Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby chrismeyer6 » 2019-2-11 @ 22:09

Only NT kernel based windows eg 2000, XP pro, vista, 7 ect supported SMP. Windows 9x were single CPU only
chrismeyer6
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 2015-10-13 @ 16:16
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby luckybob » 2019-2-12 @ 01:03

with 2gb of ram, honestly I'd go XP. See if you can bump it up to 3gb!
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby feipoa » 2019-2-14 @ 23:53

You may find that with more RAM, your memory timings or FSB need to be slowed. I have a dual P3 with native Tualatin and DDR support. If I clock it to 1.5 GHz, I must limit the RAM to 3 GB; at 1.4 GHz, I can put that fourth stick of RAM in, for 3.4 GB usable.

To me, the ultimate dual Tualatin is one which has AGP, PCI-X, and dual channel memory. Unfortunately, such boards do not generally have the ability to overclock tha FSB.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby looking4awayout » 2019-2-15 @ 12:00

What about soft overclocking? My motherboard, a QDI Advance 10T, theoretically does not allow overclocking on 1.4-S Pentium IIIs as well, but thanks to CPUFSB I'm able to overclock the CPU by increasing the FSB. Mind you, my PLL is unsupported by every soft overclocking program, but there is a "compatible" PLL that works, which in my case is the Cypress W311. I'm also able to overclock the system through SetFSB, but I can't go higher than 141MHz FSB, unlike CPUFSB that lets me go up to 146MHz stable, if I want to reach 150MHz I need to slow down the memory timings, getting worse performance. Neverthless, I doubt I could get higher than 146MHz without issues, as my motherboard does not have an AGP and PCI lock feature.
My Retro Daily Driver: Pentium !!!-S 1.5GHz | 1.5GB PC133 SDRAM | Gecube Radeon X1950 Pro OC | 500GB WD Blue SSD + 300GB WD Velociraptor | Sound Blaster AWE64 Value | Windows XP Professional SP3
looking4awayout
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-8-08 @ 10:48
Location: EU

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby feipoa » 2019-2-16 @ 07:40

I haven't tried. Do you have links for CPUFSB and SetFSB? And do they allow for CPU voltage increases?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 5769
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby looking4awayout » 2019-2-16 @ 09:30

Unfortunately you cannot increase the voltage with those programs, only the FSB after choosing the PLL that is most compatible with your system. It takes a very long time, freezes, BSODs and trials and errors to get the correct one, unless your PLL is featured in the list. I have both programs but I will send them to you via PM once I'm at home.

EDIT: PM sent.
My Retro Daily Driver: Pentium !!!-S 1.5GHz | 1.5GB PC133 SDRAM | Gecube Radeon X1950 Pro OC | 500GB WD Blue SSD + 300GB WD Velociraptor | Sound Blaster AWE64 Value | Windows XP Professional SP3
looking4awayout
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2017-8-08 @ 10:48
Location: EU

Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rasz_pl and 3 guests