My Pentium 133 build

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-03 @ 09:36

Installed Win98 SE yesterday.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2017-12-03 @ 12:45

derSammler wrote:I own a Neptune, but that only supports P75 and P90.


I'm pretty sure if it supported the P90, it should also support the P100 as those two chips were released at the same time. The P75 came out a bit later. Perhaps your board doesn't like 66MHz bus speeds?
Anyway, I am quite certain that at least certain versions of Neptune support the P133, otherwise the P133 wouldn't have had a high end platform for the first 6 months it was out.

One thing is certain though, your HX will be a hell of a lot faster than the Neptune.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2829
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-03 @ 14:16

At least my Neptune board only has a single jumper that you can set to either "P75" or "P90". No way to set bus speed and multiplier.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby matze79 » 2017-12-03 @ 14:49

i also have a neptun board only supporting p90 and p75, there is no way set a fsb higher then 60mhz.
its one of the earliest pentium boards with socket 5 released.
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2017-12-03 @ 15:26

It's interesting, and I'd like to know the reason why your boards don't have a 66MHz bus setting. Maybe the yields on Neptune were low at 66MHz and Intel sold off the rejects for use at 50/60MHz only? The Neptune was obviously designed with 66MHz in mind, and it was pretty clear that the Pentium CPUs with a 66MHz bus were the ones that people wanted. Even with the release of the original P5, everyone was anticipating the 3.3V 100MHz model. The 90 and 100MHz parts came out a full six months before the 75, so if the boards you have specifically support the 75, although they are early they are certainly not the earliest for socket 5. I really wish there was more information available on the 430NX, but even back then it was pretty hard to get details it seems. The best way to learn about these things is old issues of things like PC Magazine. Recently I recall reading about a roundup of Pentium systems (I believe there was a 120 or 133MHz model in that roundup) based on either Neptune or Triton chipsets. I should look that one over again.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2829
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-03 @ 16:24

This is my Neptune board, btw:

Image

Completely untouched since 1994 with original CPU and RAM.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-03 @ 21:23

Installed the two supported USB ports today only to find out that USB 1.0 is really useless - even my oldest USB thumb drive does not go lower than USB 1.1. Anyway, at least I can use them as a +5V power source. :)

Also prepared an ALS100+ sound card with Dreamblaster S2 for installation tomorrow.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby matze79 » 2017-12-04 @ 06:58

Ah i have the same Motherboard :)
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-04 @ 08:11

Never seen a different one anyway. ;)
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-04 @ 18:57

Installed the ALS100+ sound card with Dreamblaster S2 -> works nicely.

Also installed a Ricoh CardBus PCI card, so I can use CF cards to transfer larger stuff later. :)
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2017-12-05 @ 03:02

That looks like an Intel board. There are others based on this chipset, but many are OEM.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2829
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-05 @ 21:00

IMG_20171205_211619082.jpg
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-08 @ 17:11

Finally installed all drives. From top to bottom: CD-RW, 5.25" HD, Zip100, 3.5" HD.

IMG_20171208_180734089~2.jpg
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby oeuvre » 2017-12-08 @ 20:01

Looks much better with the gaps filled in
Dell Optiplex GXa Pentium II 266MHz, 256MB, ATI Rage XL, IBM HD, SB16, DOS/3.11/98
i7 6700K, 32GB, EVGA GTX970, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-08 @ 20:34

Very true. Now I have to fill all those ISA/PCI slots, as I don't like gaps there either. ;)
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-09 @ 09:50

Played pod on it yesterday for half an hour, runs perfectly fine in 800x600 with full details. So from the hardware side, I consider it finished. :D (for now)
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-09 @ 17:44

Cable mess. ;)

IMG_20171209_183916746~2.jpg
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby SW-SSG » 2017-12-09 @ 18:46

The "dual-chambered" design of that case reminds me of Antec NSK34xx.

Image

I guess your AT case doesn't have as much airflow in the bottom chamber, though. What are the temps like?
[ThinkPad A30] PIII-M 1133MHz, 256MB PC-133, 30GB 4200RPM, ATI R7000 16MB, 15" 1024x768px, WinXP Pro+Win98SE
User avatar
SW-SSG
Member
 
Posts: 464
Joined: 2016-9-29 @ 03:44
Location: Canada

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-10 @ 19:19

No idea about the temps, so far I only had it running with the case open.

Now, however, it's finished. Added an Adaptec AVA-1505 which I had lying around today and covered the two remaining free slots. The AVA-1505 is quite cool as it has a Mac compatible DB-25 connector, so I can connect the same SCSI devices I use on my classic Macs using the same cables. And it's from 1997 - fitting perfectly. :)

Will probably do a 12/24h burn-in test with the case closed next.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My Pentium 133 build

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-11 @ 17:44

Some final detail added. :)

IMG_20171211_183536796.jpg
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JodieC and 1 guest