VOGONS


Post your 'current' PC

Topic actions

Reply 620 of 642, by Brawndo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Brawndo wrote on 2021-11-18, 02:34:
I just retired my Devil's Canyon 4790K and GTX 970 SLI PC I had been running for a number of years and built this new behemoth […]
Show full quote

I just retired my Devil's Canyon 4790K and GTX 970 SLI PC I had been running for a number of years and built this new behemoth a few months ago. I'll post pictures later on.

Ryzen 5950X
ASUS Crosshair VIII Dark Hero motherboard
32 GB RAM
Gigabyte RTX 3080 Waterforce
2 M.2 SSDs for OS, work and install drives, 3 more 2.5" SSDs for install "overflow" and random storage
Shamefully, running the onboard sound ATM
Full custom water loop built by me including Swiftech MCP655 pump, Optimus CPU block, XSPC fittings
A Corsair case filled with Noctua fans

It's currently mining 24/7, only use it occasionally in the evenings when I have free time. Only played a couple games on it so far 🤣.

A few pictures. Also forgot to mention the 2 Corsair 360mm radiators, an XR7 and an XR5. My hand was more or less forced into buying this huge Corsair 5000D case to fit everything comfortably, but I'm glad I did.

supernova01.jpg
supernova02.jpg
supernova03.jpg

Reply 621 of 642, by Baoran

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I spent about 5k euros on building a new PC late last year.
Ryzen 5950X cpu
Gigabyte, Gigabyte X570 Aorus Extreme
2x32GB Crucial 3600Mhz DDR4 ram @16-18-18-38 and T1
Asus strix RTX 3090 OC edition
Gigabyte X570 Aorus xtreme Motherboard
CPU is liquid cooled with 280mm radiator
Case: be quiet dark base pro 900 rev. 2
WD SN850 2TB M.2 drive
WD Gold 18TB hard drive.
Corsair ax1600i power supply. (1000W one would have been enough but it was the only one available when I ordered)

I also added some old parts from my previous PC:
WD black 6TB hard drive
Pioneer BDR-209DBK optical drive.
Samsung sata SSD 840 pro
Samsung sata SSD 830 pro

Considering current price of gpus I felt I was lucky I was still able to get the gpu at MSRP back then. My old PC was already 7 years old when I built this so I am hoping that it will be another 7 years before I need to build another one.

hwinfo.jpg
Filename
hwinfo.jpg
File size
225.08 KiB
Views
936 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 622 of 642, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
RandomStranger wrote on 2021-11-17, 11:00:

I built my daily driver with upgrade potential in mind, just like the previous one which served me for 10 years.

Well, that's basically the exact same configuration as my PC right down tot he sound card (well, one of them anyway - I also have a Behringer UMC22 for playing/recording guitar) except the case - I use something slightly smaller and shittier, a Zalman Z3 Plus. I'm looking forward to upgrade to a 5800x and 32GB RAM next year or after that. I am running my R5 2600 at 4GHz overclock and it's still powerful enough for what I do. There is no sane upgrade for the graphics card though, but I am fine with it. My RX480 8GB (reference model) is still doing fine for 1080p gaming.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 623 of 642, by Victorkorp99

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

This is my main pc, I assembled it in 2014 for games and general use and since then the only change it had was a new acrylic cover 2 years ago and this year I replaced the psu with a new certified one, I never put filters on it. I air the fans so I have to clean it every so often

Specs:
- AMD FX-6300 Black Ed.
- MSI R7 250 2gb
-Kingston Fury DDR3 (2x4gb)
-Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Extreme
-Generic Nisuta Cooler (125W?)
- Redragon RGPS 500W 80+ Bronze (better than thermaltake tr2)
- 1TB WD Caviar Blue + 250gb Samsung
- x2 DVD / CD burners
- x1 Usb 2.0 Card Reader

Good things:
- I don't need to build a pc for windows xp, I have a dual boot and it's perfect

Bad things:
- I need another case because this one was already badly treated when I bought it (used) and now it's not that it's better ...
- I need air filters 😁

Attachments

Argentina, Córdoba

System: - Pentium III-S 1.4 (Tualatin) + 512mb RAM PC133 + Lite-On TR100 (i815ep) + Ati Radeon 9550 256mb + SB Live! + Generic Usb 2.0 Card + 3Com Etherlink III+ 64gb SD Card (IDE to SD adapter)

Reply 624 of 642, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

HP z420

Specs:
HP z420 with 32gb ram
Xeon E5-2690 ( 8-cores, 8-threads ) ( 2.90ghz max boost 3.80ghz )

Attachments

Last edited by Intel486dx33 on 2021-11-27, 16:32. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 625 of 642, by EddieHimself

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

This is my current setup. Specs:

AMD Ryzen 1800X
AMD Radeon RX 580 8 GB
32 GB RAM 2400 MHz
Gigabyte X370 Gaming 5
1 TB Samsung 980 PCIe 3x4 NVMe SSD
1 TB Gigabyte NVMe SSD (there is only one NVMe slot on the motherboard, so the Samsung drive is on an NVMe riser card)
4 TB Hitachi HDD
6 TB Seagate backup drive
750 W XFX semi-modular PSU
280mm AIO cooler with 2x Noctua 140mm fans
Idiotically big Thermaltake X9 case (the motherboard sits horizontally!)
DVD drive, card reader, and 3.5" external floppy drive, mostly for transferring files to my other systems by way of sneakernet.
Focusrite 18i20 Audio interface

20210310_182727.jpg?width=437&height=778

Reply 626 of 642, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Does that USB 3.5" drive work with Windows 10/11? I can't seem to get mine to, it always corrupts disks. It works 100% fine in Linux and Win 7/XP though.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 627 of 642, by Joakim

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
appiah4 wrote on 2021-11-26, 16:08:

Does that USB 3.5" drive work with Windows 10/11? I can't seem to get mine to, it always corrupts disks. It works 100% fine in Linux and Win 7/XP though.

Someone said formatting must be done in win 10 command line. But tbh I had problems with that as well but it might have been the media.

Reply 628 of 642, by EddieHimself

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
appiah4 wrote on 2021-11-26, 16:08:

Does that USB 3.5" drive work with Windows 10/11? I can't seem to get mine to, it always corrupts disks. It works 100% fine in Linux and Win 7/XP though.

It works fine. The issue is that, if you have no disk in the drive, it causes certain programs to hang. I think it's because modern Windows Explorer (and other programs that scan the file system) are looking for a folder called "system volume information," and if there's no disk in the drive, there's no system volume information folder! So, I just plug it in and unplug it as needed. The other thing is, due to the rather cheap build quality, the bloody door snapped off!

Joakim wrote on 2021-11-26, 16:20:
appiah4 wrote on 2021-11-26, 16:08:

Does that USB 3.5" drive work with Windows 10/11? I can't seem to get mine to, it always corrupts disks. It works 100% fine in Linux and Win 7/XP though.

Someone said formatting must be done in win 10 command line. But tbh I had problems with that as well but it might have been the media.

I have no issues formatting it in Windows Explorer. It even comes up as the A drive when you plug it in, which is nice.

unknown.png

Reply 629 of 642, by Joakim

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
EddieHimself wrote on 2021-11-26, 17:30:
I have no issues formatting it in Windows Explorer. It even comes up as the A drive when you plug it in, which is nice. […]
Show full quote

I have no issues formatting it in Windows Explorer. It even comes up as the A drive when you plug it in, which is nice.

unknown.png

Maybe it is just one of my drives that need an adjustment. I had my IBM usb floppy drive opened and it seemed to be a regular floppy drive in a casing, the kind you find in laptops.

Reply 631 of 642, by Azarien

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

This year I've upgraded my main PC to a Q9550, 8 GB RAM, HD7850, SSD drive (finally!), Sound Blaster Audigy (built-in audio is crap), Windows 10.

Since it is not my work computer and I don't play new games at all, I'm happy with this configuration right now.

From the left-over parts slowly accumulated, I've build another PC (Q6600, 4 GB RAM, HD5770) for which I have no good idea yet (maybe I'll become a Linux machine).

Reply 632 of 642, by stege

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

My office, a work in progress. 2020 27" iMac, i7, 64GB Ram, 500GB ssd, 5500XT. Brilliant machine for home office and light gaming.

In time, I'll buy a bigger desk while the current small one will host my beloved AST Pentium 75 (sitting in the far corner).
Anyone willing to sell a Sony CRT in Adelaide?

wide 16-35 small.jpg
Filename
wide 16-35 small.jpg
File size
537.34 KiB
Views
362 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Miss the monkey island days, the space quest days, even the longest journey days.

AST Advantage Pentium 75MHz, 32MB Ram, 1.08GB Seagate Decathlon, 4x CD-Rom,
2GB CF Card Boot Disk, Matrox Mistique 220, SoundBlaster Awe64, Sony 15" E100 CRT

Reply 633 of 642, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

My Current Daily Driver.

HP z220 with Intel i5 CPU and 32gb ram.
Klipsch Promedia 2.1 Speakers with Creative x3.

Attachments

Reply 634 of 642, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Current Daily driver

-Intel 10980xe @ 4.8Ghz
-ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
-64gb GSkill DDR4 4000 CL15
-32Tb of Storage 12TB in Spinning Rust Rest in mixed NVME/SATA SSD storage
-MSI Suprim X RTX 3080ti
-Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 420
-Fractal Define 7 XL
-EVGA 1300 Watt PSU
-Full Schitt Stack - External DAC/AMP and EQ
-Sennheiser HD600 Headset
-LG 32" 4k LCD
-LG 32" 2k LCD
-Razer Huntsman Elite Keyboard
-Razer Basilisk Ultimate Mouse

Yup its Overkill for pretty much anything but thats how I roll with my personal machines, this one was ..uhh a bit much honestly but will have a very long life cycle before it gets replaced.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 635 of 642, by kixs

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

My current three "main" machines 🤣

#1:

- Antec P280 case
- AMD Ryzen 5800X
- BeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4 cooler
- Asus Prime X570-P
- 2x 16GB DDR4 3200
- Geforce GTX1060 6GB
- Samsung EVO Plus 1TB NVMe
- Mix of different HDDs
- AOC Q3477 3440x1440
- Logitech Z-2300
- Windows 10 Pro

#2:

Dell Vostro 5515 (laptop) - replacement for HP Elitebook 840 G3
- AMD Ryzen 5700u
- 1x 16GB DDR4 3200 (planning on adding a 2nd one)
- 512GB NVMe
- Windows 10 Pro
(also connected to AOC 34" via dock)

#3:

- Antec P180
- AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
- Scythe Ninja 3 cooler
- Asus M4A87TD/USB3
- 2x 8GB DDR3 Corsair
- Geforce GTX660Ti 2GB
- Creative Audigy PCI
- 256GB SSD Kingston
- Mix of different HDDs
- Corsair HX 620W
- Dell Ultrasharp U3014 2560x1600
- Windows 7 Pro (still better for old games)

#4 is coming up soon (or it might be a replacement for #3) based on i7-3770... will dual boot XP/7.

Requests also possible

Reply 636 of 642, by Alistar1776

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

This is all set up as what i like to call my "battlestation"😂

Main PC:

Ryzen 7 5800x, FC is OC to 2000
Geforce RTX 3070 Ti
32Gb DDR4 3600mhz, OC to 4000 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Asus ROG B550-A mobo
Corsair H360i Elite AIO CPU cooler
Phanteks P500A in white for the case.
Boot drive, running Windows 11 on a 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD
Mass storage drive is a WD Black 8TB HDD

Next to it sits my Win98SE machine, WIP

850Mhz Athlon, model unknown.
348mb system memory (one 256mb stick, one 128mb stick)
currently NV996 gpu, looking for good PCI gaming card.
Other components unknown, its an old Gateway Essential i think.
I may post pics of the whole setup later.

Reply 637 of 642, by creepingnet

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

My current PC situation right now is a confusing mess to say the least.....

90% of my modern PC usage is my work laptop (Dell Precision 5530). Because I spend all day there doing I.T.

Right now I'm using a pair of Dell Latitudes from 2014 for Linux and Windows 10 respectively, and then I have an iMac Core i5 from 2015 that I'm using for Mac OSX.

My wife Bedazzled the Windows 10 machine because she was using it previously, until she needed a webcam for work, so I gave her the HP i3 system that's a lot newer and has a webcam. The Windows 10 machine eis a i7 with 16GB of DDR3 in it, and a 512GB SSD. It's also the machine I use for doing all the video capture for YouTube - all that Dragon Warrior/NES/etc stuff - that's the i7. Just rigged that up for SepTandy.

The Linux box is a smaller version of the i7, similar specs, but i5. Runs Linux Mint whatever-the-latest-version-is. Most of the time it's used for my website while I kick around the house, though I also use FileZilla on it to push files to my vintage PC's because my Mac won't read the GPT 1TB External HDD I have that stores all my DOS games and stuff.

The Mac is a 24" iMac with 8GB of RAM and an i5. It mostly does the website and music production, but I also make my guitar videos using that computer, as well as tack on a second Logitech Webcam when I need a movable camera for vintage comptuer repairs.

In reserve I also have
- Dell Precision T5400 running Linux Mint, 16GB, Xeon CPU
- Dell OptiPlex 7010 i5 with 16GB and a 1TB HDD, Linux Mint...though I might make it a windows machine just for video capture
- Lenovo T61 Laptop - core 2 Duo, 4GB, SSd, I use that one a lot as well but I can't find the power supply for it right now so it's taking a sabbatical

Sometimes Creeping Net 486 does the minor modern stuff (spreadsheets, web authoring, graphics) because that system is stupid beefy for a 486 and somehow it's capable of running some fairly modern browsers. The thing has a SATA drive with Win2K install with Firefox on it that gives it pretty much full access to the Modern Web. It's slooooow, but it gets the job done if needed.

~The Creeping Network~
My Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/creepingnet
Creepingnet's World - https://creepingnet.neocities.org/

Reply 638 of 642, by Azarien

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

A shiny new chassis (MODECOM OBERON PRO SILENT) just came today for my desktop PC, to replace the 15-year old chassis which was in a rather sorry state.

The rest of the PC… Q9550, HD7850, 8 GB RAM, SB Audigy (the onboard audio has clicking problems under Windows 10), 1 TB SSD + 1 TB HDD + 8 TB HDD.

The old chassis had a floppy drive and a DVD writer, but Oberon has just one external 5 inch bay. For now I decided not to mount the FDD nor DVD.

Reply 639 of 642, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

A few daily drivers:

1) MacBook Late 2008 Unibody C2D 2.0GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD with OS El Capitan 10.11.6 and Lubuntu 20.04 LTS, GeForce 9400M, SuperDrive

2) MacBook Air Early 2015 13" i5 1.6GHz, 4GB RAM (soldered on and only could get upgraded to 8GB for $200 more at Apple), 1TB nVME storage (their version of nVME), Monterey 12.5, Intel HD 6000

3) MacBook Air Early 2015 13" i5 1.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 1TB nVME storage (their version of nVME), Monterey, Intel HD 6000

4) ASUS FX502VM, i7-7700HQ, GTX 1060 3GB, 16GB DDR4, 480GB SSD for the OS, 1TB nVME for games and stuff, external Blu-Ray RE portable USB drive

5) Lenovo ThinkPad A485, Ryzen 5 2500U Pro, 8GB RAM, 256GB nVME, Vega 8, 2 batteries (going to use it for diagnosing GM cars)

6) Custom build: ASUS Prime-X470 Pro, 16GB DDR4 RAM, Ryzen 5 2600X with fTPM enabled, 1TB nVME for the OS, 4TB gaming nVME for games and stuff, TUF GTX1660Ti OC 6GB, LG Blu-Ray RE, LG DVD-RW, LS-120 (internal, which isn't working since they got rid of the IDE mode for SATA), SB X-Fi PCIe, ASUS Wireless-AC+BT PCIe, 850W Thermaltake RGB PSU, and soon: ASUS TUF Gaming 2K HDR VG27AQ

Last edited by bjwil1991 on 2022-07-28, 06:43. Edited 1 time in total.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to Ryzen 5 2600X
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser