Tulip pc compact 2

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Jo22 » 2017-7-18 @ 02:11

Hmm.. Perhaps one of the inner pots is a victim of corrosion / surface rust ?
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1673
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-18 @ 10:21

keropi wrote:Did you made a list of the pot names?
Thing is that since there are no outside pots then 99% it's not a case of one being set wrong... it even points out to a fault in 15khz sync section of the chassis but in order to be sure you must test either with another ega or another ega system that is verified to work OK...


No I didn't, I should have :) I will open it again soon, and also check for corrosion.

I found that this monitor is reaaaaly similar looking (internally and externally) to the Philips CM9043, for which I found a service manual here: https://www.manualslib.com/manual/10147 ... m9043.html
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-18 @ 11:08

Your monitor does look like a Philips one - also looking like an early Commodore 1084 monitor (also made by Philips). I bet you found the service manual - a great help to a technician.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5520
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby brassicGamer » 2017-7-18 @ 12:33

I'm having the exact same problem with the EGA card in my XT clone and it's a different card to yours and Keropi's.

That skewed pattern of graphics is usually what occurs when the graphics card is sending a resolution higher than the monitor can handle. For example, I have been using a Commodore 1084-D, which is an RGB monitor but can only display up to 200 lines of pixels, so any game displaying a res of 300x240 will corrupt the screen. Alternatively it could possibly be the refresh rate. The motherboard may have a dip switch or jumper for you to select between 50Hz and 60Hz. I have also had problems caused by the cable I made and I can't for the life of me work out what's wrong so I have ordered an RS232 extension cable for £3 off eBay. Hopefully that will help and I may be able to offer more advice.
Check out my blog and YouTube channel for thoughts, articles, system profiles, and tips.
User avatar
brassicGamer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: 2015-8-16 @ 22:17

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-19 @ 10:14

I might put in my Covox Sound Master II once i figure out the graphics problems :)

Image

http://imgur.com/a/w3hKR
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-19 @ 10:20

^ maybe you can test with a cheap CGA clone card ? It will output 15khz so you will be able to test the monitor
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5520
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-19 @ 10:27

keropi wrote:^ maybe you can test with a cheap CGA clone card ? It will output 15khz so you will be able to test the monitor


I'd have to get something from eBay, there is (almost) nothing available locally. Shipping will be a bit expensive, and I have no real use for the CGA card after testing. There are some usable EGA cards available, but a bit expensive to just try out :)
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby chinny22 » 2017-7-20 @ 15:12

As long as the shipping isn't crazy, you can maybe get an EGA card from a seller that accepts returns?
User avatar
chinny22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1369
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-20 @ 20:42

chinny22 wrote:As long as the shipping isn't crazy, you can maybe get an EGA card from a seller that accepts returns?


I considered doing that, but I don't like to abuse returns. There is a local seller with some applicable cards, but the prices are a bit on the high side and they are listed as untested.

EDIT: also my gut feeling says it's the monitor, not the card.
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby SpectriaForce » 2017-7-26 @ 22:35

Did you dive on this one: https://link.marktplaats.nl/m1186927285 The AT Compact 3 has an EGA card (which is a really nice little pc by the way).

Still, I don't think the problem is the card but a software or synchronisation issue with the monitor. You're probably better off to upgrade it with a VGA card and save yourself hours of time :-)
Custom Lian Li | Asus TUF X299 Mark I / i7-7800X / 16GB DDR4-3200 / GTX 1070 8GB
And.. many older systems!
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-27 @ 06:09

Ah, nope completely missed that auction :( I Agree it's probably the monitor. However, pretty much everything I have is VGA and I would like to keep this little set original, since I also have everything else original (PC, monitor, books, disks, boxes, etc.). It could go into a museum haha.

I am considering having the EGA monitor checked/repaired by a professional. Will probably be stupidly expensive though :(

SpectriaForce wrote:Did you dive on this one: https://link.marktplaats.nl/m1186927285 The AT Compact 3 has an EGA card (which is a really nice little pc by the way).

Still, I don't think the problem is the card but a software or synchronisation issue with the monitor. You're probably better off to upgrade it with a VGA card and save yourself hours of time :-)
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby seob » 2017-7-27 @ 06:51

I would also say your best option would be a vga card. Makes live a lot easier.
Don't know where you live, but an old colleague of mine repairs electronics. He is oldschool and has fixed an apple lc-II monitor for me. You only need to have pacience since he is very busy.
User avatar
seob
Member
 
Posts: 206
Joined: 2015-6-02 @ 21:03
Location: Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby brassicGamer » 2017-7-29 @ 13:28

I worked out the problem with my system but I don't know if it helps you. Initially I thought the problem with colour depth and resolution was a limitation of the cable, which I had made with only 7 cores. While this works for monochrome and CGA, EGA requires the additional RGB signals. Using a 9 core wire made no difference, however. Worked out it's because, although the 1084 supports many colours with an Amiga signal, the D-Sub on the monitor itself only has connections for 1 RGB signal. This shouldn't be a problem with your monitor as the service manual shows all 9 pins are connected. Could definitely be worth testing continuity of the cable, checking which pin at one end connects to which pin at the other, remembering that if there is a short of some kind then one pin might be connected to multiple pins at the other end.
Check out my blog and YouTube channel for thoughts, articles, system profiles, and tips.
User avatar
brassicGamer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: 2015-8-16 @ 22:17

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-29 @ 13:37

^ what do you mean by that 1084 info? If the 1084 has a TTL switch and you activate it then you can connect a CGA or C128 and you will get all the colors those machines support

Image

Image

Image

only CGA though... I haven't tried any low-res EGA on a 1084.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5520
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-31 @ 08:23

I made a PDF of the TEVA EGA manual with the pictures that Cyrix200+ provided , just in case anyone else wants it in the future: http://www.mediafire.com/file/u3x65l14p ... manual.pdf

@Cyrix200+
did you find any software for the card? the manual mentions a DIAGNOSE.EXE - was it in your HDD?
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5520
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-31 @ 19:56

keropi wrote:I made a PDF of the TEVA EGA manual with the pictures that Cyrix200+ provided , just in case anyone else wants it in the future: http://www.mediafire.com/file/u3x65l14p ... manual.pdf

@Cyrix200+
did you find any software for the card? the manual mentions a DIAGNOSE.EXE - was it in your HDD?


Yes, it is on one of the disks included with the system. It shows the same distortion when testing the graphics. There is a picture of it in the opening post. If you want/need the software I put images of all of the disks online, but I'm not sure if I can share that here.
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-9-13 @ 14:51

I bought (yes another) XT system which has a CGA card in it (this nice ATi Graphics Solution SR http://arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/v/A-B/52891.htm). I tried the monitor with it, but it has the same sync problems. So the problem lies with the monitor, which is good to know and I can start working towards a solution!
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BLEXBot [Bot], Poulton and 1 guest