VOGONS


Fasttracker 2.10 & 2.11 for MS-DOS

Topic actions

Reply 100 of 114, by traffkin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

i'll send it back for sure!

8bitbubsy wrote on 2020-10-06, 20:14:

Yeah, MPU401 support would be cool! Also traffkin, please be sure to send the code back to me if you manage to complete these implementations/fixes, so that I can continue with bugfixing in the future. I'm sure that there are more of the old bugs in there.

Reply 101 of 114, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
traffkin wrote on 2020-10-01, 14:23:

working on this, trying to put filters into parallel buffer prior to mixing channels, not an easy task at all... some midi functionality will be added too

if you need hardware for testing/adding support just tell me

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 102 of 114, by Gew

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks for this, really amazing, brings back so many memories from the second half of the good ol' nineties.
Just gave it a test run, through DOSBox actually, since I don't have any "true" machine.
Once I get my hands on a functioning SB16 PCI card I will run FreeDOS of course! 😀

Reply 103 of 114, by 8bitbubsy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks, I'm glad you like it. There's also my accurate FT2 clone for Window/macOS/Linux in case you want to make your life a bit easier: https://16-bits.org/ft2.php

P3 rig:
- ASUS CUSL2 w/ i815 BIOS Tweaker
- Pin-modded Tualatin 1.26GHz 512kB @ 1358MHz
- 512MB SDRAM @ 143MHz CL2
- PCI SATA w/ 128GB Samsung SSD
- ATi Radeon 9600 XT 128MB (APG 4x, AGP clk @ ~71MHz)
- Creative Sound Blaster Live!

Reply 104 of 114, by Falcosoft

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
8bitbubsy wrote on 2020-12-10, 10:14:

Thanks, I'm glad you like it. There's also my accurate FT2 clone for Window/macOS/Linux in case you want to make your life a bit easier: https://16-bits.org/ft2.php

Hi,
Would you consider making statically linked versions of the Windows executables? The dependency on VS 2015 runtime and the universal crt which are rather picky concerning installation on older systems ( not to mention the over complicated way of app local using of the runtime compared to earlier VS versions) makes it hard for me to use your newer versions as portable ones. Your earlier beta versions were much better in this respect.
Thanks in advance.

Website, Facebook, Youtube
Falcosoft Midi Player + Munt VSTi + BassMidi VSTi topic

Reply 105 of 114, by DracoNihil

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Falcosoft wrote on 2020-12-11, 00:12:

Would you consider making statically linked versions of the Windows executables? The dependency on VS 2015 runtime and the universal crt which are rather picky concerning installation on older systems

Is that even possible...? The reason why I hate using Visual Studio is because of that arbitrary dependency on the VS runtime rather than just sticking with plain old "msvcrt.dll"...

Does Microsoft actually have a option somewhere to statically link the Visual Studio library?

Steam Profile
YouTube Channel
Seal of Nehahra

Reply 107 of 114, by Falcosoft

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
DracoNihil wrote on 2020-12-11, 07:49:
Falcosoft wrote on 2020-12-11, 00:12:

Would you consider making statically linked versions of the Windows executables? The dependency on VS 2015 runtime and the universal crt which are rather picky concerning installation on older systems

Is that even possible...? The reason why I hate using Visual Studio is because of that arbitrary dependency on the VS runtime rather than just sticking with plain old "msvcrt.dll"...

Does Microsoft actually have a option somewhere to statically link the Visual Studio library?

Yes, it has and it always has had the option. The problem with the new refactored dynamic runtime of VS 2015 is:
1. It has a tendency of failing to install (mostly on Win 7) with error code 0x80240017 Unspecified error:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/f … ae-4d4847937ccc
https://techcult.com/wiki/fix-microsoft-visua … ror-0x80240017/
And troubleshooting this error is not straightforward to say the least.
It's mainly because Universal CRT is a system component on some Windows versions but not on others. If you ask me with this refactoring the situation is worsened compared to earlier versions
contrary to the intention to make things simpler and better:
https://devblogs.microsoft.com/cppblog/introd … -universal-crt/

2. At first app local deployment of VS 2015 runtime was not even supported at all but later (mainly because of pressure from developers) they added it but the implementation is way worse than before. To support all possible systems you need more than 40(!) different dlls compared to the 2-3 in previous versions.
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/32601941/ … ocal-deployment

Last edited by Falcosoft on 2020-12-11, 11:13. Edited 2 times in total.

Website, Facebook, Youtube
Falcosoft Midi Player + Munt VSTi + BassMidi VSTi topic

Reply 108 of 114, by 8bitbubsy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Falcosoft wrote on 2020-12-11, 00:12:
Hi, Would you consider making statically linked versions of the Windows executables? The dependency on VS 2015 runtime and the […]
Show full quote
8bitbubsy wrote on 2020-12-10, 10:14:

Thanks, I'm glad you like it. There's also my accurate FT2 clone for Window/macOS/Linux in case you want to make your life a bit easier: https://16-bits.org/ft2.php

Hi,
Would you consider making statically linked versions of the Windows executables? The dependency on VS 2015 runtime and the universal crt which are rather picky concerning installation on older systems ( not to mention the over complicated way of app local using of the runtime compared to earlier VS versions) makes it hard for me to use your newer versions as portable ones. Your earlier beta versions were much better in this respect.
Thanks in advance.

The reason I removed the statically linked runtime is because when linked, the .exe would trigger 15-20 false virus positives on virustotal (yes, really). People would complain about it all the time, and I don't want less people to use my projects because of false virus positives.
Btw, the runtime installer (which is linked in readme_now.txt in the release zip) installs fine on Windows XP, so I don't see the problem.

P3 rig:
- ASUS CUSL2 w/ i815 BIOS Tweaker
- Pin-modded Tualatin 1.26GHz 512kB @ 1358MHz
- 512MB SDRAM @ 143MHz CL2
- PCI SATA w/ 128GB Samsung SSD
- ATi Radeon 9600 XT 128MB (APG 4x, AGP clk @ ~71MHz)
- Creative Sound Blaster Live!

Reply 109 of 114, by Falcosoft

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
8bitbubsy wrote on 2020-12-11, 11:12:
Falcosoft wrote on 2020-12-11, 00:12:
Hi, Would you consider making statically linked versions of the Windows executables? The dependency on VS 2015 runtime and the […]
Show full quote
8bitbubsy wrote on 2020-12-10, 10:14:

Thanks, I'm glad you like it. There's also my accurate FT2 clone for Window/macOS/Linux in case you want to make your life a bit easier: https://16-bits.org/ft2.php

Hi,
Would you consider making statically linked versions of the Windows executables? The dependency on VS 2015 runtime and the universal crt which are rather picky concerning installation on older systems ( not to mention the over complicated way of app local using of the runtime compared to earlier VS versions) makes it hard for me to use your newer versions as portable ones. Your earlier beta versions were much better in this respect.
Thanks in advance.

The reason I removed the statically linked runtime is because when linked, the .exe would trigger 15-20 false virus positives on virustotal (yes, really). People would complain about it all the time, and I don't want less people to use my projects because of false virus positives.
Btw, the runtime installer (which is linked in readme_now.txt in the release zip) installs fine on Windows XP, so I don't see the problem.

Hi, the problem is not with XP but mainly with Win7 systems. I personally met some where the installation failed with the above detailed error. Not to mention using your FT2 on systems where you do not have permission to install system components...
Maybe as a compromise you can make a separate downloadable package with the app local distributable dlls that one can copy next to your executable (even if there are many of them).

Website, Facebook, Youtube
Falcosoft Midi Player + Munt VSTi + BassMidi VSTi topic

Reply 110 of 114, by 8bitbubsy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Creating 32-bit/64-bit runtime zips with the DLLs needed seems feasible, I'll look into it one day.

P3 rig:
- ASUS CUSL2 w/ i815 BIOS Tweaker
- Pin-modded Tualatin 1.26GHz 512kB @ 1358MHz
- 512MB SDRAM @ 143MHz CL2
- PCI SATA w/ 128GB Samsung SSD
- ATi Radeon 9600 XT 128MB (APG 4x, AGP clk @ ~71MHz)
- Creative Sound Blaster Live!

Reply 112 of 114, by 8bitbubsy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'm not really working on it anymore (FT2.11 is the last version), but traffkin is trying to add MPU-401 MIDI support and also improve the LPT DAC support.

P3 rig:
- ASUS CUSL2 w/ i815 BIOS Tweaker
- Pin-modded Tualatin 1.26GHz 512kB @ 1358MHz
- 512MB SDRAM @ 143MHz CL2
- PCI SATA w/ 128GB Samsung SSD
- ATi Radeon 9600 XT 128MB (APG 4x, AGP clk @ ~71MHz)
- Creative Sound Blaster Live!

Reply 113 of 114, by drastikterror

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
8bitbubsy wrote on 2020-12-22, 19:00:

I'm not really working on it anymore (FT2.11 is the last version), but traffkin is trying to add MPU-401 MIDI support and also improve the LPT DAC support.

Ah! Ok! Thank you!

Reply 114 of 114, by 8bitbubsy

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Falcosoft wrote on 2020-12-11, 11:20:

Hi, the problem is not with XP but mainly with Win7 systems. I personally met some where the installation failed with the above detailed error. Not to mention using your FT2 on systems where you do not have permission to install system components...
Maybe as a compromise you can make a separate downloadable package with the app local distributable dlls that one can copy next to your executable (even if there are many of them).

With the latest version of the PT2/FT2 clone that I released today, I updated the "readme now.txt" file (inside the release zips) with an URL to a zip that contains the needed x86/x64 DLLs to run it without the runtime installed.
I made a fresh install of Windows 7 Ultimate x64 on a laptop and tested it, and it works there. However, it may fail on XP, Vista and Windows 8...

P3 rig:
- ASUS CUSL2 w/ i815 BIOS Tweaker
- Pin-modded Tualatin 1.26GHz 512kB @ 1358MHz
- 512MB SDRAM @ 143MHz CL2
- PCI SATA w/ 128GB Samsung SSD
- ATi Radeon 9600 XT 128MB (APG 4x, AGP clk @ ~71MHz)
- Creative Sound Blaster Live!