VOGONS


Reply 400 of 435, by Kappa971

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
DosFreak wrote on 2024-06-12, 10:23:

/Removed ROM info and offer.

1st and last warning. Next will be a ban for 30 days.

Yes right, with the ROMs you extracted from your hardware... 😏

Jokes aside, I thought it was enough not to share or link ROMs but apparently even giving little advice about it is illegal 😐.
Ok, I'm sorry.

Reply 401 of 435, by MacDad

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

The problemo is that ha ha I'm using dosbox emulator outside of windows. I can run win98se in dosbox and that's it. It would significantly kill performance to run dosbox, then win98se (no nuked .exe works on win98), then dosbox in win98. But I understand theres work ongoing so I'm not in any rush.

Reply 402 of 435, by Karmeck

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
MacDad wrote on 2024-06-12, 19:33:

The problemo is that ha ha I'm using dosbox emulator outside of windows. I can run win98se in dosbox and that's it. It would significantly kill performance to run dosbox, then win98se (no nuked .exe works on win98), then dosbox in win98. But I understand theres work ongoing so I'm not in any rush.

Linux then? Mac?

Reply 403 of 435, by Kappa971

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Nuked SC-55 is an accurate low-level emulator, so it should be identical to the original hardware (except for analog artifacts). This makes me wonder: what level of accuracy does Munt have compared to a real MT-32?

Reply 404 of 435, by Karmeck

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Kappa971 wrote on 2024-06-14, 17:11:

Nuked SC-55 is an accurate low-level emulator, so it should be identical to the original hardware (except for analog artifacts). This makes me wonder: what level of accuracy does Munt have compared to a real MT-32?

Somewhat inaccurate?

https://munt.sourceforge.net/

Reply 405 of 435, by Shreddoc

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Kappa971 wrote on 2024-06-14, 17:11:

Nuked SC-55 is an accurate low-level emulator, so it should be identical to the original hardware (except for analog artifacts). This makes me wonder: what level of accuracy does Munt have compared to a real MT-32?

I'm not aware of any indepth analysis (e.g. mdfourier) comparing the two. So we can only speak of human perception.

In that respect, I think that the tiny % of people that are deeply-researched MT-32 experts may be capable of hearing differences. But I doubt anyone else - even seasoned DOS gamers - would be able to tell which is which, in a blind A/B test under ordinary conditions. If anything, the less-noisy output of [e.g. the mt32-pi] may be the most prominent audible giveaway for most people.

Reply 406 of 435, by paxstatic

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Kappa971 wrote on 2024-06-14, 17:11:

This makes me wonder: what level of accuracy does Munt have compared to a real MT-32?

MUNT's goal seems to be a balance of compatibility, convenience, and accuracy. To be able to play the Sierra games that used the older MT-32 romsets, and play games like Ultima Underworld that used the CM32L and not have to unplug and plug in different modules to do so.

Reply 408 of 435, by paxstatic

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Has anyone been able to build and successfully use JC Moyer's build in Linux?

I was able to build the Nuked official release and Falcosoft's test build in Linux, but for some reason JC Moyer's build is eating CPU far worse than the official version does. The JC Moyer Windows XP release Falcosoft provided here performs on par with the Nuked official version, so it's puzzling why the Linux build is not behaving the same way.

I'm guessing that the problem is my fault, but CMake isn't giving me any errors, so It's difficult to figure out what could be the issue.

Reply 409 of 435, by Falcosoft

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
paxstatic wrote on 2024-06-19, 10:57:

Has anyone been able to build and successfully use JC Moyer's build in Linux?

I was able to build the Nuked official release and Falcosoft's test build in Linux, but for some reason JC Moyer's build is eating CPU far worse than the official version does. The JC Moyer Windows XP release Falcosoft provided here performs on par with the Nuked official version, so it's puzzling why the Linux build is not behaving the same way.

I'm guessing that the problem is my fault, but CMake isn't giving me any errors, so It's difficult to figure out what could be the issue.

The best you can do is opening a new issue about this problem:
https://github.com/jcmoyer/Nuked-SC55/issues

Website, Facebook, Youtube
Falcosoft Soundfont Midi Player + Munt VSTi + BassMidi VSTi
VST Midi Driver Midi Mapper

Reply 410 of 435, by KainXVIII

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Falcosoft wrote on 2024-05-24, 18:22:

I do not know if anyone else has noticed this but with the mkI 1.21 ROM set the emulator consumes less CPU resources (about 60% of mkII ROM set).
So overall the mkI ROM set is the better one in most aspects. The only disadvantage I have noticed so far is that it does not support the GM Master Volume SysEx message only Roland specific one (mkII does support it).

Oh, great finding! Goes from ~20% of cpu resources to just 10% on my old i5-3570.
So there are no disadvantages in using SC over MKII in daily gaming? Do i need to send reset command every time (with -GS command line?) or it does not matter (i'm not using FSMP for nuked-sc55)?

Reply 411 of 435, by Spikey

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

So there are no disadvantages in using SC over MKII in daily gaming?

If you mean mkI over mkII - depends what game you're talking about! There are disadvantages, primarily related to:
- polyphony (28 vs 24, some game examples with issues with the original SC-55 are GK1 and QFG4 from Sierra), and
- audio fidelity (although this may not be represented in emulation, I understand the DAC's aren't emulated correctly?)

As always, none of this stuff is literally game or even soundtrack-changing, minus a few specific scenarios. But in terms of hardware, and thus emulation, I'd recommend a SC-55mkII over a SC-55 for Sierra gaming specifically, and probably most other GM gaming scenarios as well (save for specific use cases that need CTF/etc). In most cases there are only benefits and not drawbacks to using the mkII. In my opinion. 😉

Reply 412 of 435, by zaphod77

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Most game do not use the extra patches of the mkII.

So the mk1 1.21 tends to be the most compatible for games.

I do have midi files that use the mkII instruments, many of which i made myself, so i definitely need the mkII, and wish it did proper CTF.

Reply 413 of 435, by KainXVIII

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Spikey wrote on 2024-06-26, 16:41:
If you mean mkI over mkII - depends what game you're talking about! There are disadvantages, primarily related to: - polyphony ( […]
Show full quote

So there are no disadvantages in using SC over MKII in daily gaming?

If you mean mkI over mkII - depends what game you're talking about! There are disadvantages, primarily related to:
- polyphony (28 vs 24, some game examples with issues with the original SC-55 are GK1 and QFG4 from Sierra), and
- audio fidelity (although this may not be represented in emulation, I understand the DAC's aren't emulated correctly?)

As always, none of this stuff is literally game or even soundtrack-changing, minus a few specific scenarios. But in terms of hardware, and thus emulation, I'd recommend a SC-55mkII over a SC-55 for Sierra gaming specifically, and probably most other GM gaming scenarios as well (save for specific use cases that need CTF/etc). In most cases there are only benefits and not drawbacks to using the mkII. In my opinion. 😉

Thank you! Judging by this list https://www.vogonswiki.com/index.php/List_of_ … _computer_games there are not much games that used MKII though.

zaphod77 wrote on 2024-06-26, 19:23:

Most game do not use the extra patches of the mkII.

So the mk1 1.21 tends to be the most compatible for games.

I do have midi files that use the mkII instruments, many of which i made myself, so i definitely need the mkII, and wish it did proper CTF.

That's what i thought.

Still i'm not sure about "Each time you start Nuked-SC55, you must Initialize GM, GS or MT-32 otherwise the sound will be too low in pitch. This is not an emulation issue, it is a firmware issue. Not all games send an appropriate Initialize command." from this article https://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/2024/06/ … -here.html#more
I don't hear any difference between initialized nuked sc-55 and not 😅Which game certainly DO NOT send Initialize command?

Reply 414 of 435, by Spikey

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
KainXVIII wrote on 2024-06-28, 08:11:
Thank you! Judging by this list https://www.vogonswiki.com/index.php/List_of_ … _computer_games there are not much games that us […]
Show full quote
Spikey wrote on 2024-06-26, 16:41:
If you mean mkI over mkII - depends what game you're talking about! There are disadvantages, primarily related to: - polyphony ( […]
Show full quote

So there are no disadvantages in using SC over MKII in daily gaming?

If you mean mkI over mkII - depends what game you're talking about! There are disadvantages, primarily related to:
- polyphony (28 vs 24, some game examples with issues with the original SC-55 are GK1 and QFG4 from Sierra), and
- audio fidelity (although this may not be represented in emulation, I understand the DAC's aren't emulated correctly?)

As always, none of this stuff is literally game or even soundtrack-changing, minus a few specific scenarios. But in terms of hardware, and thus emulation, I'd recommend a SC-55mkII over a SC-55 for Sierra gaming specifically, and probably most other GM gaming scenarios as well (save for specific use cases that need CTF/etc). In most cases there are only benefits and not drawbacks to using the mkII. In my opinion. 😉

Thank you! Judging by this list https://www.vogonswiki.com/index.php/List_of_ … _computer_games there are not much games that used MKII though.

zaphod77 wrote on 2024-06-26, 19:23:

Most game do not use the extra patches of the mkII.

So the mk1 1.21 tends to be the most compatible for games.

I do have midi files that use the mkII instruments, many of which i made myself, so i definitely need the mkII, and wish it did proper CTF.

That's what i thought.

Still i'm not sure about "Each time you start Nuked-SC55, you must Initialize GM, GS or MT-32 otherwise the sound will be too low in pitch. This is not an emulation issue, it is a firmware issue. Not all games send an appropriate Initialize command." from this article https://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/2024/06/ … -here.html#more
I don't hear any difference between initialized nuked sc-55 and not 😅Which game certainly DO NOT send Initialize command?

That link you posted is regarding the MT-32, not the SC-55, FYI.

Reply 415 of 435, by KainXVIII

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Spikey wrote on 2024-06-28, 14:11:
KainXVIII wrote on 2024-06-28, 08:11:
Thank you! Judging by this list https://www.vogonswiki.com/index.php/List_of_ … _computer_games there are not much games that us […]
Show full quote
Spikey wrote on 2024-06-26, 16:41:
If you mean mkI over mkII - depends what game you're talking about! There are disadvantages, primarily related to: - polyphony ( […]
Show full quote

If you mean mkI over mkII - depends what game you're talking about! There are disadvantages, primarily related to:
- polyphony (28 vs 24, some game examples with issues with the original SC-55 are GK1 and QFG4 from Sierra), and
- audio fidelity (although this may not be represented in emulation, I understand the DAC's aren't emulated correctly?)

As always, none of this stuff is literally game or even soundtrack-changing, minus a few specific scenarios. But in terms of hardware, and thus emulation, I'd recommend a SC-55mkII over a SC-55 for Sierra gaming specifically, and probably most other GM gaming scenarios as well (save for specific use cases that need CTF/etc). In most cases there are only benefits and not drawbacks to using the mkII. In my opinion. 😉

Thank you! Judging by this list https://www.vogonswiki.com/index.php/List_of_ … _computer_games there are not much games that used MKII though.

zaphod77 wrote on 2024-06-26, 19:23:

Most game do not use the extra patches of the mkII.

So the mk1 1.21 tends to be the most compatible for games.

I do have midi files that use the mkII instruments, many of which i made myself, so i definitely need the mkII, and wish it did proper CTF.

That's what i thought.

Still i'm not sure about "Each time you start Nuked-SC55, you must Initialize GM, GS or MT-32 otherwise the sound will be too low in pitch. This is not an emulation issue, it is a firmware issue. Not all games send an appropriate Initialize command." from this article https://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/2024/06/ … -here.html#more
I don't hear any difference between initialized nuked sc-55 and not 😅Which game certainly DO NOT send Initialize command?

That link you posted is regarding the MT-32, not the SC-55, FYI.

Yeah-yeah, i know that its for MT-32, but we have what we have and there is a tab for Original Synth and there are very few MKII mentions..

Reply 416 of 435, by markanini

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
KainXVIII wrote on 2024-06-28, 08:11:

That's what i thought.

Still i'm not sure about "Each time you start Nuked-SC55, you must Initialize GM, GS or MT-32 otherwise the sound will be too low in pitch. This is not an emulation issue, it is a firmware issue. Not all games send an appropriate Initialize command." from this article https://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/2024/06/ … -here.html#more
I don't hear any difference between initialized nuked sc-55 and not 😅Which game certainly DO NOT send Initialize command?

This is not an issue with Mk1 ROM as far as I know. With MkII rom simply add -gs to the launch command.

Reply 417 of 435, by KainXVIII

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
markanini wrote on 2024-06-30, 11:49:
KainXVIII wrote on 2024-06-28, 08:11:

That's what i thought.

Still i'm not sure about "Each time you start Nuked-SC55, you must Initialize GM, GS or MT-32 otherwise the sound will be too low in pitch. This is not an emulation issue, it is a firmware issue. Not all games send an appropriate Initialize command." from this article https://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/2024/06/ … -here.html#more
I don't hear any difference between initialized nuked sc-55 and not 😅Which game certainly DO NOT send Initialize command?

This is not an issue with Mk1 ROM as far as I know. With MkII rom simply add -gs to the launch command.

Thanks for the help!

Reply 418 of 435, by paxstatic

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Falcosoft wrote on 2024-06-19, 11:20:
paxstatic wrote on 2024-06-19, 10:57:

Has anyone been able to build and successfully use JC Moyer's build in Linux?

I was able to build the Nuked official release and Falcosoft's test build in Linux, but for some reason JC Moyer's build is eating CPU far worse than the official version does. The JC Moyer Windows XP release Falcosoft provided here performs on par with the Nuked official version, so it's puzzling why the Linux build is not behaving the same way.

I'm guessing that the problem is my fault, but CMake isn't giving me any errors, so It's difficult to figure out what could be the issue.

The best you can do is opening a new issue about this problem:
https://github.com/jcmoyer/Nuked-SC55/issues

Update:

JC Moyer has updated his build with performance improvements. The build now runs fine on my linux system.

Reply 419 of 435, by Mr_Blastman

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Spikey wrote on 2024-06-15, 04:24:

From what I can tell, MUNT is about 99+% accurate, and the SC-55 emulator is a lower percentage currently.

I can confirm with my old ears there are some differences between the emulator and my real device.

Regardless, this is the greatest DOS emulation news in ages!

Well done, nukeyt!