08:57

Radeon DDR / 7200 Review of the very first ATI Radeon GPU: https://youtu.be/A1bYGmolzlc
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-5-25 @ 17:04

Great video about Radeon :)
Can you check how GPU-z v0.7.2 detects your Radeon 7200 ?
Here's screenshot of my Radeon 7500 (it detects 3 Pixel Shaders instead of actual 2 :D) :
Radeon 7500.png

Probably it got confused on 2x3 design (PixelxTMU) :)
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby Tetrium » 2017-5-25 @ 17:11

PhilsComputerLab wrote:Desoldering gun for removing capacitors: https://youtu.be/akX1vPekj6A

I liked this one :). Will be looking into this as soon as circumstances permit it :)

I also watched the Radeon one. Didn't know these earliest Radeons were even sought after? I guess the retro computing world will never run out of surprises :D
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7609
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-5-25 @ 23:27

It's a nifty tool for sure.

I'll try that newer GPU-Z with the next GPU review.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia



Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby appiah4 » 2017-5-29 @ 09:12



Found it really interesting to see that Quake 1 and 2 suffered really so much with K6-2 at higher resolutions. Someone with more knowledge of the architecture could probably tell us why? If it were about the FP performance it would surely cause a similar disparity at 320x200 as well, is this a memory bandwidth or cache bandwidth/amount issue?
1989:A500|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
1992:HIPPO-VL+|DX2-66|8M|GD5428|CT2290|S2
1995:PCI597-1|P133|32M|Trio64|V1|CT3980/2M
1998:S1573S|K6-2/400|64M|RagePro|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
2001:GA-6OXT|PIII-1200|512M|GF3Ti200|MX300
2004:K8V-D|3200+|2G|X1950P|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 2488
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-5-31 @ 09:01

IDE and SATA hard drive USB 3.0 docking station for easy data transfer: https://youtu.be/QBwFhPkz_HI
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-6-01 @ 10:37

My first hard drive review :D

Here we have a 10 GB IDE drive from Seagate: https://youtu.be/j5lPcz0M7zA
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-6-03 @ 09:03

Sapphire Radeon 7500 LE - Lame Edition or Retro Bargain?

With prices on some parts spiralling out of control, maybe you need to cast the net wider? LE editions are usually to be avoided, but let's take a look at the Radeon 7500 LE and see what it can do.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby Carlos S. M. » 2017-6-04 @ 00:14

PhilsComputerLab wrote:Sapphire Radeon 7500 LE - Lame Edition or Retro Bargain?

With prices on some parts spiralling out of control, maybe you need to cast the net wider? LE editions are usually to be avoided, but let's take a look at the Radeon 7500 LE and see what it can do.

Not all LE should be avoided. Some examples of good LE cards are the Radeon 8500 LE and the X300 LE

8500 LE is just a sightly underclcoked 8500
X300 LE is literally the same as the regular x300
Carlos S. M.
Oldbie
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 2016-5-25 @ 17:01
Location: Canary Islands, Spain

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-6-04 @ 01:16

Indeed, I have an 8500 LE (in 9100 form). 250 shader/mem clock vs 275. Small potatoes.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5612
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-6-04 @ 01:22

Carlos S. M. wrote:Not all LE should be avoided. Some examples of good LE cards are the Radeon 8500 LE and the X300 LE

8500 LE is just a sightly underclcoked 8500
X300 LE is literally the same as the regular x300


Exactly, people just need to do a bit of research and compare.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-6-09 @ 09:23

Super Socket 7 build with K6-III+ 550 and PCI GeForce FX 5500: https://youtu.be/key3tXC0axI

Really impressed with the FX 5500. PCI solves all the AGP issues and this has been my most stable SS7 experience to date. A workaround is needed to get older GPU drivers to work, but apart from that it was smooth sailing. Nice AA and AF options also. Used the Audician 32 Plus again. What can I say, it's a must-have ISA card IMO.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Phil's YouTube and Website updates (philscomputerlab)

Postby Carlos S. M. » 2017-6-09 @ 10:14

PhilsComputerLab wrote:Super Socket 7 build with K6-III+ 550 and PCI GeForce FX 5500: https://youtu.be/key3tXC0axI

Really impressed with the FX 5500. PCI solves all the AGP issues and this has been my most stable SS7 experience to date. A workaround is needed to get older GPU drivers to work, but apart from that it was smooth sailing. Nice AA and AF options also. Used the Audician 32 Plus again. What can I say, it's a must-have ISA card IMO.

PCI is also useful for some systems, i have a dual socket 370 Tualatin system which lacks AGP slots and the card is useful, i have a PCI Radeon 9250, but is a 64 bit model and really slow comapred to an FX 5500 or my 128 bit 9250
Carlos S. M.
Oldbie
 
Posts: 651
Joined: 2016-5-25 @ 17:01
Location: Canary Islands, Spain

PreviousNext

Return to Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: skatz and 2 guests