My K6 build :D

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2016-4-15 @ 15:34

Hi members :)
I am happy to be part of your community :)

I have always loved older PCs
Socket 7 stands out the most for me because it is so flexible! But so much work to get it optimized!

My specs so far.

K6-3+ ANZ This cpu is stable on stock voltage @600Mhz!! :D
CPU now on 5.5x115 633Mhz I have not gotten it stable on 120fsb a bit strange because my 533 can 3dmark 4.5x130fsb
GA5AX Rev 5.2 Might want to change caps as it's still original.
Graphic cards are. TNT Ultra, MX400, FX5200 pci, 9200SE, FX5900XT(nice look with LCD), FX5950 Ultra
OS: Win98SE, Win2K, XP SP2
Drivers, have tried so many that I do not know myself :p

GTA 3 runs great peaks 120fps if you look from above :p
Serious sam runs poor :(
Quake 3 70fps+
Quake 1 210fps best

CPU
Image
Athlon heat sink on my mill :D
Image
Done
Image
Image
Also note Vcc3
Image
Cards
Image
Personal best. With MX400 that responds to overclocking so I think GF2 Ultra might push it higher. (FX5950 for 3dmark 2001se 3500+ unoptimized)
Image
The case, still work in progress :)
Image
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby clueless1 » 2016-4-15 @ 15:43

Welcome!

Looks awesome. Very cool that you can achieve 600Mhz on your K6-3+ :). I love that you took the time to mill the heatsink flat too. :) Was it off by much?
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 3921
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Half-Saint » 2016-4-15 @ 16:19

clueless1 wrote:Welcome!

Looks awesome. Very cool that you can achieve 600Mhz on your K6-3+ :). I love that you took the time to mill the heatsink flat too. :) Was it off by much?


I believe he just used the mill to remove part of the heatsink which couldn't go over the caps.
Image
Image
User avatar
Half-Saint
Oldbie
 
Posts: 849
Joined: 2013-7-26 @ 04:27
Location: Slovenia

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2016-4-15 @ 16:53

Half-Saint wrote:
clueless1 wrote:Welcome!

Looks awesome. Very cool that you can achieve 600Mhz on your K6-3+ :). I love that you took the time to mill the heatsink flat too. :) Was it off by much?


I believe he just used the mill to remove part of the heatsink which couldn't go over the caps.


Yes that is correct :)
I would see it as a waste of time to lap for mobile K6 cpus :D

This PC is giving me a super hard time with ATI cards :( Hard lock
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2016-4-24 @ 14:03

Hey guys :)
I am so stoked :D Fraps 1.9D works on win98 :D

Serious sam runs at 150fps when you look at the ground and drops to 20s in heavy action I think(not sure as I was enjoying the game too much)

Still lots of work to do.

I want to make an external power source for the vcc3 and hold thumbs it aids in stability for more OC :D

Also still have to install the SSD
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2016-5-04 @ 17:29

Things are going slow :p

Got a Promise sata card. Windows 98 installs and then on reboot while still installing it says that the ssd has bad sectors :/
And some other read errors while installing.
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2016-12-17 @ 14:18

My new Geforce is on its way :D So excited!
Will keep you guys posted :)
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby mrau » 2016-12-17 @ 14:48

isnt windows 98 + ssd kind of a bad idea?
mrau
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1091
Joined: 2015-11-28 @ 12:43

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Tetrium » 2016-12-17 @ 18:52

Skalabala wrote:My new Geforce is on its way :D So excited!
Will keep you guys posted :)

Welcome aboard! :D
Yes I know I'm a bit late lol!

Seems you thought it out quite well, especially concerning your skills with modding heatsinks :D

Personally I don't like cases with handles on top, as I can't stack any other cases on top of it.

Nicely done! :D
User avatar
Tetrium
l33t++
 
Posts: 7733
Joined: 2010-1-27 @ 18:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby cdoublejj » 2016-12-17 @ 20:45

Kudos on the mill work.
User avatar
cdoublejj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1117
Joined: 2007-2-04 @ 19:48
Location: USA, MO

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2016-12-20 @ 15:51

mrau wrote:isnt windows 98 + ssd kind of a bad idea?


Yes it seems to be a bad idea :p

Thanks guys :)

I will be doing a volt mod on the motherboard some time so stay tuned for sparks :dead: :dead:
Volt mod should go as planned though, however its not the easiest thing to do.

I am getting a Geforce with DDR ram and I am actually thinking that the Geforce 2 GTS/Pro with the sdr/sgr ram will be faster?

And for the case I think I will change it for something more era correct like a full long tower so I can fit water cooling in it :p
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2017-1-02 @ 11:15

I got this case :)
What do you guys think?
I think I would like something more retro with the Mhz display in front! :blush:
But as we all know cases are getting scarcer by the day. And this one is in a very good condition!
Image
Image
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Richo » 2017-1-02 @ 14:32

Skalabala wrote:I got this case :)
What do you guys think?
I think I would like something more retro with the Mhz display in front! :blush:
But as we all know cases are getting scarcer by the day. And this one is in a very good condition!

The case looks great, barely any yellowing nor serious damage. Since its no a pre Pentium I I wouldn't use a Mhz display, its more suited for 486 and older.
Good job on the cooler mod.

I also had issues when trying to run serious sam on my PII, all my other games were np.
TX97-XE, P55C, S3Virge, Voodoo, AWE64
GA-60XT, Tualatin, Albatron Geforce4 4200TI
A7N8X Deluxe, Barton, A9800 XT
Strix X99, Haswell-E, Gigabyte Aorus Pascal
User avatar
Richo
Member
 
Posts: 417
Joined: 2016-11-13 @ 21:57
Location: Your local chemical plant

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2017-1-19 @ 07:06

Hi guys :)
Got the new card :) Chaintech Geforce 3Ti200 with 4ns ram
This is for sure the max the CPU can handle.
Where the cpu is not holding back the gpu the fps went from 130 to 210 :dead:

GTA 3 is smoother
Still have allot of tweeking to do.
However I think a 64mb Geforce 2 GTS/Ti is also a good choice.

Image
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2017-1-21 @ 07:38

My 3dmark 2000 scores are now about 50-100 points apart on 800x600 and 1024x768
Around 4700
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Living » 2017-1-21 @ 07:55

did you tried San Andreas?
User avatar
Living
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 2014-1-26 @ 20:01
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2017-1-21 @ 09:06

No, I think the K6 will die! Hahaha
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Skalabala » 2017-1-22 @ 19:13

I loose a whole 700 point in 3dmark going from 128mb to 256mb ram.
These ALi chipsets were really rushed into production.

I wonder how the GA5AX revision H does with 256mb.
Any idea if they have better memory bandwidth?
Skalabala
Member
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 2016-3-21 @ 21:34

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby Robert B » 2017-1-22 @ 19:38

I had the same dilema and I settled on 128MB. My Epox EP58 MVP3C-M rev 0.8 + regular AMD K6-2, can only cache 128MB RAM so any ammount higher will inccur a perfomance penalty.

Back in the day I'm sure that who bought K6-2 didnt have the money to buy even 128MB not to mention more.

http://www.philscomputerlab.com/amd-k6- ... 6-iii.html

Try another motherboard and tell us the results :)

L.E. - I saw that you have a K6-III+ so in theory you shouldnt have a problem 256MB vs 128MB.Maybe someone more knowledgeable can shed some light on the situation.
User avatar
Robert B
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: 2016-7-07 @ 15:57

Re: My K6 build :D

Postby jade_angel » 2017-1-23 @ 16:51

From Phil's benchmarks, it looks like the K6-III+ will lose a tiny bit of performance when going beyond 128MB of RAM, but the impact will be much less than for previous K6 variants due to the onboard L2. (You'll still lose a lot of the benefit from the L3, but due to the onboard L2, that hurts far less.) I'll run a few more tests myself once I have some more time, but my read on it is that with a K6-III+, there is a tiny but consistent and measurable decline in performance when exceeding 128MB. It will not be enough of a hit to take any game from playable to unplayable, though, while not having enough RAM could do that.

The real question, then, is whether you frequently end up swapping with 128MB. If so, you'll lose a lot more from swap-thrashing than from the cache issue, especially on a K6-III+, so go with more. (768 if you can get it and the board doesn't gag.) If not, then 128 is enough and there's no real reason to take the hit. Kinda depends on what you're trying to do.
Main Box: Ryzen-TR 1900X | GTX 1050/Radeon RX 580
98/2000 Box: PIII/866 | G400 MAX
PCI DOS Box: 5x86/133 | S3 Trio64/V2 PCI
VLB DOS box: 486DX4/100 | Cirrus GD5428 2MB
User avatar
jade_angel
Member
 
Posts: 354
Joined: 2017-1-03 @ 00:10
Location: Virginia

Next

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests