Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Zorix » 2018-10-29 @ 16:52

Do you happen to have a master CD for the "Multi-Media" version of the PB410 or PB420 series? That was my first PC and the master CD was lost. I do have the master diskette boot disk that would then use the cd-rom to load the OS. The reason I got the Legend 760 was because it's the closest to that model I have seen for a reasonable price. Same motherboard, just didn't have the sound card or cd-rom drive.

You sure have a nice collection of Packard Bell computers! Should take a picture of them sometime. I would be interested in seeing them.
Thanks.
Zorix
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2004-10-15 @ 03:15
Location: Florida

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby mperu99 » 2018-10-30 @ 03:20

Zorix, how do you want me to contact you? so i can send you the link
mperu99
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 02:28

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Zorix » 2018-10-30 @ 12:12

You can send a private message right here. Thanks.
Zorix
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2004-10-15 @ 03:15
Location: Florida

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2018-10-30 @ 16:47

Fantastic !
Great job !

Comment:
You can use lubercant and Isopropyl alcohol to restore the floppy drives.
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby mperu99 » 2018-10-30 @ 16:54

Zorix wrote:You can send a private message right here. Thanks.


I do not see a private message link or button to send you a PM
mperu99
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 02:28

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Zorix » 2018-10-30 @ 18:46

Intel486dx33 wrote:Fantastic !
Great job !

Comment:
You can use lubercant and Isopropyl alcohol to restore the floppy drives.


Thanks. I used lithium grease on the gears and the slide rails, and isopropyl for the heads. I haven't tested them since I try not to use floppy disks but i treated them right. They were later removed and put into antistatic bags and put into my collection storage for future use.
Zorix
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2004-10-15 @ 03:15
Location: Florida

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Zorix » 2018-10-30 @ 18:47

mperu99 wrote:
Zorix wrote:You can send a private message right here. Thanks.


I do not see a private message link or button to send you a PM


It's on the left side as a button under the avatar. It's a button that looks like a chess pawn or something like that.
Thanks.
Zorix
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2004-10-15 @ 03:15
Location: Florida

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby mperu99 » 2018-10-30 @ 20:06

Zorix,

I am not authorized yet to do private messages... so just email me mperu99@yahoo.com

We are sorry, but you are not authorised to use this feature. You may have just registered here and may need to participate more to be able to use this feature.
mperu99
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-10-29 @ 02:28

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Battler » 2019-7-08 @ 23:22

What exact Multi-I/O chip does it use? I know it's ACC3221, but I can't make it out from the photo if it's 3221-SP, -DP, or -EP.
Battler
Newbie
 
Posts: 93
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 21:27

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Zorix » 2019-7-08 @ 23:59

I zoomed in and it says SP on it. I would look at it closer but it's all assembled on the table and id have to take a lot of it apart, including the custom modem that sits on top of it. But I can clearly see the SP at the end in the picture.
Zorix
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2004-10-15 @ 03:15
Location: Florida

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby amadeus777999 » 2019-7-10 @ 16:30

Very nice Job!

The mainboard looks pretty modern and compact.
How's the video output signal quality & Have you updated the cpu?
User avatar
amadeus777999
Oldbie
 
Posts: 650
Joined: 2013-7-04 @ 17:04

Re: Packard Bell Legend 760 Supreme restoration

Postby Zorix » 2019-7-10 @ 16:40

I haven't done too much with it lately. I fully upgraded the CPU cache, the video ram, and got a DX2/66 but haven't installed that one yet. I put in a CD-ROM drive and a CF adapter for the IDE hard drive and a Gotek floppy emulator. Haven't touched it in a while. It did inspire me to work on my next project, replacing the CD-ROM with an emulator, so I designed a PCB to do that and I'm working on the logic side of that now. WIll be a while before I can get anything working yet but it will go into this machine first.
Zorix
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2004-10-15 @ 03:15
Location: Florida

Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Robert B and 1 guest