Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby chrismeyer6 » 2019-2-11 @ 22:09

Only NT kernel based windows eg 2000, XP pro, vista, 7 ect supported SMP. Windows 9x were single CPU only
chrismeyer6
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 2015-10-13 @ 16:16
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby luckybob » 2019-2-12 @ 01:03

with 2gb of ram, honestly I'd go XP. See if you can bump it up to 3gb!
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3871
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby feipoa » 2019-2-14 @ 23:53

You may find that with more RAM, your memory timings or FSB need to be slowed. I have a dual P3 with native Tualatin and DDR support. If I clock it to 1.5 GHz, I must limit the RAM to 3 GB; at 1.4 GHz, I can put that fourth stick of RAM in, for 3.4 GB usable.

To me, the ultimate dual Tualatin is one which has AGP, PCI-X, and dual channel memory. Unfortunately, such boards do not generally have the ability to overclock tha FSB.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6504
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby looking4awayout » 2019-2-15 @ 12:00

What about soft overclocking? My motherboard, a QDI Advance 10T, theoretically does not allow overclocking on 1.4-S Pentium IIIs as well, but thanks to CPUFSB I'm able to overclock the CPU by increasing the FSB. Mind you, my PLL is unsupported by every soft overclocking program, but there is a "compatible" PLL that works, which in my case is the Cypress W311. I'm also able to overclock the system through SetFSB, but I can't go higher than 141MHz FSB, unlike CPUFSB that lets me go up to 146MHz stable, if I want to reach 150MHz I need to slow down the memory timings, getting worse performance. Neverthless, I doubt I could get higher than 146MHz without issues, as my motherboard does not have an AGP and PCI lock feature.
My Retro Daily Driver: Pentium !!!-S 1.5GHz | 1.5GB PC133 SDRAM | Gecube Radeon X1950 Pro 256MB OC | 500GB WD Blue SSD + 300GB WD Velociraptor | Sound Blaster AWE64 Value | Windows XP Professional SP3
User avatar
looking4awayout
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 2017-8-08 @ 10:48
Location: EU

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby feipoa » 2019-2-16 @ 07:40

I haven't tried. Do you have links for CPUFSB and SetFSB? And do they allow for CPU voltage increases?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6504
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby looking4awayout » 2019-2-16 @ 09:30

Unfortunately you cannot increase the voltage with those programs, only the FSB after choosing the PLL that is most compatible with your system. It takes a very long time, freezes, BSODs and trials and errors to get the correct one, unless your PLL is featured in the list. I have both programs but I will send them to you via PM once I'm at home.

EDIT: PM sent.
My Retro Daily Driver: Pentium !!!-S 1.5GHz | 1.5GB PC133 SDRAM | Gecube Radeon X1950 Pro 256MB OC | 500GB WD Blue SSD + 300GB WD Velociraptor | Sound Blaster AWE64 Value | Windows XP Professional SP3
User avatar
looking4awayout
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 2017-8-08 @ 10:48
Location: EU

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby TASOS » 2019-2-21 @ 10:52

Obijuan1983 wrote:After years searching this specific hardware, I finally got an ASUS CUV4X-DLS Dual s370 socket , 2x Lin-Lin adapters , 2 x PIII-S 1.4GHz Tualatin and 2 x Aftermarket Heatsinks, all at 50 Euros!

The Rig for testing has:

ASUS CUV4X-DLS (Dual socket s370, Ethernet , SCSI adapter)
2 x Pentium III-S 1.4GHz Tualatin (1400/512/134)
1GB RAM (4 x 256MB PC133)
ATI X1650PRO 256 MB DDR3
Creative Audigy

Windows 7 32bit

Waiting for 2GB RAM (4x512MB PC133) , an PCI to SATA adapter to connect an 120GB SSD, 2 x Waterblocks to watercool the CPU's and a new windowed case.

IMG_20190203_230126.jpg


Very nice find , at a great price ... happy benchmarking !!!
:-D

Vio settings possible ?
User avatar
TASOS
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-9-24 @ 13:05

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby feipoa » 2019-2-28 @ 11:31

I have three dual PIII-S systems setup in cases at the moment.

Intel SAI2, which uses for its clock gen: ICS 932S200BF

SuperMicro P3TDE6, which uses: Silicon Labs W158H

MSI MS-9105, which uses ICS 951001AF

On the SAI2 and P3TDE6 (which are server boards), the datasheets don't reveal there being any options for frequencies outside of 133, 100, 66, and 33 MHz. On the MS-9105, I could not locate the datasheet, but BIOS has overclocking options. Max reliable frequency was around 145 MHz, so I took it down to 143 MHz and run the system at 1.5 GHz.

My main interest in these soft-freq. programs was to adjust the freq. on the P3TDE6 and SAI2. The P3TDE6 has proven quite fragile and I've killed 2 boards already, so I am very hesitant to try the software mods. The SAI2, on the other hand, has been fairly bullet proof, so I'll give that board a go.

I have attached the datasheets for the SAI2 and P3TDE6 clock gens.

Edit1: I checked the Excel sheet contained with SetFSB and neither of my PLL's are listed.
Edit2: SetFSB returns "Chipset Error" upon opening the program in W2K.
Edit3: CPUFSB also doesn't list the PLL's from my server boards (SAI2 & P3TDE6). Only 951001 for the MSI MS-9105 is listed, which is of limited value since there is BIOS support. I have a feeling that it will be fairly unlikely that there is another PLL to match those found on server boards such as these. The PLL datasheet for the SAI2 mentions that it is for the ServerWorks ServerSet chipets. There was probably very limited interest in overclocking servers, so that's probably why the PLL's are listed in either of these programs. Only the non-server board has a listing. I don't think I have the will power to check every PLL in the database to see if the pinouts are compatible.
Attachments
ICS_932S200BF_on_Intel_SAI2.pdf
(140.6 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Silicon_Labs_W158H_Sspread_Spectrum_System_Frequency_Synthesizer.pdf
(152.86 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6504
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby D3FEKT » 2019-2-28 @ 12:35

Obijuan1983 wrote:
Next step is to watercool the dual PIII-S...




If you want to cheap out in watercooling, I used two ID-COOLING 120L AIOs and two retention brackets bent to suit from cheap ebay Akasa heatsinks to suit Socket370.

The AIOs are really cheap.
User avatar
D3FEKT
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2017-6-20 @ 06:27
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby Obijuan1983 » 2019-5-05 @ 19:19

Pentium III-S 1.4GHz @ 1.85GHz (Chilled @-8.5 C)

IMG_20190505_221439.jpg


IMG_20190505_222043.jpg
User avatar
Obijuan1983
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2019-2-03 @ 21:47

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby feipoa » 2019-5-05 @ 21:57

Did you take apart a freezer?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t++
 
Posts: 6504
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Ultimate Dual PIII-S Rig

Postby Obijuan1983 » 2019-5-12 @ 07:19

I had a Chiller and I built recently a Singe Stage!

IMG_20190506_190341.jpg


IMG_20190512_102038.jpg


I will try the SS at the Pentium III-S 1400 soon!
User avatar
Obijuan1983
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2019-2-03 @ 21:47

Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests