HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Schedules and announcements about program releases.

HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2015-3-18 @ 14:34

EDIT: I made the current state of the Widescreen mod ( v5) available for testing purposes:

EDIT2: File got deleted from the server. Here's the new link:

EDIT3: Reuploaded again:

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 7824364243
mirror: http://www.fastshare.org/download/Mech3 ... s__Mod.rar
mirror: http://workupload.com/file/dqgNsBT


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alt Tab Fix

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1440x1080 (4:3) Resolution patch by gerwin

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is a patch for Mech Warrior 3 to allow setting higher resolutions without making the game crash when pressing Esc.

As always USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Mech3HiRes_v1.zip
(4.31 KiB) Downloaded 1915 times


mech3demo 2015-03-17 23-22-23-94.jpg
1600x1200

Known issues:
-Clicking on "Options" in the Pause Menu still crashes the game
-1152 x 864 resolution is broken


Patch for upgrading MechWarrior3 to version 1.2 available at
http://www.moddb.com/games/mechwarrior- ... lish-patch
http://www.mechwarriorsunited.com/downloads.html.
Last edited by teleguy on 2018-5-19 @ 15:57, edited 17 times in total.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2015-3-19 @ 22:05

Here's a quick and dirty patch with working Options menu.
The downside is that the menus will look a "bit" uglier. :blush:
When you go to options from the Pause Menu for the first time some buttons will be missing, just go back to the previous menu by pressing Esc then click on options again.
I didn't have time to test everything so there might be other issues.

Mech3HiRes_v2.zip
(4 KiB) Downloaded 484 times



Edit: Clicking on Options still makes the game crash at 1280x1024, all other resolutions seem to be fine.
Last edited by teleguy on 2018-5-18 @ 11:48, edited 2 times in total.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2015-4-01 @ 17:12

Found a way to insert custom resolutions. Even widescreen is possible. However Mech3 is pretty picky about what resolutions it accepts, so far I haven't determined the logic behind this. Also the Hud doesn't scale properly.

1440x900
Mech3_1440x900.jpg


1680x1050
Mech3_1680x1050.jpg


Edit: Widescreen patch.
Mech3_HiRes4.zip
(4.37 KiB) Downloaded 667 times

1152 x 864 replaced with 1440 x 900 and 1280 x 1024 replaced with 1680 x 1050
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby beatcracker » 2015-4-05 @ 17:28

Is there any way to go beyond 1600x1200? Would be nice to run it at any arbitarty resolution.
User avatar
beatcracker
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2015-2-24 @ 11:43

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2015-4-05 @ 19:17

beatcracker wrote:Is there any way to go beyond 1600x1200? Would be nice to run it at any arbitarty resolution.


I couldn't get any of the resolution bigger than 1600x1200 that I tried to work but that doesn't mean there aren't any.


In case anyone wants to give it a try here's a howto:

You need Ollydebug
http://www.ollydbg.de/version2.html
and the Windows Calculator.

Launch Ollydbg and open Mech3.exe
Click on View->Executable Modules and select Mech3.exe (it should be right at the top)
Select the "CPU -Main thread" Window and scroll to the top
Rightclick in the Window and use
Search for->Command to find mov ecx, 640h
If you scroll up a little bit should see this

mechreso1.jpg


That's a list of all resolutions currently available in the game
Case 8 for instance shows 1152x864 in hex form

360 (hex) = 864 (decimal)
480 (hex) = 1152 (decimal)

Each resolution is listed 3 times

You can easily convert decimal and hex values with your Windows Calculator. Press Alt+3 to switch to programmer view, with "Dec" at the left selected enter a decimal value and click on "Hex" to convert to hex.

For example if you want to replace 1152x864 with 1440x900 first convert 1440 and 900 to hex form.

900 = 384 (hex)
1440 = 5A0 (hex)

Then rightclick on MOV EDX,360 ->Assemble to replace it with MOV EDX,384
and then replace
MOV ECX,480 with MOV ECX,5A0

You have to do this 3 times each.

After that do a search for MOV EAX,480 and MOV EAX,360 to replace those as well.
mechreso2.jpg


To finalize the changes do another rightclick and select Edit->Copy all modifications to executable.
A new window will open. Rightclick on it and choose Save File... .
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2015-6-13 @ 20:50

WIP
Attachments
Mech3-1920.png
Mech3-1600x900.png
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2015-8-31 @ 10:25

WIP

1280x720
Mech16x9e 2015-08-31 12-06-29-49_1.jpg


1600x900
Mech16x9e 2015-08-31 12-08-30-83_1.jpg


1920x1080
Mech16x9e 2015-08-31 12-09-51-86_1.jpg


2560x1440
Mech16x9e 2015-08-31 12-12-43-01_1.jpg
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2015-8-31 @ 10:44

WIP

1440x900
Mech16x10c 2015-08-31 12-32-47-82_1.jpg


1680x1050
Mech16x10c 2015-08-31 12-34-49-93_1.jpg


1920x1200
Mech16x10c 2015-08-31 12-36-39-81_1.jpg
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby lowenz » 2016-5-06 @ 11:39

UP!

For the sake of KERENSKY! :D
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby lowenz » 2016-5-06 @ 11:44

Can't see the screenshots in this page!
Is it expected that the HUD is not centered, teleguy?

Please, keep up the work with this fix, I waited for 10 years to see MW3 @HiRes ! :D
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2016-5-06 @ 11:58

All image attachments on vogons.org are temporarily disabled.

In order to properly display the HUD reader.zbd has to be edited. Since I couldn't find the official Mechwarrior 3 mod tools that are needed to do that anywhere on the net someone else helped me with that.
This is what we completed thus far:
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=986 ... 6986162560

We're still trying to find a way to change the FOV.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby lowenz » 2016-5-06 @ 12:43

Wow, perfect!
What is "EOP's Res Fix"?

Man, it's the '99 over and over again :D I'm so happy :p
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2016-5-06 @ 12:57

It's a patch to fix crashes when targeting at high resolutions. I was never able to trigger such crashes but I couldn't find much info on when they're even supposed to happen.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby iwanPlays » 2016-7-02 @ 23:52

teleguy, thank you so much!

Gameplay video at 1920x1080 60fps:
Image
https://youtu.be/cldiX4BG7F8

I initially didn't realize the newest version was in the first post, so I was trying to go the Ollydebug way to modify case 9 into 1920x1080. The result was broken. :)

Will you try to scale videos, mission and menu screens as well or is that a losing battle?
iwanPlays
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 21:04

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2016-7-03 @ 12:55

I don't want to do anything about the menus, videos etc. Those are hardcoded to be 640x480, not selectable like the 3D mode resolution, so would probably be a lot harder to change.

The menus should already be fullscreen though, albeit still at 640x480, not in a corner like in your video.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby iwanPlays » 2016-7-03 @ 21:28

teleguy wrote:The menus should already be fullscreen though, albeit still at 640x480, not in a corner like in your video.

They are fullscreen. It's just the way OBS records them when I do a 1080p screen capture. I'm just glad it works at all. :)
iwanPlays
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 21:04

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby Night Thastus » 2016-7-05 @ 17:30

Hey all!

I installed this high-res patch by moving the contents of the 16:9 folder into my MW3 folder and over-writing the two files that conflicted.

However, when I attempt to run the Mechwarrior 3 launcher, it says the Mech3.exe wasn't found. How do I fix this? I'd love to run above the native resolution!
Night Thastus
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2016-7-05 @ 17:28

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2016-7-05 @ 17:38

Night Thastus wrote:Hey all!

I installed this high-res patch by moving the contents of the 16:9 folder into my MW3 folder and over-writing the two files that conflicted.

However, when I attempt to run the Mechwarrior 3 launcher, it says the Mech3.exe wasn't found. How do I fix this? I'd love to run above the native resolution!



Is Mech3.exe inside the game folder?


Edit: Antivirus tools sometimes block or delete new files. Can you try copying those files with your antivirus disabled temporarily?
Last edited by teleguy on 2016-7-05 @ 17:42, edited 1 time in total.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby Night Thastus » 2016-7-05 @ 17:41

Yep! Actually, it fixed itself!

I have no idea how. I set the launcher to run as administrator and set it in Win7 compatability mode, and it worked. However, I disabled these settings, and it STILL worked. So no idea why.

Regardless, this is fantastic! I love this high-res patch!

However, quick question. When in 1920x1080, I notice that the UI is much smaller. I'm fine with that.

Is that a good way to know that it's working? I don't notice a ton of difference yet, but I've yet to play a lot yet.
Night Thastus
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2016-7-05 @ 17:28

Re: HiRes/Widescreen Patch for Mech Warrior 3

Postby teleguy » 2016-7-05 @ 17:44

Yep, the HUD becomes smaller at higher resolutions.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Next

Return to Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests