My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby Anaxagoras » 2019-12-01 @ 20:24

Few months ago my IT coworkers told me that they had something that might interest me.
I followed them and I saw it, a HP Z400 Workstation in apparently excellent condition! And I as checked later it worked perfect!

In the past week I finish the setup with a RAM and graphics upgrade (with a little help from you). Before of this I installed two hard drives of 3 and 1 TB.

And now this computer is my main PC. At the moment the only thing that I miss is the USB 3.0 ports but I think that I can solve with a controller card.

CPU: Intel Xeon W3520
RAM: 16GB.
HD1: 3TB.
HD2: 1TB.
GPU: NVIDIA Quadro 5000

20190417_123030.jpg
Front


20191127_115016.jpg
Rear


20191127_114554.jpg
Inside
User avatar
Anaxagoras
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 12:37
Location: Spain

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby Errius » 2019-12-01 @ 22:28

Go team LGA1366. I have two X5687s in this rig. How high can yours go?
Windows XP End of Support is on April 8th, 2014. Click Here to learn more.
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1505
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby Anaxagoras » 2019-12-01 @ 23:01

Errius wrote:Go team LGA1366. I have two X5687s in this rig. How high can yours go?


Xeon W3570 @ 3.20GHz, more than enough for me! :lol:
User avatar
Anaxagoras
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 12:37
Location: Spain

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby chinny22 » 2019-12-03 @ 13:49

Nice,
The company I work that just dusted off their Z400 has a single W3520 @ 2.66 GHz and NVS295 so yours is loads better then that. (it does have 32MB ram though)
Yours is now similar spec to his primary PC a Z840 with duel E5-2667 v3 @ 3.20GHz and Quadro K5200, although that things got 512GB ram!

Both are running Win7, upgrading workstation software is never fun
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2571
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-12-03 @ 19:45

Here is my 6-core 32gb HP z400 and HP z800 with 12-cores and 48gb.
both with HP liquid cooling.
I put SSD's in both and they perform pretty good.
I sold them about 2 years ago.
They where just to BIG and Loud.

I use an HP 6300 mid-tower today with i5 CPU and 16gb ram and SSD.
Attachments
HP Z400-800.jpeg
Intel486dx33
l33t
 
Posts: 2173
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby Anaxagoras » 2019-12-06 @ 14:03

chinny22 wrote: Both are running Win7, upgrading workstation software is never fun


I installed Windows 10 from scratch without problems, but the frontal headphones doesn't work due the Microsoft drivers fails with it. The solution is to install Realtek drivers.

Intel486dx33 wrote:Here is my 6-core 32gb HP z400 and HP z800 with 12-cores and 48gb.


As I read in technical specifications the maximum supported RAM is 16GB. If I had known before...
Well, now I know it. :-S
User avatar
Anaxagoras
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 12:37
Location: Spain

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-12-06 @ 16:59

Anaxagoras wrote:
chinny22 wrote: Both are running Win7, upgrading workstation software is never fun


I installed Windows 10 from scratch without problems, but the frontal headphones doesn't work due the Microsoft drivers fails with it. The solution is to install Realtek drivers.

Intel486dx33 wrote:Here is my 6-core 32gb HP z400 and HP z800 with 12-cores and 48gb.


As I read in technical specifications the maximum supported RAM is 16GB. If I had known before...
Well, now I know it. :-S


Oh, Sorry, I must have confused with my HP z420.

You can also use a PCI SSD adapter if you want to install a faster SSD but it does not support Nvme SSD’s.
Intel486dx33
l33t
 
Posts: 2173
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby pentiumspeed » 2019-12-08 @ 02:19

Intel486dx33 wrote:Here is my 6-core 32gb HP z400 and HP z800 with 12-cores and 48gb.
both with HP liquid cooling.
I put SSD's in both and they perform pretty good.
I sold them about 2 years ago.
They where just to BIG and Loud.

I use an HP 6300 mid-tower today with i5 CPU and 16gb ram and SSD.


Big? That's hardly a PC, that's proper PC!
Loud? The bios settings has fan speed settings is set too high, adjust it down to one or zero for quiet and does cool enough.

I have number of HP business and workstations so i know what they have.

Cheers, Jason
pentiumspeed
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 2017-5-17 @ 23:17

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby Anaxagoras » 2019-12-08 @ 12:40

pentiumspeed wrote:
Big? That's hardly a PC, that's proper PC!
Loud? The bios settings has fan speed settings is set too high, adjust it down to one or zero for quiet and does cool enough.

I have number of HP business and workstations so i know what they have.

Cheers, Jason


It's a little more big than normal PC tower, heavy due very good chassis but not noisy. I'm talking about from the standard or the default components in a PC.
In BIOS I configured the fan speed to minimum and controlled by OS, with this I only hear noise when I played high resource demanding games. But in that case the volume of sound of game mask it :sweatdrop:
User avatar
Anaxagoras
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2017-5-24 @ 12:37
Location: Spain

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby oeuvre » 2019-12-08 @ 13:55

I have a Z420 and the stock fan is a bit noisy... replaced it with an Arctic F9 PWM and it runs very quiet now, even with BIOS fan speed set to the lowest setting.
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
HP Z440 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3, 64GB, NVIDIA GTX1070 8GB, SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3180
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby pentiumspeed » 2019-12-08 @ 19:25

oeuvre wrote:I have a Z420 and the stock fan is a bit noisy... replaced it with an Arctic F9 PWM and it runs very quiet now, even with BIOS fan speed set to the lowest setting.


Which noisy fan in your Z420? I have Z420 v2 as well (ivy bridge support).

Cheers,
pentiumspeed
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 2017-5-17 @ 23:17

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby oeuvre » 2019-12-08 @ 19:48

The one on the back of the case. The heatsink fan is fine.
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
HP Z440 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3, 64GB, NVIDIA GTX1070 8GB, SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3180
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: My "new" HP Z400 Workstation.

Postby pentiumspeed » 2019-12-08 @ 22:54

oeuvre wrote:The one on the back of the case. The heatsink fan is fine.


I do that all the time too, changing the too lightweight fan for another even the heatsink fan as well in my business & workstation HP and Dell.

Cheers, Jason
pentiumspeed
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: 2017-5-17 @ 23:17


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests