My Schneider AT Towers

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby tombuutkamp » 2017-10-27 @ 21:21

derSammler wrote:Was the PSU already dead when you got it, or was the system working and failed recently?

The system worked when I got it, but it failed when I touched the back panel of the tower to fasten the VGA cable.
tombuutkamp
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-10-16 @ 12:43

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby derSammler » 2017-11-03 @ 17:20

Measurements so far:

blue = gnd
yellow = 5v
orange = 12v

The remaining pins are -12v and power good (conn.1) and power on (conn.2). Can't tell what is -12v and what is power good on conn.1, since I don't get any values. Might be my cheap multimeter, or my PSU isn't fully working and -12v is missing. In that case, it's most likely not needed to power the system anyway.
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2339
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby Jo22 » 2017-11-05 @ 20:55

I'm speaking under correction, but I believe some older computers generated their own -5v, by using an existing -12v line.
So in case there's an 7905 (-5v) on the mainboard, someone might be able to trace down the -12v line.
Anyway, it's just an idea and no advice. Good luck with the repair, though!
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3881
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby derSammler » 2019-7-10 @ 17:58

Just set up my Schneider VGA AT System 70 CEG only to find out that the PSU is no longer working. Was still fine when I put the system into storage about a year ago. :angry: Have to disassemble it anyway to do some hardware changes, but repairing the PSU was not planned...

Interestingly, the Schneider Tower AT System 202, which is two years older (1988 vs. 1990) still works like a charm. Even with the now 31 year-old MFM hard disk. :lol:
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2339
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby Jo22 » 2019-7-15 @ 22:33

Sorry to hear! :(
Not sure if I can help, but..

If you're going to repair the PSU, you may also have a look at the diodes (black with white ring or glass with red ring).
They should be located on the right side of the main PCB.. Replacing them with stronger 1N4007s should do, if memory serves.

Also watch out for the bigger caps and that big power mosfet.
Checking the voltage regulators may also help. Becareful with getting replacements, though.

The normal types (esp those. for the 5v line) that are commonly sold are rated 0.5 to 1.5 Watt only.
The parts installed are the more obscure 2 Watt types (though a 1.5W type may also do).
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3881
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby Half-Saint » 2019-7-17 @ 06:50

Cool looking 80s design :-)
Image
Image
User avatar
Half-Saint
Oldbie
 
Posts: 849
Joined: 2013-7-26 @ 04:27
Location: Slovenia

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby dr.zeissler » 2019-7-17 @ 07:34

I have 5 machines, but I did not have started them over the last 12 months. Perhaps my Systems have died too :(
I'll have to check that out soon.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby derSammler » 2019-7-17 @ 07:42

The PSU only needs new caps. They have become dry and the control circuit doesn't come up due to this. Repair is planned, but currently I'm working on my Amiga 2000, so it may take a while.
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2339
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby dr.zeissler » 2019-7-17 @ 08:11

btw. what are you doing on the a2000?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: My Schneider AT Towers

Postby derSammler » 2019-7-17 @ 08:16

Building it up. ;) Since yesterday, it's running stable, after having had some serious trouble with the Kickstart ROM and the Agnus - the pins had bad contact to the socket, leading to all kind of funny errors. Now I need to get the PC part done.
derSammler
l33t
 
Posts: 2339
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jmarsh and 6 guests