post up pics of your "computing area"

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby DataPro » 2019-3-04 @ 12:34

Lastest upgrade of my 1995's HP Vectra 500 model 562 :
Image

Now, I use a Marantz Equalizer EQ-515 to switch between my Roland MT-32 and my Roland M-GS64 (rack mount version of SC-88).
I love spectrum display.
HP Vectra 562 P166Mhz/256Ko L2 cache - 112Mo RAM - 2x4Go SSD - Matrox Mystique 2Mo - SB AWE64 ISA (PnP) + Roland MT-32 + Roland M-GS64 -5 USB 2.0 ports - multicard reader
DataPro
Newbie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 2014-10-14 @ 08:50
Location: France

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-3-04 @ 12:35

Nice equalizer.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2360
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby oeuvre » 2019-3-05 @ 13:28

dat HP keyboard doe
Retro PC Intel i5 2500, 8GB RAM, AMD HD7770 1GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel i7 6700K, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby JonathonWyble » 2019-3-07 @ 23:22

I decided to post some updated pictures of my desk because I have some new things on it. And also because the pictures from my last post were so small, so, here are some updated pics of my computing area...

Full setup
Image
[click to enlarge]

Main desk area
Image
[click to enlarge]

I also decided to show which things on my desk are which, so here they are,
Image
[click to enlarge]
Image
JonathonWyble
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2019-1-13 @ 02:10
Location: Buffalo, New York

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby miki90 » 2019-3-23 @ 15:55

Anonymous Coward wrote:I could have cleaned up, but this is what it looks like most of the time.

Image
[/img]



Fantastic. I need something like this!
miki90
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-3-23 @ 15:48

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby arncht » 2019-3-24 @ 09:25

the retro corner... this computer fits the best to the sony g400, same age, from 2000.
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=61362&p=686269#p686269
Attachments
20190324_101530.jpg
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Jed118 » 2019-3-26 @ 00:13

I bought an office desk (Knoll) and had it cut in an "L" then I assembled it to fit into the corner. I also built some "L" shelves (from scratch) and put them above the desk to have all my x86 stuff in one spot.

I will move the desk to the living room after a reno, and I'm thinking of putting LED strips on the underside of the shelves.

Here it is for now:

Image
Image
Image
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 422
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby badmojo » 2019-3-26 @ 10:07

Great setup @Jed118 - have you considered one of those keyboard sleeve things to give you a bit more usable desk space in the corner there? I used to have one at work and it was great.

https://www.ergonomicsnow.com.au/ergono ... sk-lozenge

I finally got my act together and framed a couple of maps from my RPG collection - Witcher 3 and Gothic 3 so far. I'll do Oblivion next despite it being a pretty grim grey from memory.

The only thing out of place here currently is that iMac G3 in the corner - I grabbed that off the side of the road recently and it's in amazing condition. The boxed keyboard and mouse were sitting next to it; I'm not in to Macs so will re-home it.

Image
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 3165
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby henryVK » 2019-3-26 @ 10:14

Yoo, I had that same little Epiphone EL-00 for years! Good Times! Still miss that little box..
User avatar
henryVK
Member
 
Posts: 234
Joined: 2017-12-29 @ 20:26
Location: Europe

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby badmojo » 2019-3-26 @ 11:21

Yes that Epiphone is a lovely little thing - I don't play much anymore but it's hanging there for the day I have more time.
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 3165
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Jed118 » 2019-3-27 @ 02:46

badmojo wrote: Desk Lozenge


That's an excellent idea, I will look into that!

On the topic of your Commodore/PS1 stand you've got there, I have a very similar one in the other room serving as a home to my Nixdorf-Siemens 486.

Boy, will there be a lot of retrobrighting this spring ;)
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 422
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby liqmat » 2019-3-31 @ 15:47

dkarguth wrote:To my own shame, here's my setup. This is what it looks like when you actually do work in a office :lol: (totally not just making excuses for my lack of motivation to clean)

IBM XT, Original 10MB HDD with the original installation of DOS, a Hercules graphics adapter, Ungermann Bass Ethernet card, and 5151 monitor.
Amiga 2000HD, 68030? accelerator card, Video Toaster 4000, PC XT bridge card.
Image

Awesome space! If your work environment doesn't look like Dr. Emmett Brown's place you're doing it wrong.
User avatar
liqmat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1597
Joined: 2015-7-07 @ 21:59

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby arncht » 2019-4-02 @ 12:06

the retro pcs moved to the capture card :) i am not limited to oldie analog input monitors anymore, i hope the amiga will work too.

the dos games are much smoother (scroll!) with the gsync - the monitor switches to 70hz in vga.

the analog mixer was also a big step for handling more sound inputs (eg gus, sb + mt32 same time).
Attachments
20190402_135554.jpg
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby einr » 2019-4-28 @ 21:01

Oldish picture of half of my current computer cave, it looks a bit different now and has a few more systems (of course...):

Image

I switch out the systems on that table when I feel like it, in the picture there is a Power Mac G3, DX4/100, Siemens P2/233 and Pentium 90. :)
User avatar
einr
Member
 
Posts: 120
Joined: 2015-10-26 @ 21:49

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby l33ch » 2019-4-29 @ 15:04

Is there something wrong with the photo, I seem to spot a widescreen presario?!
User avatar
l33ch
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2016-1-06 @ 02:31

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby einr » 2019-4-29 @ 15:45

l33ch wrote:Is there something wrong with the photo, I seem to spot a widescreen presario?!

That's edge distortion from the wide-angle lens, it's a normal CDS 510 ;)
User avatar
einr
Member
 
Posts: 120
Joined: 2015-10-26 @ 21:49

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby DaveJustDave » 2019-4-29 @ 17:59

a quick trip to IKEA, and now a lot of machines aren't in my garage anymore :)

on the left.. C128D, A1200, Falcon 030, 1040STE, IIc
on the right, T1000TL, C128D, T1000SL, A3000, PS/2 model 30 8086 (with v30 upgrade)

_SDI0303-3.jpg
I have no clue what I'm doing! If you want to watch me fumble through all my retro projects, you can watch here: https://www.youtube.com/user/MrDavejustdave
User avatar
DaveJustDave
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: 2013-10-03 @ 04:00

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby l33ch » 2019-4-29 @ 18:10

einr wrote:
l33ch wrote:Is there something wrong with the photo, I seem to spot a widescreen presario?!

That's edge distortion from the wide-angle lens, it's a normal CDS 510 ;)

It would be amazing though. lol. thanks. By the way nice setup and very smart to use just a couple systems at once.
User avatar
l33ch
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2016-1-06 @ 02:31

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-4-30 @ 13:03

badmojo wrote:Image


Do I see a C64 connected to a VGA monitor? How do you do that? It doesn't have a RGB output.
RETROGAMEPC.COM
NOW* HUGE DISCOUNTS ON ALMOST ALL ITEMS RANGING FROM 40% UP TO 70% !!
*SALE CAN BE ENDED AT ANY MOMENT
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby keenmaster486 » 2019-4-30 @ 13:15

Ooh @DavejustDave, that shelf is nice. Do you have a way to quickly switch between the various machines without having to redo cables?
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.

http://classictechnology.herokuapp.com
http://keenmaster486.github.io
Vintage desktops: Pentium/MMX 233 (Win95), 286-12 (MS-DOS 5.0)
Vintage laptops: IBM Thinkpad 600E, 560X, 365CD
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

PreviousNext

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests