post up pics of your "computing area"

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby harddrivespin » 2019-1-01 @ 10:51

My setup as of January 1st 2019:

Not the most impressive thing in the world but I like nonetheless.

On the left is my main machine (A Packard Bell iStart 1360 running Windows 7) and on the right is my Compaq machine for all things Win98. I also prefer CRTs to LCDs, hence why there are no LCDs to be seen in my setup.
Attachments
IMG_0919.JPG
User avatar
harddrivespin
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 2017-8-16 @ 20:36

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Salient » 2019-1-01 @ 11:08

My setup on october 2018, still quite the same except for an additional Pentium 200 MMX + a lot of extra MIDI modules. :)

Image
MIDI comparison website: << Wavetable.nl >>
(Always) looking for: Any Wavetable daughterboard, MIDI Module (GM/GS/XG)
User avatar
Salient
Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 19:24
Location: The Netherlands

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby MMaximus » 2019-1-01 @ 11:23

Salient wrote:My setup on october 2018, still quite the same except for an additional Pentium 200 MMX + a lot of extra MIDI modules. :)


Nice room! Is this an Antec Sonata under the desk?

Nice TR-8 and TB-3 setup as well :)
User avatar
MMaximus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 524
Joined: 2014-3-30 @ 20:28
Location: EU

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Salient » 2019-1-01 @ 12:33

MMaximus wrote:Nice room! Is this an Antec Sonata under the desk?

Nice TR-8 and TB-3 setup as well :)


Yep, it's an antec sonata piano black. :)
MIDI comparison website: << Wavetable.nl >>
(Always) looking for: Any Wavetable daughterboard, MIDI Module (GM/GS/XG)
User avatar
Salient
Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 2009-1-27 @ 19:24
Location: The Netherlands

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby DaveJustDave » 2019-1-08 @ 17:43

cleaned up a bit, here's mine. Like some of you, i just don't have enough space so every quarter or so i rotate machines. Maybe this spring I'll load up all the commodores!

Image

Image
I have no clue what I'm doing! If you want to watch me fumble through all my retro projects, you can watch here: https://www.youtube.com/user/MrDavejustdave
User avatar
DaveJustDave
Member
 
Posts: 220
Joined: 2013-10-03 @ 04:00

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-1-08 @ 18:10

Nice setup.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2320
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby keropi » 2019-1-08 @ 18:35

damn I am envious of both Salient and DaveJust Dave LOL LOL LOL
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 6981
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby JonathonWyble » 2019-1-16 @ 00:32

Guess I'm a little late for the party, but I guess I can show off my setup. Well, here it is...

Main setup (full view)
Image
Yes, I have a line of light tape going around the edges of my desk. I can actually change its colors using a little remote, but I chose blue lighting for that picture. My desk contains the monitor for my desktop, my 32" LCD TV, and my laptop. I like to keep my setup clean from a bunch of papers and stuff like that.

Main PC (my desktop)
Image

My TV
Image
I know, it does seem uncommon to have a TV on your desk :lol:

The second part of my desk
Image
Yes, I have one of those "L-shaped" desks

The table for my older PC
Image
Not a very flattering setup, but it seems beneficial for a PC that's not my every-day piece of hardware.

Another desk for another PC I have
Image

My network (because why not)
Image

I'm more of a modern technology kind of person more than a retro tech kind of person, but I do have a tiny bit of interest in older computers.
Image
JonathonWyble
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2019-1-13 @ 02:10
Location: Buffalo, New York

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby oeuvre » 2019-1-16 @ 16:40

is that light tape RGB?
Retro PC Intel i5 2500, 8GB RAM, AMD FirePro V3900 1GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel i7 6700K, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 2550
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby JonathonWyble » 2019-1-16 @ 21:30

oeuvre wrote:is that light tape RGB?

I don't know, but it could be. I control the lighting with a remote that has most of the colors you can find in the color spectrum, such as from blue to purple, from green to light turquoise, and from red to yellow.
Image
JonathonWyble
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2019-1-13 @ 02:10
Location: Buffalo, New York

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby oeuvre » 2019-1-16 @ 21:49

Make it so!
Retro PC Intel i5 2500, 8GB RAM, AMD FirePro V3900 1GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel i7 6700K, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 2550
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Davros » 2019-1-30 @ 20:33

]Mine

Image
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2584
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Shagittarius » 2019-1-31 @ 02:21

Davros wrote:]Mine

Image


I have the exact same desk.
User avatar
Shagittarius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 530
Joined: 2007-12-20 @ 06:49
Location: California, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby dkarguth » 2019-1-31 @ 08:08

To my own shame, here's my setup. This is what it looks like when you actually do work in a office :lol: (totally not just making excuses for my lack of motivation to clean)

IBM XT, Original 10MB HDD with the original installation of DOS, a Hercules graphics adapter, Ungermann Bass Ethernet card, and 5151 monitor.
Amiga 2000HD, 68030? accelerator card, Video Toaster 4000, PC XT bridge card.
Image

Newly built 286 machine, 12 MHZ, 1 MB of RAM, IBM CGA adapter, MediaVision Pro Audio Spectrum 16, Intel Etherlink 16, and 1.2 GB HDD.
Commodore 1084, main display, and commodore 1801 used for video toaster editing.
On the right I have the HP 16702a and 16500b logic analysis systems, used for debugging nonfunctional motherboards.
Image

Windows XP machine, core 2 duo, 3 GB RAM and a crap ton of HDDs. It's my archive machine.
Image

HP 1741A Analog Storage scope, tek CFG253 func gen, HP 1600a and 1607a logic analyzers, and HP 3760A serial data generator. All used for debugging temperamental old electronics.
Image

now that I see this in pictures, need to clean it up. Maybe I'll post an after picture once It's spotless. That might take a few years, though. Once I get finished building my new lab this place will be a lot cleaner.
"And remember, this fix is only temporary, unless it works." -Red Green
dkarguth
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: 2019-1-29 @ 20:47
Location: Texas, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby buckeye » 2019-1-31 @ 16:00

Clean it up? Naw, that's a "thinking man's desk"!!!
Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 2GB DDR2 800 160GB BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB 500W XP SP2
Asus P3B-F P3 850 512MB 40GB Hercules 3D Prophet II 64MB Voodoo2 SLI Aureal Vortex 2 400W 98SE
User avatar
buckeye
Oldbie
 
Posts: 555
Joined: 2015-11-04 @ 17:54
Location: Piney Grove, AL

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby MusicallyInspired » 2019-2-02 @ 01:12

Updated setup.

Image
Roland SC-55 Music Packs - Duke Nukem 3D, Doom, Hocus Pocus, Descent, and more.
Latest release: Heretic Music Pack (12/12/18)
User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Oldbie
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 2004-9-16 @ 03:41
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-2-03 @ 23:57

dkarguth wrote:Newly built 286 machine, 12 MHZ, 1 MB of RAM, IBM CGA adapter, MediaVision Pro Audio Spectrum 16, Intel Etherlink 16, and 1.2 GB HDD.


Image
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby wiretap » 2019-2-11 @ 02:11

Cleaned up my desk a little today and put down a ModMat. This is my general build/work area.

Image
User avatar
wiretap
Member
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 08:26
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Anaxagoras » 2019-2-11 @ 11:35

I love to see other desks :blush:

Yesterday I cleaned up my desk too :happy:

20190211_120732.jpg


I don't know if this question was asked before... Do you move, change or replace, your computers in work area frequently?

That is what happens to me. ._.
User avatar
Anaxagoras
Newbie
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 12:37
Location: Spain

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby meljor » 2019-2-25 @ 19:19

Anaxagoras wrote:I love to see other desks :blush:

Yesterday I cleaned up my desk too :happy:

20190211_120732.jpg


I don't know if this question was asked before... Do you move, change or replace, your computers in work area frequently?

That is what happens to me. ._.


Well, I'm in the middle of moving from one room to another thanks to my sometimes loud neighbours, so I needed the room to get some better sleep at night.
I can tell you, It's no fun! Again I see that I have wayyyyyy to much stuff and I really need to move some of it (again, it keeps growing on me) and make some choices. It is a lot of work to move it all and making good use of the space I have.

When done I will post some pics.
asus tx97-e, 233mmx, voodoo1, s3 virge ,sb16
asus p5a, k6-3+ @ 550mhz, voodoo2 12mb sli, gf2 gts, awe32
asus p3b-f, p3-700, voodoo3 3500TV agp, awe64
asus tusl2-c, p3-S 1,4ghz, voodoo5 5500, live!
asus a7n8x DL, barton cpu, 6800ultra, Voodoo3 pci, audigy1
meljor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1706
Joined: 2014-4-30 @ 19:43
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests