How to play ALL games smooth & with perfect sound

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

How to play ALL games smooth & with perfect sound

Postby sNaKe » 2003-10-28 @ 17:18

check my profile for my "brandnew" pc :P :D
sNaKe
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2003-10-27 @ 13:59

Postby Qbix » 2003-10-28 @ 20:32

This belongs in systemspecs
*moving*

Neat system. But I think you can't run all the games :)
especially memory might be a problem for real old games.
Speed also.
I think Bouncing babies is too fast on your pc :)
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10916
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Postby Snover » 2003-10-30 @ 01:30

Turbo switches are your friend, Qbix. :)
Snover
l33t++
 
Posts: 5213
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 04:47

Postby Qbix » 2003-10-30 @ 08:47

Ah offcourse :) I tend to forget that these switches existed in the first place.

Was a good idea though. You get 2 cpu speeds for the price of one :)
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10916
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Postby oldbushie » 2003-11-06 @ 06:47

Now me, I just gave in and bought a Pentium 133. Not bad, $40, though even that is a bit much for some people I suppose. At least everything's in great condition!

I still love DosBox though, I soon as I figure out how to get the sound perfect (still somewhat jittery for me) it will be da bomb.
oldbushie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2003-11-06 @ 06:37

Postby robertmo » 2003-11-06 @ 08:25

sNaKe: you should consider adding gus and mt-32 to yor pc :)

Qbix: you can also try turning off external, internal or both caches giving you even more cpu speeds for the price of one ;)

oldbushie: i guess your cpu is too slow for dosbox or you have speeded it up too much, you should also play in fullscreen.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4749
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Postby oldbushie » 2003-11-06 @ 08:27

Heh. I'm not running the program on the Pentium 133, but I use it as my last resort for really stubborn games. The computer I have Dosbox on is 1.4 GHz so I don't think it's a speed problem per se (and I have changed around the framerate to no avail).
oldbushie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2003-11-06 @ 06:37


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: knowledge [bot] and 5 guests