VOGONS


Reply 80 of 218, by fotios

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi, how easy would it be to incorporate other command line image converters like
http://www.pictview.com/pvw.htm#con
Example syntax: pvw32con.exe inputfile.gif -l --o outputfile.iff --c4

Reply 81 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
kikendo wrote on 2020-04-14, 20:03:

Ahh this sounds awesome, but dedicating a PC to it does not.
Is it possible to convert it to raspberry Pi?

All 0.10+ versions should work on Pi: https://github.com/dotnet/core/blob/master/sa … Instructions.md .
I have no Pi or any Debian ARM devices to test, so can't verify.
In 0.10a1 there are 1 bug that making run on Linux some difficult, I'm working on fix for it.

fotios wrote on 2020-04-15, 07:15:

Hi, how easy would it be to incorporate other command line image converters like
http://www.pictview.com/pvw.htm#con
Example syntax: pvw32con.exe inputfile.gif -l --o outputfile.iff --c4

Very easy:

[Converters]
...
pvw32con.exe %SRC% -l --o %DEST%.%DESTEXT% --c4
...

[FixableType:image/gif]
IfUrl=.*
NotUrl=webdav
Redirect=http://%Proxy%/!convert/?url=%Url%&dest=iff&type=image/iff&util=pvw32con.exe

The FixableType section is need only if you need to run the converter on every attempt to download a GIF file. To use the converter separately, simply open http://proxy_host/!convert/?url=source_file_url&dest=iff&type=image/iff&util=pvw32con.exe .

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 82 of 218, by fotios

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi,

While testing WebOne.0.9.3.Full.zip I noticed a small typo in the supplied webone.conf file with regards to jpeg recompresssion.

Redirect=http://%Proxy%/!convert/?url=%Url%&dest=jpeg&type=image/jpeg&arg=-quality%20%20
should be
Redirect=http://%Proxy%/!convert/?url=%Url%&dest=jpeg&type=image/jpeg&arg=-quality%2020

Reply 83 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

fotios, thank you! Pushed a fix into 0.10 source tree.

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 84 of 218, by fotios

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi, when jpeg compression is used with 0.93, I noticed some images not downloading.

For example, I test: http://amigaworld.net/images/avatar/users/2981.jpg

The first time it loads fine and browser reload on the same page work.
I then surf to other pages and paste the same URL into the browser.
It then fails with 500 InternalServerError. WebOne error message is Can't download source: The handshake failed due to an unexpected packet format...Return code 500.

Reply 85 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I know this bug. https://github.com/atauenis/webone/issues/4 🙁

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 86 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Version 0.10.0 Alpha 2 is ready.

  • Containing all changes of 0.10a1 since 0.9.3.
  • TLS cerificate checking can be disabled, so the Proxy will work even with invalid system date/time. It's configurable via ValidateCertificates option in webone.conf.
  • Test (info) page is now available on http://%proxyhost%/ root too. Testing and configuring WebOne proxies is now easier.
  • Default webone.conf now have ffmpeg converter enabled by default.
  • All headers sent to HTTPS servers are now containing https:// protocol in their bodies.
  • All servers which prefer HTTPS for work (instead of HTTP) are now accessed securely.
  • Improved auto-detection of text encodings.
  • Fixed broken in 0.10a1 transfer of non-Unicode content.
  • Fixed broken in 0.10a1 support for UTF-7/8/16/32 (bug #5) .
  • Fixed broken in 0.10a1 auto-detection of Windows code page. Now OutputEncoding option in webone.conf can be either a number, a name, a Unicodeish utf-7...utf-32le, automatic Windows/Win/ANSI, DOS/OEM, Mac or EBCDIC/IBM or be AsIs.
  • Fixed broken in 0.10a1 auto-detection of local IPs of the server when it is started on Linux (bug #3).

Download page: https://github.com/atauenis/webone/releases/tag/v0.10.0a2
GitHub bug tracker: https://github.com/atauenis/webone/issues

This version is still not stable, but probably may be better than 0.9.3 in most cases. At least I've fixed all fresh bugs and only some older (from 0.9.3) don't know how to fix. So it is why the version is still alpha. Also I'm planning to add some new features like seamless converting of images (not via 302 redirect to a converter, but directly inside WebOne) and language transliteration (idea from Russian users who want to see Cyrillic stuff on MDA/CGA displays in text mode with hardcoded CP437 fonts).

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 87 of 218, by fotios

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks for the update. Seamless converting of images would be great.

Can you please clarify how the ValidMask for JQuery framework works in the WebOne config? For example, the default value is 1.9.1. Does that mean that any pages with jQuery framework greater than 1.9.1 will be downgraded to 1.9.1?
If I use a web browser that only supports up to 1.6.1 should I change the config value to 1.6.1?

Reply 88 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

No, it is simply a RegExp mask that disables the patch. So

[FixableURL:jquery.min.js]
ValidMask=1.9.1
Redirect=http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.9.1/jquery.min.js

will redirect all requests to non 1.9.1 versions of jQuery to 1.9.1 from Google CDN.

fotios wrote on 2020-04-18, 16:09:

If I use a web browser that only supports up to 1.6.1 should I change the config value to 1.6.1?

[FixableURL:jquery.min.js]
ValidMask=1.6.1
Redirect=http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.1/jquery.min.js

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 89 of 218, by Bruninho

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

For jQuery, you shouldn't be using jQuery Migrate in conjunction? Just a curious observation...

"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.
READ: Right to Repair sucks and is illegal!

Reply 90 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Bruninho wrote on 2020-04-20, 03:53:

For jQuery, you shouldn't be using jQuery Migrate in conjunction?

https://blog.jquery.com/2013/05/08/jquery-migrate-1-2-1-released/ wrote:

jQuery Migrate is just a shim for functionality that was removed in jQuery 1.9. It does not return old IE support to jQuery 2.0. jQuery 1.9 still supports old IEs.

So it shouldn't return possibility to run jQuery 2.0+ on IE6/Gecko 1.7.x. To port jQuery 2.x/3.x sites to jQuery 1.9 there are need to make a script like it, but backwards. But in cases which I've tested, a simple downgrade of framework version is enough for most of functionality.

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 91 of 218, by Bruninho

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ATauenis wrote on 2020-04-21, 11:54:
Bruninho wrote on 2020-04-20, 03:53:

For jQuery, you shouldn't be using jQuery Migrate in conjunction?

https://blog.jquery.com/2013/05/08/jquery-migrate-1-2-1-released/ wrote:

jQuery Migrate is just a shim for functionality that was removed in jQuery 1.9. It does not return old IE support to jQuery 2.0. jQuery 1.9 still supports old IEs.

So it shouldn't return possibility to run jQuery 2.0+ on IE6/Gecko 1.7.x. To port jQuery 2.x/3.x sites to jQuery 1.9 there are need to make a script like it, but backwards. But in cases which I've tested, a simple downgrade of framework version is enough for most of functionality.

Ah, yes. Thanks for refreshing my memory. I’ve lost count of how many client sites I’ve had to support with it in the past. it’s definitely easier to downgrade

"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.
READ: Right to Repair sucks and is illegal!

Reply 92 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Version 0.10.0 is ready
I've skipped Beta 1, because don't see any bugs in changes after 0.10 Alpha 2 and fixed all known old bugs. So 0.10 is now stable.

Changes from previous stable version, 0.9.3:

  • Now using .NET Core 3.1 instead of .NET Framework 4.6.
    This means that WebOne became a cross-platform application. Server PCs now can use any OS, including Windows 7/2008R2+ (32/64-bit), Linux (amd64) since 2016 and macOS 10.13+. However, proxy clients still can use all older systems. For them there is nothing changed.
  • Added new syntax of traffic editing rules. Now all webone.conf's FixableURL, FixableType and ContentPatch sections are replaced with new Edit Sets ([Edit:url mask] sections). Old-style sections still work in WebOne 0.10 but using of them are not recommended. New in 0.10 since Alpha 2.
  • New-style edit sets can contain multiple detection and edit rules, making configuration file simplier to read and write.
  • Added seamless image format converting. New in 0.10 since Alpha 2.
  • Fixed "Can't download source: The handshake failed due to an unexpected packet format" error (it doesn't appear in seamless mode). New in 0.10 since Alpha 2.
  • Default webone.conf now have ffmpeg converter been enabled by default.
  • Default webone.conf now have been configured to use HTTPS with all servers which can use it instead of old HTTP. So WebOne is now more secure in open networks.
  • TLS Certificate Errors are no longer ignoring by default. This behavior can be disabled via ValidateCertificates option in webone.conf.
  • All headers sent to HTTPS servers are now containing https:// protocol in their bodies.
  • Improved auto-detection of text encodings.
  • WebOne 0.9.x was have support to auto-set "ANSI" ("Windows") encoding for current locale without entering full number of it. E.g. Win-1251 on Cyrillic systems, Win-1252 on Central-European, Win-1253 on Greek, etc. Now it can auto-set "DOS", "Mac" and "EBCDIC" code page number if need.
  • Added ability to return pages in transliterated view. For example, Russian (or Serbian, Ukrainian) users can browse sites on their native language on devices that cannot display anything other than English letters. New in 0.10 since Alpha 2.
  • Test (info) page is now available on http://%proxyhost%/ root too. Not only at http://%proxyhost%/!. Testing and configuring WebOne proxies is now easier.

It is available at: https://github.com/atauenis/webone/releases/tag/v0.10.0

Probably I'll remove old EXE folder of the repository in future, because it is duplicating the release archive ("Releases" link on top of GitHub) and only wasting the space.

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 93 of 218, by fotios

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi, thanks for the update!

I downloaded WebOne.0.10.0.Full.zip
When I start WebOne there's an error reported for line 199.

WebOne HTTP Proxy Server 0.10.0.0
(C) https://github.com/atauenis/webone

Using configuration file webone.conf.
Error on line 199: Converter cannot self download and use STDIN at same time.
All next lines are ignored.
webone.conf load complete.
Starting server...
Listening for HTTP 1.x on port 80.

Reply 94 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Hmm, yes, yt.bat don't work in this build. Try to comment line 200. What a large bug I've skipped at test time. 😀

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 95 of 218, by fotios

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks, starts fine when I comment line 200.
How do I enable seamless mode as I'm still seeing 503 errors?

11:08:43.867 >GET http://www.hollywood-mal.com/img/de50_shot1.png
11:08:43.867+1760101 >Downloading content...
11:08:43.867+4920281 Add redirect: http://GODZILLA:80/!convert/?url=https%3A
%2F%2Fwww.hollywood-mal.com%3A80%2Fimg%2Fde50_shot1.png&dest=jpeg&type=image/jpe
g&arg=-quality%2010
11:08:43.867+4920281 304 NotModified. Body 0K of [Need to redirect].
11:08:43.867+4930282 <Return code 302.
11:08:43.867+4930282 <Done.
11:08:44.382 >GET http://godzilla:80/!convert/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.hollywoo
d-mal.com%3A80%2Fimg%2Fde50_shot1.png&dest=jpeg&type=image/jpeg&arg=-quality%201
0
11:08:44.382+1670095 Internal: /!convert/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.hollywood-ma
l.com%3A80%2Fimg%2Fde50_shot1.png&dest=jpeg&type=image/jpeg&arg=-quality%2010
11:08:44.382+1670095 >Downloading source stream...
11:08:44.382+2950168 Converter cannot download source: The SSL connection co
uld not be established, see inner exception. The handshake failed due to an unex
pected packet format.
11:08:44.382+2950168 <Return code 503.
11:08:44.382+2950168 <Done.

Reply 96 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Try this:

[Edit:.*]
OnContentType=image/jpeg
OnContentType=image/png
OnCode=200
IgnoreUrl=webdav
AddConvert=convert
AddConvertDest=jpeg
AddConvertArg1=-quality 20
AddResponseHeader=Content-Type: image/jpeg

---

Update: tested, it's not working. There is a second today's bug.
https://github.com/atauenis/webone/issues/8
https://github.com/atauenis/webone/issues/7
I've edited converter starting code in v0.10, but it was a small rewrite of older code. So there are results of my inadvertence on time of rewrite. Working on fixes, I will include them in v0.10.1.

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 97 of 218, by keenmaster486

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

ATauenis, I'm curious, what are the prerequisites (on the client side) for using the YouTube conversion parts of WebOne?

I want to try to use it on my retro machines, but I'm not sure how that's supposed to work.

World's foremost 486 enjoyer.

Reply 98 of 218, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

There are 2 ways to watch YouTube through WebOne.

First is to use a semi-modern browser (Firefox 3.5+, Opera 11.6/12) with "ViewTube with WebOne support" userscript and VLC plugin. It directs video stream from YT servers through WebOne with FFMPEG converter to a VLC plugin window.

Second is to use a media player (like WMP, VLC, QuickTime)., which will play "http://youtube.com/watch?v=123456" links via WebOne with "yt.bat" converter. This batch file is using two apps on server side, the first is Youtube-dl (downloader of YT videos to WebM stream), and the second is FFmpeg (which converting the WebM stream to a stream of something playable in retro media player app).

But both are broken in WebOne 0.10, so only v0.9.3 can be used to watch YT. 😀

Also I don't know is the my fork of ViewTube still compatible with YouTube or not.) I have too less time and power to test all quickly. In January it was worked perfectly.

---

Update: checked last version of "ViewTube with WebOne support" on latest Chrome, it is not working as in January. It's need to disable new design like here: "http://youtube.com/watch?v=123456&disable_polymer=1". However, original ViewTube have all need updates, so it's need to apply these edits back to my fork.

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 99 of 218, by Bruninho

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ATauenis wrote on 2020-04-28, 15:12:

It's need to disable new design like here: "http://youtube.com/watch?v=123456&disable_polymer=1"

I'm surprised to see that we can disable the new design/polymer! There was a lot of people over MSFN forums with problems in this new design since March.

"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.
READ: Right to Repair sucks and is illegal!