Post your 'current' PC

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby vvbee » 2018-5-21 @ 17:41

Ironically, linux can run more games than the xp he went with.
User avatar
vvbee
Oldbie
 
Posts: 573
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby tayyare » 2018-5-21 @ 19:44

vvbee wrote:Ironically, linux can run more games than the xp he went with.


Linux can run games, that's the truth, but let's not go that far. :lol:
GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI
SB AWE64 PNP+32MB
120GB IDE Samsung/80GB IDE Seagate/146GB SCSI Compaq/73GB SCSI IBM
Adaptec AHA29160
3com 3C905B-TX
Gotek+CF Reader
MSDOS 6.22+Win 3.11/95 OSR2.1/98SE/ME/2000
User avatar
tayyare
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: 2013-2-18 @ 18:54
Location: Turkey

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby CarlHopkinsUK » 2018-5-21 @ 20:24

tayyare wrote:
vvbee wrote:Ironically, linux can run more games than the xp he went with.


Linux can run games, that's the truth, but let's not go that far. :lol:


Quick! Someone grab the can-opener! :-D
Image
Image
User avatar
CarlHopkinsUK
Newbie
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 2018-5-09 @ 22:40

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby harddrivespin » 2018-5-22 @ 15:29

vvbee wrote:Ironically, linux can run more games than the xp he went with.


...discounting the fact that XP can most 9x games natively, as well as the vast majority of 2000s titles and even some newer stuff. On Linux that'd only work with wine, or DOSBox which is just emulation.

"but but Wine something very new games"

take a moment and look at the specs of the machine I have- it's Socket 462. Do you really think very new stuff will run on a Socket A PC? they won't.
User avatar
harddrivespin
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2017-8-16 @ 20:36

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby tayyare » 2018-5-22 @ 16:54

Image

:lol: :lol:
GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI
SB AWE64 PNP+32MB
120GB IDE Samsung/80GB IDE Seagate/146GB SCSI Compaq/73GB SCSI IBM
Adaptec AHA29160
3com 3C905B-TX
Gotek+CF Reader
MSDOS 6.22+Win 3.11/95 OSR2.1/98SE/ME/2000
User avatar
tayyare
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: 2013-2-18 @ 18:54
Location: Turkey

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby vvbee » 2018-5-22 @ 17:19

If xp runs games better than linux on your system, use xp, dead simple.
User avatar
vvbee
Oldbie
 
Posts: 573
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby tayyare » 2018-5-22 @ 18:23

vvbee wrote:If xp runs games better than linux on your system, use xp, dead simple.


It was more like "more" if not "better"... :lol:
Last edited by tayyare on 2018-9-08 @ 11:18, edited 1 time in total.
GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI
SB AWE64 PNP+32MB
120GB IDE Samsung/80GB IDE Seagate/146GB SCSI Compaq/73GB SCSI IBM
Adaptec AHA29160
3com 3C905B-TX
Gotek+CF Reader
MSDOS 6.22+Win 3.11/95 OSR2.1/98SE/ME/2000
User avatar
tayyare
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: 2013-2-18 @ 18:54
Location: Turkey

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby vvbee » 2018-5-22 @ 18:27

In that case go with linux. Choices, choices.
User avatar
vvbee
Oldbie
 
Posts: 573
Joined: 2017-2-06 @ 17:56

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby harddrivespin » 2018-5-22 @ 18:48

tayyare wrote:
vvbee wrote:If xp runs games better than linux on your system, use xp, dead simple.


It was more like "more" not "better"... :lol:


eh, some games of that era do have dodgy wine support irc so it is almost certainly better and more
User avatar
harddrivespin
Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 2017-8-16 @ 20:36

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2018-5-22 @ 19:29

What's wrong with Dual boot? I have my rig set up that way.. XP 32 bit and Debian 64 bit.. Best of both worlds.

Then again that's not the most high end XP rig in the world, I would put XP on it myself as a first choice for gaming(and I say that with Linux as my main OS).
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 756
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: North Carolina, US

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby tayyare » 2018-6-01 @ 18:14

BeginnerGuy wrote:What's wrong with Dual boot? I have my rig set up that way.. XP 32 bit and Debian 64 bit.. Best of both worlds.

Then again that's not the most high end XP rig in the world, I would put XP on it myself as a first choice for gaming(and I say that with Linux as my main OS).


I had my XP box just like that a few years ago: XP, Fedora and Mint. It was working beautifully, but I somehow screwed up (boot sectors and mbrs and such) and now I can't even finish installing either of the Linux builds, they just hang in some place. I'm not good with them, and I clearly don't remember how I did it in the first place (which was a big challenge and looong process of trial and error).

By the way, anyone knows the "dd" command which will delete the Windows(?) RAID string that is placed in HDDs that were used as RAID arrays in the past? This is something I can't remember and one of the things that freaks out fedora/mint installations. This is not deletable with mbr rebuild commands or formatting.
GA-6VTXE PIII 1.4+512MB
Geforce4 Ti 4200 64MB
Diamond Monster 3D 12MB SLI
SB AWE64 PNP+32MB
120GB IDE Samsung/80GB IDE Seagate/146GB SCSI Compaq/73GB SCSI IBM
Adaptec AHA29160
3com 3C905B-TX
Gotek+CF Reader
MSDOS 6.22+Win 3.11/95 OSR2.1/98SE/ME/2000
User avatar
tayyare
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: 2013-2-18 @ 18:54
Location: Turkey

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby Flare » 2018-6-03 @ 19:08

This is my gaming rig, it's a bit out-of-date, but still runs everything I want at max settings.

It has a 4GHz i7-4790k CPU and GTX 980 GPU (Both liquid cooled on a custom loop with their own radiator) 16GB RAM (with activity LEDs) a 1TB PCI Express SSD, and a Sound Blaster Z connected to 5.1 surround sound.
Attachments
IMG_20180602_224126737.jpg
User avatar
Flare
Newbie
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2018-5-01 @ 02:27
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby KSHIRZA1 » 2018-6-11 @ 05:22

Image
Image
Image
Image
.: IBM APTIVA 2144-M63 :: IBM G40 800X600 MONITOR :: PENTIUM 166 :: 64MB EDO RAM :: 512KB L2 :: 120GB SSD :: 56X CDROM :: YAMAHA ACT 6631 SOUND :: 3DFX VOODOO 2 12MB VIDEO :.
User avatar
KSHIRZA1
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2018-1-07 @ 12:02

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby KSHIRZA1 » 2018-10-06 @ 06:23

Got a pre order on one of these that arrived today. Did a little bypass surgery to test it out. Next is to install the new EK Vector blocks and plumb it in.

Image
Image
Image
Image
.: IBM APTIVA 2144-M63 :: IBM G40 800X600 MONITOR :: PENTIUM 166 :: 64MB EDO RAM :: 512KB L2 :: 120GB SSD :: 56X CDROM :: YAMAHA ACT 6631 SOUND :: 3DFX VOODOO 2 12MB VIDEO :.
User avatar
KSHIRZA1
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2018-1-07 @ 12:02

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby Butler2679 » 2018-10-09 @ 23:07

Flare wrote:This is my gaming rig, it's a bit out-of-date, but still runs everything I want at max settings.

It has a 4GHz i7-4790k CPU and GTX 980 GPU (Both liquid cooled on a custom loop with their own radiator) 16GB RAM (with activity LEDs) a 1TB PCI Express SSD, and a Sound Blaster Z connected to 5.1 surround sound.


While the processor may be a couple of years old, it's perfectly fine for modern games. I personally use an i7 2600 and even it runs modern titles well.
User avatar
Butler2679
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2017-11-01 @ 04:10

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby oeuvre » 2018-10-10 @ 13:17

Sandy bridge CPUs are still pretty okay for modern gaming, as long as you have a decent GPU and 8GB or more RAM.
HP Elite 8300 CMT i7 3770, 16GB, GTX750, 2xSSD + HD, XP/7/macOS 10.13
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 2136
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby 3dprophet » 2018-10-10 @ 18:13

Coolermaster Centurion 5 Case
Phenom II x4 945 95W TDP with 125W TDP stock Phenom II cooler
8GB 1333 mhz DDR3 (4 x 2GB)
EVGA GT 720 1 GB DDR3
1.8" Kingston SSDNow 128 GB
640 GB WD Black
LG DVD Writer
Corsair VX 550W
Windows 10 64 Pro

GT 720 is a GT 710 with a lower core clock. It's 8x PCI-E compatible card so it doesn't take up the full 16x slot.
Attachments
rig.jpg
3dprophet
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2018-9-12 @ 14:44

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby Butler2679 » 2018-10-10 @ 22:45

oeuvre wrote:Sandy bridge CPUs are still pretty okay for modern gaming, as long as you have a decent GPU and 8GB or more RAM.


Yeah. I've got a GTX 950 and 16gb of ram with my 2600. It runs decently well, but the psu is pretty bad.
User avatar
Butler2679
Newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2017-11-01 @ 04:10

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby Revolter » 2018-10-11 @ 12:34

My current rig is an i7 2600S 45W ES/GTX1050 Ti KalmX/8GB DDR3/Win10 sleeper:

1.jpg


The case is from a ~2007 brand name office PC called Depo Neos or some such. I like its conservative dimensions and front panel design (which was clearly ripped off of the Dell Dimension XPS T line), and the involuntary "hot-rod" look to its side due to the large CPU cooler :)

Also involuntary is that it shares the same case model with my only retro PC:

2.jpg

Both are - while not truly "silent" - quiet to the point when it is impossible to tell if they're turned on or not without listening closely, thanks to overkill PSU's, undervolted CPU fans, passively-cooled graphics cards and non-mechanical storage drives).
User avatar
Revolter
Newbie
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 08:18
Location: Russia

Re: Post your 'current' PC

Postby KSHIRZA1 » 2018-10-14 @ 07:26

Got the 2080 Ti blocks on and card installed. Also installed matching CPU block so the carpets match the drapes...

Image
Image
.: IBM APTIVA 2144-M63 :: IBM G40 800X600 MONITOR :: PENTIUM 166 :: 64MB EDO RAM :: 512KB L2 :: 120GB SSD :: 56X CDROM :: YAMAHA ACT 6631 SOUND :: 3DFX VOODOO 2 12MB VIDEO :.
User avatar
KSHIRZA1
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2018-1-07 @ 12:02

PreviousNext

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests