My MMX rig

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

My MMX rig

Postby weldum » 2017-12-28 @ 06:44

Hi, i'm planning on make a post of every machine that i have, i wonder if is there a problem if i want to make a post per machine.

Well, let's go to the specs:

CPU: Intel Pentium MMX 200
Mobo: PCChips M558
Chipset: Utron VXPro II :dead:
RAM: 64MB EDO? (don't know how to differenciate in between EDO and FPM)
Cache: 512kb on board
Video: Trident 9440 1MB PCI (trying to get something better, something in the lines of the riva 128 4mb or a rage pro turbo at least) -if someone knows a way to put AGP cards in PCI let me know how-
Sound: Crystal CX4237B-X03 based ISA (don't know the manufacturer or the model so no DOS drivers and no DOS support :depressed: )
NIC: Realtek 8139C based Fast Ethernet PCI
HDD: Maxtor 8GB IDE
OS: Windows ME (later I will put the DOS real mode patch)
PSU AT generic
Generic ATX case

Any further details anyone want to know, let me know.

A little bit of history:

Well, this board was not working. After recap, the board seems to work perfect, aside the bios and chipset.
I had in a box waiting to be diagnosed. Now that's working I want to make some benchs and put some games on it.
Have to check if there is some bios update (doesn't matter if is not official) to support better processors or simply to get any NT based os to work (these doesn't work because of not detecting the IDE controller).
Wanted to use a USB controller to get Flash drives to work but in Windows ME my ALI USB PCI card is very buggy. Also have a NEC card but seems to have the same problems.
Now have everything over LAN sharing because that's the only way for me to put programs and games on that PC.
In reality I want to keep it with the Pentium MMX 200 or maybe get it to work at 75MHz FSB because the K6-2 is like playing Monster Truck Madness on a Core 2 Duo in XP, is no fun. Also this processor is more than capable. and without GPU is useless to further upgrade it.

Now some benchmarks:

Windows ME

Phil's Dos Benchmarks:
3DBench 1.0: 90.9
3DBench 1.0C: 84.7
PCPlayer Benchmark: 33.1
PCPlayer Benchmark 640x480: 11.6
Doom Min: 371 realtics
Doom Max: 1515 realtics
SI 8.0: 677.9
Landmark: 160MHz AT 341 MHz FPU (1602.30 MHz CPU - 3413.11 MHz FPU - 9452.31 chr/ms)
TOPBENCH: 377
Speedsys: CPU 149.04 (in the posted image are the details)
Image

Final Reality Software: 0.71 (1.20 2D - 0.37 3D - 0.97 Bus)

More benchmars later (please recomend me some benchs)

Thanks.

PD: the machine now uses a Realtek 8029AS NIC and Windows 98SE, also changed the VGA to an Alliance AT24 with 1MB

benchs in 98SE

Phil's Dos Benchmarks:
3DBench 1.0: 90.9 FPS
3DBench 1.0C: 83.8 FPS
Chris's 3DBench: 142.7 - 85.6 FPS
Chris's 3DBench 640x480: 35.4 - 21.2 FPS
PCPlayer Benchmark: 35.8 FPS
PCPlayer Benchmark 640x480: 11.7 FPS
Doom Min: 390 realtics
Doom Max: 1443 realtics
Quake: 30.7 FPS
Quake 360x480: 11.9 FPS
SI 8.0: 677.9
Landmark: 160MHz AT 341 MHz FPU (1602.30 MHz CPU - 3413.11 MHz FPU - 7992.20 chr/ms)
TOPBENCH: 288
Speedsys: CPU 149.04

Final Reality Software: 0.71 (1.20 2D - 0.37 3D - 0.97 Bus)
PerformanceTest 5.0: 7.3 PassMark
PerformanceTest 6.0: 8.1 PassMark
Last edited by weldum on 2018-1-04 @ 05:58, edited 4 times in total.
With more than 15 computers, my room looks like a computer store :lol:
I believe that I like to write a lot of irrelevant content in my posts :happy:
386SX 25-PMMX 225-P2 466-C3 800-P3 900-Duron 892-Atom 1.6-P4 2.26-P4HT 3.0-i3 2.5-Celeron 3.5-FX 4.0
User avatar
weldum
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 07:25
Location: Mendoza-Arg

Re: My MMX rig

Postby Jed118 » 2017-12-28 @ 06:50

Out of curiosity, how do you store all your computers? I have 4 connected to a KVM, so single key/mouse/monitor, and two more with their own CRT monitors. The rest have to be either set up to be used, or are laptops.
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: My MMX rig

Postby weldum » 2017-12-28 @ 06:58

Well, have some laptops but the computers are set when were to be used. Have all kinds of CRT but now, mainly because of space and heat, i'm using a LCD monitor. Have a kvm-like switch for monitor only but because doesn't pass the DDC information to the pc, is stored.

The problem (or maybe my problem only) is that i don't make computers to represent generations, don't have a clear parameter. Some of my builds are a little bit useless but unusual, and some are very useful but standard.
With more than 15 computers, my room looks like a computer store :lol:
I believe that I like to write a lot of irrelevant content in my posts :happy:
386SX 25-PMMX 225-P2 466-C3 800-P3 900-Duron 892-Atom 1.6-P4 2.26-P4HT 3.0-i3 2.5-Celeron 3.5-FX 4.0
User avatar
weldum
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 07:25
Location: Mendoza-Arg

Re: My MMX rig

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-28 @ 07:29

weldum wrote:RAM: 64MB EDO? (don't know how to differenciate in between EDO and FPM)

Just look at the chips. If the last two digits before the speed are 00 (eg. xxx400-70), then it's fast-page. Otherwise it's EDO.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1462
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: My MMX rig

Postby dionb » 2017-12-28 @ 09:52

M558... that brings back memories. Probably the most obscure chipset even PC Chips ever used. I remember it not being able to run Linux (at least, not the Knoppix LiveCD I used around 2005-ish). It looked like it was BIOS/IRQ related, and certainly IRQs were a mess on that thing, which might be why the USB cards aren't working. Then again, running WinME on obscure hardware is pretty masochistic at the best of times. Maybe you'd have more luck with Win98SE.
User avatar
dionb
Oldbie
 
Posts: 736
Joined: 2017-12-23 @ 15:35
Location: Amsterdam

Re: My MMX rig

Postby weldum » 2017-12-28 @ 12:41

dionb wrote:M558... that brings back memories. Probably the most obscure chipset even PC Chips ever used. I remember it not being able to run Linux (at least, not the Knoppix LiveCD I used around 2005-ish). It looked like it was BIOS/IRQ related, and certainly IRQs were a mess on that thing, which might be why the USB cards aren't working. Then again, running WinME on obscure hardware is pretty masochistic at the best of times. Maybe you'd have more luck with Win98SE.


Maybe you're right about being masochistic :lol:
The only reason it has WinME is because the integrated uSB drivers and LAN drivers, if I want LAN right out of the box in 98se have to put a Realtek 8029as that's a little bit fiddly and sometimes doesn't work right.

In reality the problems experienced with usb are nothing new, these two cards (ALI and NEC) were never working properly in Win98se or ME. start working well but after installing anything USB it starts to fail, the devices aren't detected, aren't installed or even get bluescreeens all over the place.
that happened in this machine, in p3 machines, in k6-2 machines, in almost every machine i've tried them with both 98se (with native usb drivers 3.3) and with ME, but in 2000/XP these cards works perfect, so no broken cards but more of a compatibility issue.
With more than 15 computers, my room looks like a computer store :lol:
I believe that I like to write a lot of irrelevant content in my posts :happy:
386SX 25-PMMX 225-P2 466-C3 800-P3 900-Duron 892-Atom 1.6-P4 2.26-P4HT 3.0-i3 2.5-Celeron 3.5-FX 4.0
User avatar
weldum
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 07:25
Location: Mendoza-Arg

Re: My MMX rig

Postby weldum » 2017-12-28 @ 14:09

derSammler wrote:
weldum wrote:RAM: 64MB EDO? (don't know how to differenciate in between EDO and FPM)

Just look at the chips. If the last two digits before the speed are 00 (eg. xxx400-70), then it's fast-page. Otherwise it's EDO.


The chips used are these:

Sticks 1 and 2: 9732 P USA MT4C4M4E8DJ -6
Stick 3: TI -60 TMS417409ADJ VE 79AOTE P
Stick 4: LGS GM71C17403CJ6 9734 KOREA

After some searching it turns out these are EDO and, -60 is good for EDO?

These sticks are 8 chips per stick, have another pair of sticks that are 16MB each but these are 8 chips double sided, and in some boards doesn't worked well, don't know why, also these are EDO because it says on the sticker (EDO Compaq)

As it turns out almost all of my SIMM72 memory sticks are EDO, with -60 or -70, my only 4MB stick is FPM (8 chips SS) and have 4 8MB sticks that are FPM (16 chips DS), all of the other 8MB sticks are EDO
With more than 15 computers, my room looks like a computer store :lol:
I believe that I like to write a lot of irrelevant content in my posts :happy:
386SX 25-PMMX 225-P2 466-C3 800-P3 900-Duron 892-Atom 1.6-P4 2.26-P4HT 3.0-i3 2.5-Celeron 3.5-FX 4.0
User avatar
weldum
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 07:25
Location: Mendoza-Arg

Re: My MMX rig

Postby weldum » 2018-1-02 @ 06:26

EDIT: The processor now runs at 225 MHz, due to the FSB being 75MHz, the boost is not very noticeable, but still worth, so there are new benchs:

Phil's Dos Benchmarks:
3DBench 1.0: 90.9 FPS
3DBench 1.0C: 89.3 FPS
Chris's 3DBench: 153.5 - 92.1 FPS
Chris's 3DBench 640x480: 37.1 - 22.3 FPS
PCPlayer Benchmark: 39.8 FPS
PCPlayer Benchmark 640x480: 12.9 FPS
Doom Min: 364 realtics (205 FPS)
Doom Max: 1383 realtics (54 FPS)
Quake: 34.2 FPS
Quake 360x480: 13 FPS
SI 8.0: 763.9
Landmark: 180MHz AT 384 MHz FPU (1805.49 MHz CPU - 3845.91 MHz FPU - 7992.20 chr/ms)
TOPBENCH: 287
Speedsys: CPU 167.93
Memory bandwidth: 90.53 MB/s
L1: 395.79 MB/s
L2: 154.96 MB/s
Throughput: 68.64 MB/s

Final Reality Software: 0.83 (1.46 2D - 0.40 3D - 1.16 Bus)
PerformanceTest 5.0: 8.1 PassMark
PerformanceTest 6.0: 9.0 PassMark

There are no game benchmarks because don't know how to make it and also because this rig lacks 3d acceleration.
With more than 15 computers, my room looks like a computer store :lol:
I believe that I like to write a lot of irrelevant content in my posts :happy:
386SX 25-PMMX 225-P2 466-C3 800-P3 900-Duron 892-Atom 1.6-P4 2.26-P4HT 3.0-i3 2.5-Celeron 3.5-FX 4.0
User avatar
weldum
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 07:25
Location: Mendoza-Arg


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests