(The Tuala-Bus) Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+ Live, Voodoo4 4500 Rambus rig

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

(The Tuala-Bus) Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+ Live, Voodoo4 4500 Rambus rig

Postby mastergamma12 » 2019-1-25 @ 08:05

UPDATED BUILD PIC A FEW POSTS BELOW

So I decided to put together a Pentium III Rig with a Asus P3C-E and a Tualatin 1.4GHZ P3

Full Specs
Intel Pentium III-S 1.4GHZ Tualatin
Asus P3C-E
512MB PC800 ECC 45ns RDRAM
MSI Geforce3 Ti200
Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Quantum Fireball 30GB

Image

Image
Last edited by mastergamma12 on 2019-1-30 @ 07:04, edited 4 times in total.
Asus P3C-E Pentium III-S 1.4ghz,512MB PC800 RDRAM,3dfx Voodoo4 4500,SB AWE64 Gold + SB Live[98]
EVGA 790i SLI FTW Core 2 Quad Q9550,4GB DDR3,8800 GTX,X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty[XP]
User avatar
mastergamma12
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-4-20 @ 19:27
Location: Earth

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby Weebob » 2019-1-25 @ 08:55

Cool, I have never had anything with rambus in it.
Image
User avatar
Weebob
Newbie
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2018-1-11 @ 12:29

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby Ponjiayulady » 2019-1-25 @ 09:47

Great! I also have an ASUS P3C-D motherboard with dual P3 1Ghz on it
It’s an i820 board fitted with rambus RDRAM
183741CC-6B60-4E08-BBB4-53C70E188B0D.jpeg
8C9280FA-2204-4E91-8C26-C25989A14C5E.jpeg
DB51528D-9327-4BCD-8AE0-5A84ECC9B7D3.jpeg
C360E23C-6DF8-4979-B1A0-C6B88DF4E0E0.jpeg
Ponjiayulady
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-8-18 @ 09:41

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby oeuvre » 2019-1-25 @ 13:39

Image

damn, dual 1GHz slot 1s!
NetVista Sleeper i7 3770, 16GB, GTX750, SSD + HD, XP/7
ThinkCentre Sleeper Ryzen 7 2700, 32GB, RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 2276
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby mastergamma12 » 2019-1-25 @ 16:45

Ponjiayulady wrote:Great! I also have an ASUS P3C-D motherboard with dual P3 1Ghz on it
It’s an i820 board fitted with rambus RDRAM
183741CC-6B60-4E08-BBB4-53C70E188B0D.jpeg
8C9280FA-2204-4E91-8C26-C25989A14C5E.jpeg
DB51528D-9327-4BCD-8AE0-5A84ECC9B7D3.jpeg
C360E23C-6DF8-4979-B1A0-C6B88DF4E0E0.jpeg


Wait is that a 3 slot 820 board?

Apparently those were supposed to be very buggy?
Asus P3C-E Pentium III-S 1.4ghz,512MB PC800 RDRAM,3dfx Voodoo4 4500,SB AWE64 Gold + SB Live[98]
EVGA 790i SLI FTW Core 2 Quad Q9550,4GB DDR3,8800 GTX,X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty[XP]
User avatar
mastergamma12
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-4-20 @ 19:27
Location: Earth

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby Ponjiayulady » 2019-1-25 @ 18:14

mastergamma12 wrote:
Wait is that a 3 slot 820 board?

Apparently those were supposed to be very buggy?

Do you mean i820 MTH bug?
That problem comes with i820 board using SDRAM,like asus P3C-2000 or Intel CC820
P3C-D is a single channel RDRAM board,so 3 memory slot is acceptable, unlike i840 chipset features dual channel must use all 4 slot
Ponjiayulady
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-8-18 @ 09:41

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby mastergamma12 » 2019-1-25 @ 18:35

Ponjiayulady wrote:
mastergamma12 wrote:
Wait is that a 3 slot 820 board?

Apparently those were supposed to be very buggy?

Do you mean i820 MTH bug?
That problem comes with i820 board using SDRAM,like asus P3C-2000 or Intel CC820
P3C-D is a single channel RDRAM board,so 3 memory slot is acceptable, unlike i840 chipset features dual channel must use all 4 slot


Not the MTH bug, apparently Intel recalled RDRAM i820 boards with 3 RIMM slots due to interference or noise issues or something like that.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/461/7
Asus P3C-E Pentium III-S 1.4ghz,512MB PC800 RDRAM,3dfx Voodoo4 4500,SB AWE64 Gold + SB Live[98]
EVGA 790i SLI FTW Core 2 Quad Q9550,4GB DDR3,8800 GTX,X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty[XP]
User avatar
mastergamma12
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-4-20 @ 19:27
Location: Earth

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby greasemonkey90s » 2019-1-26 @ 06:01

Ponjiayulady wrote:Great! I also have an ASUS P3C-D motherboard with dual P3 1Ghz on it
It’s an i820 board fitted with rambus RDRAM



too bad i cant get my asus p3c-d going tried everything and it was new open box. i suspect corrupted bios maybe just get cpu fan no post.
greasemonkey90s
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 08:31

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby greasemonkey90s » 2019-1-26 @ 06:03

mastergamma12 wrote:
Ponjiayulady wrote:
mastergamma12 wrote:
Wait is that a 3 slot 820 board?

Apparently those were supposed to be very buggy?

Do you mean i820 MTH bug?
That problem comes with i820 board using SDRAM,like asus P3C-2000 or Intel CC820
P3C-D is a single channel RDRAM board,so 3 memory slot is acceptable, unlike i840 chipset features dual channel must use all 4 slot


Not the MTH bug, apparently Intel recalled RDRAM i820 boards with 3 RIMM slots due to interference or noise issues or something like that.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/461/7


i thought it was the first rev of those that had the issue.
greasemonkey90s
Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 2016-4-13 @ 08:31

Re: (The Tuala-Bus) Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+ Live, Voodoo4 4500 Rambus rig

Postby mastergamma12 » 2019-1-26 @ 23:27

Here's an updated pic
I decided to move my Voodoo4 4500, and Live and AWE64 Gold into the rig

Image
Last edited by mastergamma12 on 2019-1-30 @ 07:00, edited 1 time in total.
Asus P3C-E Pentium III-S 1.4ghz,512MB PC800 RDRAM,3dfx Voodoo4 4500,SB AWE64 Gold + SB Live[98]
EVGA 790i SLI FTW Core 2 Quad Q9550,4GB DDR3,8800 GTX,X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty[XP]
User avatar
mastergamma12
Newbie
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-4-20 @ 19:27
Location: Earth

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby chinny22 » 2019-1-29 @ 14:58

Socket P3's are boring to me, Slot 1 is were the action is... accept with RAMBUS that makes them cool.
But man, duel Slot1 AND RAMBUS... Another item goes on my wish list!
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: (The Tuala-Bus) Pentium III-S 1.4ghz, AWE64G+ Live, Voodoo4 4500 Rambus rig

Postby matze79 » 2019-2-02 @ 05:59

OR840 dual coppermine with Rambus ?

Independant Ram Access for both CPU's so SMP can utilize Memory Bandwith.
https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de
matze79
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: 2014-12-12 @ 14:25
Location: Germany, Frankonia

Re: The Janky Tuala-Bus Pentium III Rambus rig

Postby NostalgicAslinger » 2019-2-09 @ 10:32

chinny22 wrote:Socket P3's are boring to me, Slot 1 is were the action is... accept with RAMBUS that makes them cool.
But man, duel Slot1 AND RAMBUS... Another item goes on my wish list!


The PIII-S 1400 is the nicest S370 CPU and the only CPU that I prefer for this Socket. For all other like coppermines, I prefer the Slot 1.
User avatar
NostalgicAslinger
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2018-2-22 @ 13:33
Location: Austria (AUT)


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: knowledge [bot] and 4 guests