Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby kin » 2015-5-17 @ 13:08

Finally got this nice little unit. :blush:
Maybe replace the HD with a CFcard.
CPU maybe upgrade to DX4 100mhz or even an AM5x86 133mhz, though need to cut a hole in the slideable rack
on the right of floppydrive to make some clearance for the cpu coolblock/fan + drilling holes in the casing above that area.

So far, I have tried many games like transport tycoon deluxe, doom, little big adventure...etc. and all works well except Duke3D which is
just playable in 320x200. Transport tycoon seem to be slightly stuttering but I think it's bacause of the harddrive.

Needed to modify the case in order to fit a sbpro2 card.
The jumper on my sbpro2 card is set to IRQ7 in order to detect the card (IRQ5 didn't work).
Attachments
IMG_20150516_133139.jpg
IMG_20150516_131554.jpg
IMG_20150516_130344.jpg
IMG_20150516_125531.jpg
IMG_20150516_125512.jpg
kin
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2014-11-30 @ 15:41

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby Skyscraper » 2015-5-17 @ 13:18

That seems to be a nice system!

If you decide to upgrade be sure to get a 5V DX4 CPU or a DX5/586 "upgrade kit" where the CPU has its own power converter because I do not think your board supports 3.3V.
Check what voltage the CPU you have now run at first in any case because there are AMD 3.3V DX2-66 CPUs, but most DX2-66 CPUs run at 5V.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3135
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-5-17 @ 15:58

I had this machine with a Intel DX4 chip. I regret selling it, it was such a lovely machine.

The space for an ISA card is quite short. I'm pretty sure I had a Sound Blaster AWE64 in there.

Not sure what the hard drive size was, but I used a parallel port ZIP 100 drive to install Windows 95. That machine went in my suitcase and was used in a few countries. Locally I just got a cheap CRT and I was set. I remember how slow the Internet was, but typing assignments in Word was actually working quite well.

I was always worried about that PSU with the tiny fan. But I never had any issues. Great little machine.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby kin » 2015-5-17 @ 16:24

Skyscraper wrote:That seems to be a nice system!

If you decide to upgrade be sure to get a 5V DX4 CPU or a DX5/586 "upgrade kit" where the CPU has its own power converter because I do not think your board supports 3.3V.
Check what voltage the CPU you have now run at first in any case because there are AMD 3.3V DX2-66 CPUs, but most DX2-66 CPUs run at 5V.


The CPU is covered with a sticker or paste and on top the starshaped heatsink.
So I use chkcpu and it appears to be:
GenuineIntel 486DX2 C-Step
kin
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2014-11-30 @ 15:41

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby Skyscraper » 2015-5-17 @ 19:08

That is a 5V CPU. All Intel 486 CPUs are 5V if Im not mistaken.

An Intel DX4 100 should work or for example the rather common Kingston (AMD) 586-133 upgrade CPU for 5V systems.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3135
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby sunaiac » 2015-5-18 @ 06:20

Intel's DX4s are 3.3V
i7 980X/R9 290X/X-Fi titanium | FX-55/X1950pro AGP/Audigy 2
K7 1000/GeForce 2 Ti/AWE64G | P5 200/ET6000/AWE32
iDX4 100/ET4000W32p/SB16
User avatar
sunaiac
Member
 
Posts: 490
Joined: 2012-5-22 @ 17:31
Location: France

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-5-18 @ 06:32

sunaiac wrote:Intel's DX4s are 3.3V


Yup. It needs to be the Intel DX4 OverDrive, which is compatible with 5V. It looks a bit different, with writing on the cooler and some electrical components for converting the voltage.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby Skyscraper » 2015-5-18 @ 06:37

You are both correct.

I do not have any iDX4 CPUs but it seems all normal versions use 3.3 - 3.45v
I forgot they were released as late as 1994, long after the 5v socket 4 Pentiums.
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 780 Ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3135
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby oerk » 2015-5-18 @ 12:56

Neat little machine, I love the form factor!

It seems to have onboard LAN, is that correct?
oerk
Oldbie
 
Posts: 606
Joined: 2014-8-20 @ 09:59

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby Sutekh94 » 2015-5-18 @ 14:35

oerk wrote:It seems to have onboard LAN, is that correct?


Yup. NE2000 based, too, so drivers should be pretty easy to find.
That one vintage computer enthusiast brony.
My YouTube | My DeviantArt
User avatar
Sutekh94
Oldbie
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 17:34
Location: Tennessee, USA

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby kin » 2015-5-18 @ 22:03

Hmm ok I'll have a lookout on those cpu's.
Meanwhile doing homework: http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/amd5x86.htm

I might try to fit an AWE64 gold :) but it's about an 1/3 inch too long. Could consider extending the panel a bit with a segment, but need to extend the floppydrive and powerbutton + new click-in tabs left and right... without destroying the original structure. :)

Before this I have the Geode MX one with similar casedesign... it was pita to get the ac97 work correctly in dos and the bottleneck with some of the games is the lack of linear framebuffer.
kin
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2014-11-30 @ 15:41

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-5-19 @ 01:48

Just go with a regular / value AWE64. It fits into this machine without any modifications.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby kin » 2015-6-20 @ 22:18

Got a KFC CA6013DS 9 inch VGA monitor from a local auction for just only 10 euro's :).
It was kinda dim, so I removed the casing and checked the inside, adjusted the G2 slightly.

It is powered by the Unisys's IEC female port :).

Excuse me for the poor evening lighting. It's hard to focus on the monitor's lightsource and balancing the surroundings.
Attachments
4.jpg
Transport Tycoon Deluxe (my favourite)
3.jpg
Running Gem 1.2
2.jpg
Running Mpxplay playing MP3's (48kbit 22050Hz, CPU at 71%)
1.jpg
Doom II ;)
kin
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2014-11-30 @ 15:41

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby AlphaDangerDen » 2015-6-20 @ 22:56

kin wrote:Got a KFC CA6013DS 9 inch VGA monitor from a local auction for just only 10 euro's :).
It was kinda dim, so I removed the casing and checked the inside, adjusted the G2 slightly.

It is powered by the Unisys's IEC female port :).

Excuse me for the poor evening lighting. It's hard to focus on the monitor's lightsource and balancing the surroundings.


What keyboard is that? I believe I saw that exact same model keyboard around 10 years ago at my father's workplace.
User avatar
AlphaDangerDen
Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: 2013-1-05 @ 02:20
Location: Lexington, KY, USA

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby kin » 2015-6-20 @ 23:00

That's the BTC 5100C. A cheap rubberdome keyboard.
kin
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2014-11-30 @ 15:41

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby AlphaDangerDen » 2015-6-21 @ 00:14

kin wrote:That's the BTC 5100C. A cheap rubberdome keyboard.


Ah the keyboard I'm thinking about looks similar but I recall the switches being tactile, as if they had Alps or Cherry MX switches in them.
User avatar
AlphaDangerDen
Member
 
Posts: 155
Joined: 2013-1-05 @ 02:20
Location: Lexington, KY, USA

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby snorg » 2015-6-24 @ 16:56

That's a neat little machine, I have a very similar system also made by Unisys. I think yours uses 72 pin memory if my eyes are working correctly. How much RAM will it take? The only thing that bugs me about mine is it is stuck with 16MB max (which is a lot for DOS but about half what I want for a Win 95 & OS/2 dual boot system).
snorg
Oldbie
 
Posts: 925
Joined: 2011-5-29 @ 15:32

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby kin » 2015-6-24 @ 21:16

snorg wrote:That's a neat little machine, I have a very similar system also made by Unisys. I think yours uses 72 pin memory if my eyes are working correctly. How much RAM will it take? The only thing that bugs me about mine is it is stuck with 16MB max (which is a lot for DOS but about half what I want for a Win 95 & OS/2 dual boot system).


Yes, mine has 2x 8mb edo simm probably the original low profile shaped ones. I don't have anything beyond 8mb laying around, so I can't test it.
kin
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2014-11-30 @ 15:41

Re: Unisys CWD 486DX2 66mhz

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-9-13 @ 12:43

kin wrote:Needed to modify the case in order to fit a sbpro2 card.
The jumper on my sbpro2 card is set to IRQ7 in order to detect the card (IRQ5 didn't work).


That's a very important. Thx!

Any idea what lies on IRQ5, because NW is at 10.
I have lot's of trouble getting any soundcard working in that machine.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 999
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sunaiac and 2 guests