post up pics of your "computing area"

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby bushwack » 2009-10-21 @ 02:28

Here's where I spend most of my free time. :happy:
My retro rigs on the left and a E1260 at 3.2 w/GTX 260 on right.
I tried a Asus 22" LCD a couple years ago but gave to kids and went back to CRT.
I made the desk, shelves and wall art. :happyhappy:

Image
User avatar
bushwack
Oldbie
 
Posts: 717
Joined: 2009-9-17 @ 18:38
Location: USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2009-10-21 @ 02:46

I could have cleaned up, but this is what it looks like most of the time.

Image
[/img]
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby bushwack » 2009-10-21 @ 04:54

Anonymous Coward wrote:I could have cleaned up, but this is what it looks like most of the time.

I like your extra work area. I have to pile projects on the floor to the left of my desk where there's an open area or take it to the kitchen table.
User avatar
bushwack
Oldbie
 
Posts: 717
Joined: 2009-9-17 @ 18:38
Location: USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2009-10-21 @ 05:08

For a second there I was wondering what you meant by "extra work area", because I usually have trouble finding space on the desk when I need to do paperwork. :happyhappy:
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby retro games 100 » 2009-10-21 @ 14:07

My "fun station" -
Attachments
home.JPG
home.JPG (74.15 KiB) Viewed 25327 times
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby HunterZ » 2009-10-21 @ 14:49

You guys are making me miss my desk, which is currently buried in the garage. These days I'm using a laptop on the couch in front of the TV. I'm planning to build a new desktop soon though and set up my desk in a new area.

Edit: Stickied thread :)
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6053
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Cloudschatze » 2009-10-21 @ 20:48

Image
User avatar
Cloudschatze
Oldbie
 
Posts: 953
Joined: 2005-6-16 @ 14:32

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby retro games 100 » 2009-10-21 @ 20:50

WOW! That looks absolutely incredible! Please can you label some of that stuff you've got there!
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby swaaye » 2009-10-21 @ 22:07

heh heh I like the fun little CRT in the middle :)

Maybe I will photograph my chamber of horrors later....
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby HunterZ » 2009-10-21 @ 23:39

Holy crap, what are you using 5 MT-32's for? I see a Sound Canvas synth in the lower left stack of equipment too :)
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6053
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby swaaye » 2009-10-22 @ 02:16

Image
Image

Pumpkin zone is modern stuff. The other side is retro, currently with a Tualatin.
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Cloudschatze » 2009-10-22 @ 05:30

HunterZ wrote:Holy crap, what are you using 5 MT-32's for?


Polyphony and compatibility.

The left pair are of the "newtype," 2.07 ROM variety, and are in an overflow-assigned configuration. (That gray unit on top is an FG-10, not an MT-32.)

The right pair are of the "oldtype," 1.07 ROM variety, and are in a split MIDI-channel configuration (via the MTP) due to the buggy overflow mode in the 1.xx units.

A number of games feature custom timbres that utilize certain "bugs" present in the 1.xx ROM units, resulting in incorrect playback with the 2.xx models and variants (CM-32L/64, LAPC-I, etc.). Likewise, some soundtracks/effects will only sound correct when played back on the later units and variants.
User avatar
Cloudschatze
Oldbie
 
Posts: 953
Joined: 2005-6-16 @ 14:32

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Amigaz » 2009-10-22 @ 06:35

I'm shocked...I can see two persons from USA who doesn't have carpet runners on the floor! :shocked: :happyhappy:
Image

Image
User avatar
Amigaz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1696
Joined: 2007-3-03 @ 09:01
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby HunterZ » 2009-10-22 @ 17:49

@Cloudschatze: Has anyone written up anything on this issue? It would be interesting to know which games have issues with which synths.

@Amigaz: I've never had one of those runner things at home, and I've never caused carpet damage due to not having one. I have one available in the garage now, but I don't know if I'll have room for it where I want to set up my desk in the house.
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6053
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby swaaye » 2009-10-22 @ 18:45

Amigaz wrote:I'm shocked...I can see two persons from USA who doesn't have carpet runners on the floor! :shocked: :happyhappy:

I have a carpet plastic mat thing. It produces a truly awesome amount of static electricity. :)
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 6917
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Cloudschatze » 2009-10-23 @ 00:05

HunterZ wrote:@Cloudschatze: Has anyone written up anything on this issue? It would be interesting to know which games have issues with which synths.


It has been discussed at QuestStudios a number of times.

NewRisingSun added a key/legend to the "List of MT-32-compatible computer games" Wikipedia article, which identifies various synth differences/incompatibilities for a number of games.
User avatar
Cloudschatze
Oldbie
 
Posts: 953
Joined: 2005-6-16 @ 14:32

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby HunterZ » 2009-10-26 @ 17:27

Ah, thanks. I think I've seen that list but didn't look at it closely enough to see that extra info.

It's definitely an incomplete list as well, as it doesn't mention Wizardry 7 (which I'm playing right now). Interestingly, Wiz7 only uses the default MT-32 patch set (i.e. no SysEx magic), so it actually sounds fine on other synths like my SC-88 that have an MT-32/CM-32 patch set or emulation mode.
You're perfect, yes it's true...but without me, you're only you.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6053
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Kelly Stiver » 2009-10-29 @ 00:07

Here's my computing areas - I have 3 of them -

Image

This is my Macintosh, used to browse the Internet and for work;

Image

This is the PC that I will play games such as Wing Commanders 3, 4, Prophecy, and Star Rangers (via DOSbox) as well as Independence War 1 & 2, Tachyon The Fringe (in VMWare Player under Win 98SE/Win XP); this PC will hopefully get replaced soon because it's hardware is beginning to fail by a new Win XP desktop PC;

Image

and this is the netbook that I play my oldies (adventure titles) on via DOSbox, and VPC under Win 98SE
Last edited by Kelly Stiver on 2009-10-29 @ 15:15, edited 1 time in total.
Kelly Stiver
Member
 
Posts: 246
Joined: 2007-12-23 @ 03:19
Location: In a PC game

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby HunterZ » 2009-10-29 @ 18:49

Kelly Stiver wrote:How do I delete this post?

I deleted it for you, but since you asked:

There's a tiny "X" button in the upper-right corner of the post. I never liked how small (and thus hard to find, read and click) they are.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6053
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: post up pics of your "computing area"

Postby Kelly Stiver » 2009-10-29 @ 20:41

HunterZ wrote:
Kelly Stiver wrote:How do I delete this post?

I deleted it for you, but since you asked:

There's a tiny "X" button in the upper-right corner of the post. I never liked how small (and thus hard to find, read and click) they are.


Thanks.
Kelly Stiver
Member
 
Posts: 246
Joined: 2007-12-23 @ 03:19
Location: In a PC game

Next

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: istellabot [Bot], Scraphoarder and 1 guest