VOGONS

First post, by foey

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Wave-Master_zpstkfzwwck.jpg

Background
I've not built a Socket 462 for years. I've been building socket A machines since 2000, one of my first jobs was at a PC shop and used to build a number a week. All of my recent retro machines have been PIIIs or P4s, anything I didn't have back in the day. So why this build? I have a top end P4 build, a top end PIII build so wanted something in between - however, I wanted it to be flexible. I have a number of AGP graphics cards ranging from ATi Rage Maxx, Voodoo 5 5500, Matrox G400 MAX e.t.c. that I wanted to use in something a little more powerful. The board was key here, the MSI KT3 supports, AGP x2 & x4 and supporting 333 XP Processors. Whilst the current processor is a XP2100, this will soon be replaced with a 2500+

Specifications
CPU AMD XP 2100+, 1.73Ghz
Motherboard MSI KT3 Ultra2 Motherboard, K7 333mhz
RAM 1Gb DDR 333mhz CL2.5 RAM or 2Gb DDR266 CL2.5 Ram
Primary Graphics Card 256mb Geforce FX5900 Ultra
Sound Card Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
NIC SiteCom PCI Network 10/100 Adapter
Storage 40Gb Western Digital 7200rpm IDE Hard Drive (To be upgraded)
Optical 16x DVD-ROM Drive
Optical Mitsumi CR-48XCTE 40/20/48 Drive
Extra Creative Audigy Live Drive
PSU Antec 450w PSU
Case Cooler Master Wave Master

The Case
One of the main reason for the build! I love the old school CoolerMaster cases, just classic. I was browsing my local gumtree and came across a Wave Master for £12, I also checked out his other items and he had a Creative Audigy with a live drive for £7! I snapped it up.

Cooler-master-wave1_zpsduwyvscy.jpg

Case-Inside-Empty_zpsrqh1ilzk.jpg

The motherboard arrived with the Heatsink fan attached. I took it off and greeted with this...

Motherboard-first_zps3ncmtclc.jpg

The Creative Sound Blaster Audigy complete with the breakout box

SB-Aud_zpswcrec2l3.jpg