VOGONS


Retro Rig Photo Thread

Topic actions

Reply 1800 of 1822, by MMaximus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
bjwil1991 wrote on 2020-09-20, 18:08:

Beautiful setup. I really need to find one of those I/O bracket for an AT motherboard so I can put my Socket 7 board in there.

Thank you! Thanks to liqmat I got a couple of AT backplates at the time of the PPro Haul 👍

Although not having one wouldn't stop me from putting from putting an AT board in an ATX case 😀

Reply 1801 of 1822, by Hezus

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

A little update to my previous post. The noise this PC made has always bothered me a bit, especially the PSU fan. This PSU could be 25 years old by now, so I thought I'd replace the fan and put on better solution for the CPU fan.

I swapped out the 80mm PSU fan for this Noctua NF-R8 Redux 1200. I came with a 3pin connector, but I was lucky that the capacitors were far enough from the 2 pin header to still be able to slot it in.
zGjhw0P.jpg?1

For the CPU I went with the Noctua NF-A4x10. The package comes with a 3 to 2 pin convertor, so I could finally use the onboard CPU fan header and get rid of that extra molex connector I had to use before. I also dug up a Zalman Fanmate 2 to fully control the fan speed.
GSIEOoK.jpg?1

The PC is extremely silent now and you'll only hear it whirr when it reads a CD-ROM 😀

Reply 1804 of 1822, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
devius wrote on 2020-09-30, 20:56:

It's almost as if those Noctua fans were made for vintage PCs (even though no fans of that era used that color scheme).

Agreed.
The only way they could be better is with a fake wood veneer on the frame .

Reply 1805 of 1822, by Law212

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
gerry wrote on 2020-09-22, 08:47:
Law212 wrote on 2020-09-21, 20:38:
I just found this P2 350 Mhz PC yesterday. It has an ATI 3D rage pro in it. its also running win XP. I think i want to install […]
Show full quote

I just found this P2 350 Mhz PC yesterday.
It has an ATI 3D rage pro in it.
its also running win XP. I think i want to install win 98 on it instead.

https://imgur.com/gallery/1ORhG4v

you found it? nice find, looks clean too! I'd agree win98 for this one.

Check this one i found a week later.

https://imgur.com/gallery/LmU8WX7

pentium 2 MMX 333 Mhz
rage LT pro

Reply 1806 of 1822, by gerry

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Law212 wrote on 2020-10-02, 19:01:
Check this one i found a week later. […]
Show full quote

Check this one i found a week later.

https://imgur.com/gallery/LmU8WX7

pentium 2 MMX 333 Mhz
rage LT pro

you are having some great finds! if you find people are following you it'll be fellow retro PC enthusiasts hoping to strike lucky 😀

Reply 1807 of 1822, by Law212

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
gerry wrote on 2020-10-05, 10:18:
Law212 wrote on 2020-10-02, 19:01:
Check this one i found a week later. […]
Show full quote

Check this one i found a week later.

https://imgur.com/gallery/LmU8WX7

pentium 2 MMX 333 Mhz
rage LT pro

you are having some great finds! if you find people are following you it'll be fellow retro PC enthusiasts hoping to strike lucky 😀

I just need to have a bit more time to work on them and play on them. I need to fix up my autoexec and config sys on my pentium 1 so DOS games work well again, and waiting for my 200 MHZ MMX cpu to come in for it.
Then the Compaq Deskpro, i need to install Win98 and set it up . I hope i dont mess it up since it works well as it is. I also need to get a sound card for my 486 so i can start using it more. I also dont have much room where i am right now. Ill post a picture of my retro PC area soon.

Reply 1809 of 1822, by devius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Not really related to the topic but I think you need an actual Compaq PSU as the pin-out is slightly different from ATX I think. I have a DeskPro EP P600 which seems to be a bit older than yours and that one uses a PSU model DPS-200PB-89 145W.

Reply 1810 of 1822, by JanisD

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
devius wrote on 2020-10-06, 17:21:

Not really related to the topic but I think you need an actual Compaq PSU as the pin-out is slightly different from ATX I think. I have a DeskPro EP P600 which seems to be a bit older than yours and that one uses a PSU model DPS-200PB-89 145W.

Thank you for answering.
And sorry for posting in wrong section

I manage to find some PSUs on Ebay.

Reply 1811 of 1822, by c0burn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

NU1NClw.png

Specs:

PC Chips M321 motherboard (all ISA slots)
AMD 386DX-40 CPU
16mb 30-pin RAM
Tseng ET4000AX 1mb video card
Aztech Sound Blaster Pro 2 clone (real OPL)
MS-DOS 6.22/Windows For Workgroups 3.11
3COM Etherlink ISA Network Card
XT-CF lite with 2gb CF card in back expansion bracket

Reply 1812 of 1822, by vellu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
c0burn wrote on 2020-10-15, 22:02:
Specs: […]
Show full quote

Specs:

PC Chips M321 motherboard (all ISA slots)
AMD 386DX-40 CPU
16mb 30-pin RAM
Tseng ET4000AX 1mb video card
Aztech Sound Blaster Pro 2 clone (real OPL)
MS-DOS 6.22/Windows For Workgroups 3.11
3COM Etherlink ISA Network Card
XT-CF lite with 2gb CF card in back expansion bracket

amazing, well done! That's my kind of retro machine with lots of options to transfer data

retro rack

Reply 1813 of 1822, by Law212

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
c0burn wrote on 2020-10-15, 22:02:
https://i.imgur.com/NU1NClw.png […]
Show full quote

NU1NClw.png

Specs:

PC Chips M321 motherboard (all ISA slots)
AMD 386DX-40 CPU
16mb 30-pin RAM
Tseng ET4000AX 1mb video card
Aztech Sound Blaster Pro 2 clone (real OPL)
MS-DOS 6.22/Windows For Workgroups 3.11
3COM Etherlink ISA Network Card
XT-CF lite with 2gb CF card in back expansion bracket

Wow, I love this computer. Very nice.

Reply 1814 of 1822, by BurnedPinguin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Saved this bad boy recently, like a month ago. It was on the brink of being scrapped, but I hopped in and said no. Originally I thought it was a 486 with no turbo button, however, it turned out to be a Pentium MMX machine. Exhaustive specs list later on. (keep in mind I am new here and I don't know exactly what exhaustive means, if you want to know something else, just write a comment) A few things didn't work when I got it, like a Hitachi 4x cd drive that was in there, and the floppy drive. It also had no sound card, I put in an ESS 1868f that I've had for as long as I've been alive. The original hard drive was taken out because it had some stuff on it, and I put 2 4.7gb Maxtor drives which whirr like crazy but it's enough space for me. I also put in there a sony drive from 2002 (cdu5221). It had a 1mb s3 trio64 which I upgraded to a 4mb s3 ViRGE DX. Other hardware additions will be surprises down below in the hardware list.

Hardware List
CPU: Pentium MMX 166 (no overclock)
Graphics card: S3 ViRGE DX 4mb
RAM: 32mb EDO (voltage unknown since it autodetects)
Motherboard: OEM DTK PAM-00561 E-2
HDD: 2 x 4.7gb IDE Maxtor
CDD: Sony CDU5221
FDD: Generic Panasonic Floppy Drive
Sound Card: ESS Plug&Pray AudioDrive ES1868F
FM Tuner: MediaForte SF16_FMR2 ISA
Networking Card: Generic RTL8029AS based Ethernet card
Power Supply: DTK AT 300w
Peripherals
Mouse: Genius 3 Button Serial Mouse
Keyboard: Jerry rigged Acer ps/2 keyboard made to work with the AT interface
Monitor: LG 24MP48HQ-P (same one that I use with my modern rig, has an option to not stretch 4:3 and 5:4)
Speakers: Logitech Z533 (again the same ones that I use with my modern pc because this pc sits right next to my modern one)

Attachments

  • o1g1e63gdgr51.png
    Filename
    o1g1e63gdgr51.png
    File size
    94.24 KiB
    Views
    161 views
    File comment
    its my picture I took it like 2 weeks ago why do you
    File license
    CC-BY-4.0

Reply 1815 of 1822, by Bancho

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

My Current Work In Progress Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S System

Intel Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S @ 1.47ghz (140x10.5)
DFI GCB60-BX1/C1 Intel BX Motherboard
512MB CL2 Ram (2x256)
Winfast A250 Ultra Nvidia Geforce 4 Ti4600 Zalman Passive Cooled
Adaptec NEC USB 2.0 Card
Sound Blaster Audigy
Turtle Beach Malibu ISA Sound Card
80 GIG Hitatchi Hard Disk
Toshiba DVD-RAM Drive
Enermax 365W PSU
Evercase ATX Case

Z96QTejl.jpg
itm4UCwl.jpg
QyCrKXOl.jpg

Reply 1817 of 1822, by Bancho

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
chrismeyer6 wrote on 2020-10-19, 14:55:

How are the temps with the passive cooler?

Surprisingly good. Its the dual heat pipe variant of the cooler (ZM80D-HP). The cooler gets warm but its not really that hot. I think the 120mm in the front also helps (EK-Vardar). Its been rock solid stable so far. I may try overclocking the card at some point too and see how it holds up.

4wYp3d8l.jpg

Reply 1818 of 1822, by TechieDude

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Bancho wrote on 2020-10-19, 13:58:
My Current Work In Progress Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S System […]
Show full quote

My Current Work In Progress Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S System

Intel Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S @ 1.47ghz (140x10.5)
DFI GCB60-BX1/C1 Intel BX Motherboard
512MB CL2 Ram (2x256)
Winfast A250 Ultra Nvidia Geforce 4 Ti4600 Zalman Passive Cooled
Adaptec NEC USB 2.0 Card
Sound Blaster Audigy
Turtle Beach Malibu ISA Sound Card
80 GIG Hitatchi Hard Disk
Toshiba DVD-RAM Drive
Enermax 365W PSU
Evercase ATX Case

Z96QTejl.jpg
itm4UCwl.jpg
QyCrKXOl.jpg

You might want to replace the CPU with a Tualeron, since the i440BX chipset, although very capable and rock-solid, doesn't support 133MHz FSB. More specifically, it doesn't have the correct divider for the AGP bus to run at 66MHz when the FSB is 133MHz. In other words, you're overclocking the AGP bus. Another option would be to replace the motherboard with a newer one that has i815E, or VIA Apollo 133T. Looks real nice though.

Reply 1819 of 1822, by Bancho

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
TechieDude wrote on 2020-10-19, 15:09:
Bancho wrote on 2020-10-19, 13:58:
My Current Work In Progress Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S System […]
Show full quote

My Current Work In Progress Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S System

Intel Pentium III Tualatin 1400-S @ 1.47ghz (140x10.5)
DFI GCB60-BX1/C1 Intel BX Motherboard
512MB CL2 Ram (2x256)
Winfast A250 Ultra Nvidia Geforce 4 Ti4600 Zalman Passive Cooled
Adaptec NEC USB 2.0 Card
Sound Blaster Audigy
Turtle Beach Malibu ISA Sound Card
80 GIG Hitatchi Hard Disk
Toshiba DVD-RAM Drive
Enermax 365W PSU
Evercase ATX Case

Z96QTejl.jpg
itm4UCwl.jpg
QyCrKXOl.jpg

You might want to replace the CPU with a Tualeron, since the i440BX chipset, although very capable and rock-solid, doesn't support 133MHz FSB. More specifically, it doesn't have the correct divider for the AGP bus to run at 66MHz when the FSB is 133MHz. You're overclocking the AGP bus. Another option would be to replace the motherboard with a newer one that has i815E, or VIA Apollo 133T. Looks real nice though.

This board is fine at the speeds. I've actually had this board and CPU combo for quite a while now. I know that the BX is overclocked at 133, let alone 140mhz but it handles it no problem, and actually is probably what makes it feel really quite fast. I don't want to move to the other chipsets as I then loose the ISA slots, and having the ability to run nice sound cards is a massive plus! I plan to add some more cards to it for more midi options.

I just ran 2 3DMark00 Benchmarks back to back (As I cancelled the first score before doing a print screen...doh!). Here's the score. Don't know if its good or not for a 4600. I should really look at some benches with this card. I know it plays games great though

yo5yLtil.jpg