VOGONS

First post, by MartinC

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

After a 3 year stint as an IT technician I now have time for actually enjoying computers again so I’m back to my dream machine!

I’m looking to make this machine usable in the modern Internet while retaining it’s vintage feel and hardware (where possible)

What I want to keep:
- Windows 98 SE as the operating system
- PIII Coppermine 1000 MHz as the CPU

What I plan to upgrade:
- Kernel EX to support NT based applications such as newer versions of Firefox
- Upgrade primary video card to a modern GeForce for Flash, HTML5

My concerns with Kernel EX is stability, Windows 9x already has stability concerns, a 3rd party kernel extension may make things worse. The alternative is a more up-to-date web browser that will run natively on Windows 98 SE such as SeaMonkey

With the video card upgrade I’m looking for immense power but also something that was designed more so for Windows 98 than XP, good compatibility with my mainboard (440BX) and CPU (PIII).
I currently have a GeForce 2, the GeForce 3 and 4 are not modern enough to consider, the FX series run hot and noisy with underwhelming performance, I was thinking a 6800 Ultra?

I had also thought of an SSD but without trim support under Windows 98 SE after a few months I expect that the SSD may become slower than a traditional hard disk so I have dismissed this idea

Opinions appreciated

Win98 Gold: 1GHz PIII - GeForce2 - Voodoo2 - 768MB - SCSI 😀

Reply 1 of 14, by gandhig

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
MartinC wrote:

I’m looking to make this machine usable in the modern Internet while retaining it’s vintage feel and hardware (where possible)
- Upgrade primary video card to a modern GeForce for Flash, HTML5
I was thinking a 6800 Ultra?

Your prerequisites are really tough for a usable modern internet experience considering your setup.

1. Geforce 6 series don't seem to have much support for hardware acceleration for video playback let alone flash videos.