Tulip pc compact 2

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby seob » 2017-7-13 @ 22:04

Also check the jumpers on the mainboard. They need to be set acording to the displaycard u use.
IMG_0184.PNG

IMG_0185.PNG
User avatar
seob
Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: 2015-6-02 @ 21:03
Location: Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-14 @ 07:00

I noticed that as well in the manual, I will check everything tonight. I don think anyone has ever changed the DIPs and jumpers in the system though, but I have to check :)

I will be on the lookout for somebody capable of doing this, might be a bit hard to find. Maybe a TV shop that has been around for a long time.

seob wrote:Also check the jumpers on the mainboard. They need to be set acording to the displaycard u use.
<snip>
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-14 @ 19:08

No thanks neccesary, it wasn't a lot of work.

I put the jumpers on the card in CGA 40 mode, and also the jumper on the mainboard. I get the same distorted images (and also more beeps during post, but I can't read the screen so not sure if there is an error. This is Norton Commander with the system set to CGA 40:

Image

This leaves me with 3 things possibly broken (or a config problem), in order of likelyhood:

Monitor
Video card
Cable (unlikely, it looks just fine)

I don't have another EGA (or CGA) monitor or video adapter I think, but will check.

keropi wrote:Mega thanks for the manual Cyrix200+ , that info was lost in time until now! :blush:
And yes, your EGA monitor should support 15 and 21khz, it seems that the sync circuit for 15khz has some issues... is there a technician nearby you can have it serviced?

What happens if you set the card's SW1~SW4 as ON-OFF-OFF-ON (cga compatible) ? Do you get anything on boot?
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Jed118 » 2017-7-14 @ 21:39

The old drive - Pick it up, and evenly smack it on a counter from a height of about 3 inches. Make sure it lands flush.

Plug it back in - I bet it works.
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-14 @ 21:43

hmmmm
maybe you need to invest in a clone cga or ega card, something cheap just to check if it's the monitor or the card. If something is broken then I hope it's the EGA card since you can just replace it.
The cable is easily checked with a multimeter, should be a straight pin-pin connection. Infact if you have a DB9 cable you can test with it (not a NULL MODEM one)
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Jo22 » 2017-7-15 @ 01:08

Good idea, I'd also suggest to stick the EGA card into another old computer, if available.
Just to make sure there's no other hidden compatibility issue (unstable clock signal, etc). ;)
Jo22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1898
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-15 @ 04:55

Unfortunately, I have never seen EGA stuff for sale locally and I' m a bit afraid for eBay prices. I'll have a look though.

I have a Hercules compatible card somewhere, but I don't think I can use that for testing right?

Testing it in another system will take some time, but I have more than enough stuff to test with.

keropi wrote:hmmmm
maybe you need to invest in a clone cga or ega card, something cheap just to check if it's the monitor or the card. If something is broken then I hope it's the EGA card since you can just replace it.
The cable is easily checked with a multimeter, should be a straight pin-pin connection. Infact if you have a DB9 cable you can test with it (not a NULL MODEM one)
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby seob » 2017-7-15 @ 06:36

True. Ega never seemed to be really popular here in the Netherlands. Haven't seen a Ega card for sale for ages?
User avatar
seob
Member
 
Posts: 207
Joined: 2015-6-02 @ 21:03
Location: Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-15 @ 19:32

Well, I emailed 'the guy with the huge heap of retro stuff for sale' on our local craigslist (Marktplaats), but he couldn't find the EGA card he was advertising...
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-15 @ 21:52

Hercules is another beast, don't try it with your EGA monitor. There are some cheap cards on eBay like these, maybe you can grab one to test?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rare-Vintage- ... Swcj5ZXxna
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GTI-Graphmast ... Sw6ShZSlf8
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby SpectriaForce » 2017-7-15 @ 22:34

Cyrix200+ wrote:Well, I emailed 'the guy with the huge heap of retro stuff for sale' on our local craigslist (Marktplaats), but he couldn't find the EGA card he was advertising...


Just sent you a PM.
Win2K keeps the headache of an activation loop away!
Custom Asus TUF X299 Mark 1
Custom Asus P5E
Custom Intel DH61AG
Custom HP XW6200
Custom PCCHIPS M935CG
Custom IBM Aptiva 2176-442
Custom AST Bravo LC 4/33s
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Newbie
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-16 @ 11:58

keropi wrote:Hercules is another beast, don't try it with your EGA monitor. There are some cheap cards on eBay like these, maybe you can grab one to test?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rare-Vintage- ... Swcj5ZXxna
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GTI-Graphmast ... Sw6ShZSlf8


Thanks! If I have to guess what the problem is, my first guess is the monitor so am think I'm going to open it up and do a careful visual inspection. I want to check the caps in there as well, although my guess is that they are fine.

One of those cards is a 16 bit ISA, would that work?
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-16 @ 12:18

^ yes it will though the 9pin port it has
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-16 @ 21:07

keropi wrote:^ yes it will though the 9pin port it has


The PC onli has 8 bit ISA slots, will that 16 bit ISA card work?
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-16 @ 21:28

I opened the monitor today, everything is very clean, nothing defective noticable. The same for the card. I also used a multimeter to check the cable, all pins are connected. I'm guessing it's the monitor.
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-16 @ 22:55

Cyrix200+ wrote:
keropi wrote:^ yes it will though the 9pin port it has


The PC onli has 8 bit ISA slots, will that 16 bit ISA card work?


yes, these old cards work fine in both 8 and 16bit slots
I would still try another EGA card before messing with the monitor - just to be sure.
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-17 @ 20:01

keropi wrote:
Cyrix200+ wrote:
keropi wrote:^ yes it will though the 9pin port it has


The PC onli has 8 bit ISA slots, will that 16 bit ISA card work?


yes, these old cards work fine in both 8 and 16bit slots
I would still try another EGA card before messing with the monitor - just to be sure.


Thanks, good to know! Yes, my plan is to try all non-invasive options before messing with the monitor (or adapter). Now if I could only borrow a CGA/EGA monitor or adapter somewhere...

I tested the adapter in another system, just something I grabbed from the shelf. Turned out to be a TX chipset based motherboard with a Cyrix PR200MX CPU :) Lovely :) Same issue though, so it doesn' t seem to be a problem with the Tulip PC itself.

Image
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-17 @ 20:47

Does the monitor have any H.HOLD potentiometers? Either internal or front/back? Maybe it worths to mess a little with them (mark their original position first so you can revert!) and see if fixes things. Maybe you have 2 sets of H.HOLD like my Hyundai EGA monitor:

Image

Apparently I is for 15khz and II is for 21khz. Give it a shot!
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2017-7-17 @ 20:50

keropi wrote:Does the monitor have any H.HOLD potentiometers? Either internal or front/back? Maybe it worths to mess a little with them (mark their original position first so you can revert!) and see if fixes things. Maybe you have 2 sets of H.HOLD like my Hyundai EGA monitor:

Image

Apparently I is for 15khz and II is for 21khz. Give it a shot!


Nothing on the outside, but I opened up the monitor and found a lot of pot meters inside. I need more documentation before trying anything. H.HOLD was not one of the potmeters I saw, but there were a few that were explicitely labeled 15khz.
Chaintech 6ITM | Pentium Pro 200MHz | Matrox G200 | SCSI | Windows NT4
AOpen AX59Pro | AMD K6-3+ 450MHz | Windows 98SE
Tyan Tiger 230T | 2x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz | ATi Radeon 9100 | Aureal Vortex 2 | Windows 2000
-
Image gallery | Inventory
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Tulip pc compact 2

Postby keropi » 2017-7-17 @ 20:59

Did you made a list of the pot names?
Thing is that since there are no outside pots then 99% it's not a case of one being set wrong... it even points out to a fault in 15khz sync section of the chassis but in order to be sure you must test either with another ega or another ega system that is verified to work OK...
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5643
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

PreviousNext

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests