1994.10 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: 1994 Q4 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby arncht » 2018-9-06 @ 14:06

jul 2018

backup cards. the alternative ct1690 also can be good as a sony cd controller.
these gus pair had nicer pcb color, than my original gus - i replaced it.

Creative Sound Blaster Pro 2.0 CT1690 rev 02 ISA DSP3.02, YMF262 OPL3
Gravis Ultrasound 3.74 1M ISA
Gravis Ultrasound 3.74 1M ISA
Attachments
20180715_104923.jpg
20180714_092408.jpg
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: 1994 Q4 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby arncht » 2018-9-06 @ 14:08

aug 2018

Sony CDU-55E 2x CD-ROM IDE

finally i found a good condition 1994 drive. it is less yellowish, than my 1995 sony drive!
Attachments
20180815_202632.jpg
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: 1994 Q4 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2018-9-06 @ 16:19

What operating systems are you running ?
With a CF card and adapter you could just swap out CF cards to load different operating systems, Not to mention that they are Silent, inexpensive and FAST.


Video
https://youtu.be/VWfTgga7rmA?t=248
Attachments
CF adapter.jpg
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 778
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: 1994 Q4 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby arncht » 2018-9-06 @ 17:48

Msdos622

I like the authentic noises :) it is the part of the computer.
Somewhere we build a vintage pc, because they are slow.
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria


Re: 1994 Q4 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2018-9-07 @ 03:04

arncht wrote:Msdos622

I like the authentic noises :) it is the part of the computer.
Somewhere we build a vintage pc, because they are slow.


I use a conventional hard-drive too.
But I think I am going to switch to a CF cards because I want to enjoy the audio from the sound cards which is more important to me.
Also I think they are pretty cool and convenient. Better than a ZIP drive.
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 778
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: 1994 Q4 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby chinny22 » 2018-9-07 @ 10:43

Intel486dx33 wrote:
arncht wrote:Msdos622

I like the authentic noises :) it is the part of the computer.
Somewhere we build a vintage pc, because they are slow.


I use a conventional hard-drive too.
But I think I am going to switch to a CF cards because I want to enjoy the audio from the sound cards which is more important to me.
Also I think they are pretty cool and convenient. Better than a ZIP drive.


What I do is have a standard hard drive as C:\ for the authentic noises during boot.
and a CF card as my D:\ for all my games, where the sound isn't important anymore and speed is maybe a benefit.
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2005
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: 1994.10 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby arncht » 2018-11-06 @ 20:03

Western Digital Caviar 2700 730M
i hope without head stuck :) we will see after months.
Attachments
20181023_195453.jpg
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: 1994.10 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2018-11-07 @ 02:00

The problem with your hercules dynamite power card is that the solder holding on the surface mount components is getting loose. You just need to find the bad pin and reflow the solder. I have a Dynamite Power and a Terminator 64/DRAM that both have the same issue.

Can you provide some benchmark results from the ARK1000 card? I could never really getting 0WS working properly with mine at any speed.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2853
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: 1994.10 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby arncht » 2018-11-07 @ 09:51

yes, you are right. i planned earlier to fix it in a professional lab - i cannot do that. i discussed with them, they had the same conclusion. maybe in the future... :)

i have many benchmarks:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... sp=sharing
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: 1994.10 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby arncht » 2018-11-24 @ 06:55

Anonymous Coward wrote:The problem with your hercules dynamite power card is that the solder holding on the surface mount components is getting loose. You just need to find the bad pin and reflow the solder. I have a Dynamite Power and a Terminator 64/DRAM that both have the same issue.

Can you provide some benchmark results from the ARK1000 card? I could never really getting 0WS working properly with mine at any speed.


Could you tell me, which was the buggy part on your vlb card?
User avatar
arncht
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 2017-7-25 @ 07:36
Location: Vienna / Austria

Re: 1994.10 - DX4 100, S3 Vision864, Sound Blaster Pro 2.0, Gravis Ultrasound, Roland MT-32, Roland SC-55

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2018-11-24 @ 11:53

On my Dynamite Power, it was one of the DRAM ICs.
The text mode graphics were all messed up. While the system was running, I put pressure on each IC until the image returned to normal. I think I used a 15W soldering iron to reflow the solder on each pin of the bad chip, and it's working again.

I believe it is also the DRAM on my Terminator/64, but I haven't gotten around to fixing it yet because the problem is intermittent.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2853
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China


Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: athlon-power and 4 guests