Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Schedules and announcements about program releases.

Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby ZanQuance » 2016-8-17 @ 12:51

[update 8/29/2016] Alpha 0.2
* Fixed reset bug
* Exposed Video, AUX and PCM volume controls
* Changed command line arguments to be a "bit" friendlier
* [Au30mix EQpass 0] will disable the EQ routing if you wish, but I left this command undocumented for now. (EQpass 1 will re-enable the routing) and is case sensitive.

Here is a newly written Mixer utility for the Aureal Vortex 2 AU8830 cards as promised in my project thread.
I consider it an Alpha but it seems to do its job well enough.

Included is a batch file to show how to use the available commands, and there is also the AU30MIX.exe /? if you need more help.
I recommend you always run the command "AU30MIX reset" to run the internal remapping of the Vortex bus and that will enable S/PDIF output at 48kHz, and also route all the audio through the Equalizer.
Let me know how it works for you, I've tested it with the MX300, Montego-II, SQ2500 and SuperQuad.

The AU30MIX reset command does the following:
Code: Select all
    • Resets the CODEC to new default gain values and mutes non-routed audio outputs and inputs
    • Activates the CODEC's quad channels if present
    • Sets the extra power register for lower THD
    • Rewires the Vortex Internal VDB bus and chains the mixer outputs through the Equalizer and then to 4-channel and S/PDIF outputs for 48kHz
    • Sets the initial Equalizer states and enables it, also allows user to specify EQ values
    • Works properly and doesn't lockup ;) *please verify that it also works on your pc's*
Attachments
AU30MIX_A2.zip
Alpha 0.2
(13.89 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
Last edited by ZanQuance on 2016-8-29 @ 23:32, edited 10 times in total.
User avatar
ZanQuance
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2015-1-01 @ 23:47
Location: Aureal HQ

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2016-8-17 @ 12:55

Well done!
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6148
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby ZanQuance » 2016-8-17 @ 12:58

I had to stop myself quite a few times from implementing reverb and A3D + XTalk controls...need to save something for the beta release ;)
User avatar
ZanQuance
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2015-1-01 @ 23:47
Location: Aureal HQ

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby vetz » 2016-8-17 @ 13:02

Sorry to say, but I haven't been following this project very detailed. What are the main features in bulletpoints over this new mixer compared to the original official release?
User avatar
vetz
l33t
 
Posts: 3090
Joined: 2012-4-23 @ 17:13

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby ZanQuance » 2016-8-17 @ 13:04

There was an official released one?
User avatar
ZanQuance
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2015-1-01 @ 23:47
Location: Aureal HQ

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby vetz » 2016-8-17 @ 13:42

ZanQuance wrote:There was an official released one?

The mixer wasn't official if I remember it correctly, but someone made a rudimentary mixer to set the volumes. I found it attached here on Vogons years ago. Can't find the thread now ofc. Will have to wait to I get home to my 440BX system to find the file.

EDIT: Found the thread, it was called "vortmix": viewtopic.php?p=140551#p140412
EDIT2: Seems your mixer supports quad channel, which the old one doesn't, so that's one point ;)
User avatar
vetz
l33t
 
Posts: 3090
Joined: 2012-4-23 @ 17:13

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby ZanQuance » 2016-8-18 @ 02:01

Ah yes that util, it's a good effort and better than nothing, but it constantly locks my machine and doesn't set the mixer levels when it doesn't lockup.
Last edited by ZanQuance on 2016-8-29 @ 23:46, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZanQuance
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2015-1-01 @ 23:47
Location: Aureal HQ

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby badmojo » 2016-8-18 @ 22:47

Ooh la la looking forward to trying this out.

Yes I found Vortmix to be a mixed bag - ha me so funny! It did work but was unreliable; I had to write a batch file that called it ~6 times in quick succession for the mixer changes to "stick" on my PIII.
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2282
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby badmojo » 2016-8-20 @ 04:17

Seems to work very well thanks ZQ! I'm no power user so don't understand the EQ stuff, and it took me a while to figure out that less gain required a higher number, but it does exactly what I wanted. I muted the rear channel and set the fader to 'front 100%' - all good. I'm using a SuperQuad for your reference.

Will you be including an option for setting the wavetable volume in the future? The levels for the DB I have attached currently are fine by default but I've had DB's on there that are too loud.

Thanks again!
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2282
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby ZanQuance » 2016-8-20 @ 05:22

Thanks for checking it for me, the volume values reflect the actual values in the CODEC in which less == more.
I'll be adding all the rest of the CODEC inputs and outputs and the actual Mixer units input gains and output gain controls, along with the rest of the planned features.
I need to look at the DOS driver code again and see how it routes the WaveTables when they are detected, it's not on the default VDB path for some reason.
It might have a hardwired path to the CODEC (I need a board schematic) in which case the CODEC's Video controls (as per other windows threads) control the volume. These are already coded in for the next update.

The EQ is simple enough to use, just plug in 10 values ranging from -32768 to +32767, positive for adding EQ gain and negative for bandcuts. Think of each value as the EQ sliders position -down and +up.
It will be MUCH easier to handle the card once the graphical interface is completed.

Thanks for the feedback!
User avatar
ZanQuance
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2015-1-01 @ 23:47
Location: Aureal HQ

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby badmojo » 2016-8-20 @ 12:05

Most excellent - I've tried the latest build you sent me and can confirm that the 'video' option controls the mixer levels of the wavetable header in DOS, as it does in the Windows mixer.

As I say I'm no power user so you'll probably want someone who knows their sh*t to test it properly, but even as an Alpha release this is doing exactly what I want it to on my PIII, Win98 machine. Fantastic work, thankyou again!
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2282
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby ZanQuance » 2016-8-29 @ 23:36

Thanks for the info, that's good to know!

[edit]
Updated the build to Alpha 0.2 for now, added a few more options and cleaned up the command line interface a tad.
In my attempts to get a more graphical mixer going I realized the DOS driver likes to muck things up and undo my routing tables and mixer cell settings.
For now I just left it at controlling the CODEC and none of the internal mixers parameters.
So I think this will be the last update to this mixer utility until I finish up the new DOS driver which "plays nice" with the GUI mixer.
User avatar
ZanQuance
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2015-1-01 @ 23:47
Location: Aureal HQ

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby betamax80 » 2016-11-25 @ 02:15

Brilliant, thank you for releasing what you managed to get done!
betamax80
Newbie
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2016-5-30 @ 22:00

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby subhuman@xgtx » 2016-12-02 @ 22:17

Thanks for the upload :) Any chance you could ever develop a more stable AU30DOS driver for those of us with fast systems? Unfortunately Aureal's one has caused me nothing but lock-ups with Athlon XPs and similar cpus, yet worked wonders with anything P3 and earlier.
Image
User avatar
subhuman@xgtx
Member
 
Posts: 494
Joined: 2011-12-04 @ 16:52
Location: Deserted Chateau

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby boxpressed » 2016-12-03 @ 02:18

I missed this the first time around. It's nice to have something to use besides VORTMIX. Thanks, ZanQuance!
User avatar
boxpressed
Oldbie
 
Posts: 989
Joined: 2014-5-20 @ 18:29
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby McDos » 2016-12-29 @ 10:54

I can't make this work properly with my TB Vortex2 (AU30DOS driver)

AU30MIX gain front 0
AU30MIX gain rear 0

The above actually makes the audio quieter when playing mp3s in MXPLAY.

Am I doing something wrong?
McDos
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-12-20 @ 15:37

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby McDos » 2017-1-04 @ 18:54

?

McDos wrote:I can't make this work properly with my TB Vortex2 (AU30DOS driver)

AU30MIX gain front 0
AU30MIX gain rear 0

The above actually makes the audio quieter when playing mp3s in MXPLAY.

Am I doing something wrong?
McDos
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-12-20 @ 15:37

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby ZanQuance » 2017-1-10 @ 00:16

Sorry, I'm not available more, my life went all topsy-turvy and I'm still crawling out the hole I ended up in and can't offer any real help at this time.

I suggest leaving the fader/rear setting at 15 since the TB Montego II only has a two channel codec, not a quad.

I can't currently test on my end. Also sorry for the late reply. I'll get back to everything when I can...
User avatar
ZanQuance
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2015-1-01 @ 23:47
Location: Aureal HQ

Re: Release -New Aureal DOS Mixer Util-

Postby McDos » 2017-1-17 @ 23:00

Sorry to hear that.

Thanks for the reply. Hope everything works out for you.



ZanQuance wrote:Sorry, I'm not available more, my life went all topsy-turvy and I'm still crawling out the hole I ended up in and can't offer any real help at this time.

I suggest leaving the fader/rear setting at 15 since the TB Montego II only has a two channel codec, not a quad.

I can't currently test on my end. Also sorry for the late reply. I'll get back to everything when I can...
McDos
Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-12-20 @ 15:37


Return to Release Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest