Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby foey » 2019-3-14 @ 20:05

Well I've got the retro urge back after lurking for a considerable time on here!

You may remember my Compaq 386/25 which actually turned out to be a Compaq-M which I transformed into a 486/50 thanks to a very lucky ebay find. https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=42706

I've been looking around for another machine to play with and wanted to demo something old at work. I managed to find a Compaq Deskpro 386/20e complete with original monitor.

Specs

Intel 386 @ 20mhz
5mb RAM (1mb + 4mb Expansion board)
120mb Connor Hard Drive
O/B
3Com ISA Network Card
3.5 / 5.4 Drives
Orignal Compaq CRT Screen - does have minor screen burn.

All Complete, just needed a good clean!

Image

After a decent clean it's looking much sharper, but needs some RetroBrite!

Image

The 5.4 drive does not appear to be working, I can't really hear it spinning - assuming a belt? I can hear the head moving. As a result, I've swapped the drives around meaning that the 3.5 drive is the primary boot device allowing me to use my 720k Compaq setup disk.

Image

Compaq Setup, SP308.

Image

The machine has a basic onboard sound controller connected to an internal speaker. I've kept hold of a CT1600 for a while, I've almost gone to bin it a couple of times as I could never get it working. I popped it in and configured the jumpers to 240, i7 and dma3 and works like a dream! Crystal clear!

Image

Cleaning all of the internals

Image

Image

Image

Running Hocus Pocus!

Image

Problems

- I can't find the internal battery. I suspect it has been removed by the previous owner as there is a piece of sticky material connected to the case where I'm assuming the battery stuck to. I was expecting to find a Dallas RTC? Where is the battery connection? I have to run the Compaq setup each time I turn the machine off.

- 5.4 drive does not work, assuming a belt as I can't hear the disk spin? I need to take it apart. The previous owner gave me some disks with it as well but unable to read all of them.

It's currently running Windows 3.1. Looking to get it retro Brite'd over the weekend!

Hope you have enjoyed!
Cyrix Instead Build, 6x86 166+ | 32mb SD | 4mb S3 Virge DX | Creative AWE64 | Win95
ATC-S PIII Tualatin Win9x Build :- http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=40248
User avatar
foey
Member
 
Posts: 264
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 20:11
Location: UK

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby henryVK » 2019-3-15 @ 10:17

Nice machine! My friend had one when we were in elementary school, so many fond memories surround these Compaqs.

I would guess that the battery is integrated in a socketed RTC chip. Those longish ones behind that raised board look like they might be BIOS-related!
User avatar
henryVK
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2017-12-29 @ 20:26
Location: Europe

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby dr.ido » 2019-3-15 @ 10:46

The battery is off board. The only connector I can see in the photos that is not connected to anything is behind the slot the sound card is in. A lot of Compaq machines has board layout diagrams on the case lid, but this one may predate that.
dr.ido
Newbie
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 2017-12-01 @ 12:55

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby henryVK » 2019-3-15 @ 11:32

Ahh, I see it now.

Well, good luck finding the layout!
User avatar
henryVK
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2017-12-29 @ 20:26
Location: Europe

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby Jo22 » 2019-3-15 @ 12:11

Looks very nice! I love these yellow Molex connectors, too. :)

120mb Connor Hard Drive

It's currently running Windows 3.1. Looking to get it retro Brite'd over the weekend!

Sounds good, I also had got a Conner drive in my 286.
If you're lucky, you can even activate 3.1's original FastDisk driver on this drive! :D

To do so, open system.ini and add this line to [386Enh] section: 32BitDiskAccess=On
To disable, just either remove the line, the statement (=On), change it to 32BitDiskAccess=Off.

Even if it doesn't work, you can install the MicroHouse FastDisk driver from here: http://win31.de/edrivers.htm
Of course, you can also ignore FastDisk alltogether and use Smartdrive or no disk cache at all.

FastDisk is just handy, because it lowers CPU load (no fallback to DOS/Real-Mode ..) and improves support for windowed DOS sessions.
Windows for Workgroups 3.11 is even better, because it has a built-in disk cache on top of that.

Edit: You even can install Win32s on that PC. XNView v1.50 run on that, too.
If you need other things to demo, have a look at WinG SDK. It has a DirectX-like spinning cube.
Oh, and also try the usual fractal programs I've attached a neat one (shareware).
Attachments
wndman.zip
(347.48 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3199
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby 386_junkie » 2019-3-15 @ 20:11

Nice system!

I prefer the original Compaq logo on hardware rather than the redesigned logo on more modern systems... and the Monitor to match too! Definitely look after that monitor, if anything were to happen to it, it would be a repair job rather than scrap.

Regards to the battery, I agree with another poster, it is likely to be off-board. Are there any loose pins around... say 4 in a row similar to the speaker connector?

Thanks for sharing.
User avatar
386_junkie
Oldbie
 
Posts: 982
Joined: 2014-4-15 @ 20:02

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby foey » 2019-3-18 @ 20:19

** 18/03/19 Update **

So today I stripped down the machine and decided to Retr0bright the case. I've never done this before so tested on a very aged and coloured keyboard beforehand - I was very impressed with the result so decided to crack on with the case.

Full clean beforehand. I used Truzone Cream Peroxide 12% 40 Volume and just used a paint brush to apply to the front of the case. I applied a couple of coats and then wrapped up in cling film and left outside in the... overcast UK British weather!

Image

I reapplied a couple of times throughout the afternoon, I was going to leave overnight but worried about streaks so decided to remove it all and could apply another coat in the next couple of days. I had left it for around 5 hours outside then brought inside for an hour or so. I cleaned with water then used a Microfibre cloth to remove the water. Considering it had only been on there for 5 hours, I was really surprised by the results. It does need another application but very happy.

Image

5.4 and Monitor are next on the list!

Image

Image

** Battery **

Regarding the battery, if you look in this photo - at the rear of the SB Pro card, you can see a little white connector. It's 3 pin, but width for 4. Is this the battery connector? You can see the velcro on the left-hand side of the case.

Image

Close up.

Image

I've managed to get a packet driver for the card and playing around with mTCP. It seems to only obtain a DHCP every now and then, pings anything then drops the connection - despite staying connected to the switch. If I can get it working without any issues I will use the mTCP FTP Server program to transfer files back and forth.

It does need a full re-install of Dos 6.22 and WFW but really enjoying it currently.
Cyrix Instead Build, 6x86 166+ | 32mb SD | 4mb S3 Virge DX | Creative AWE64 | Win95
ATC-S PIII Tualatin Win9x Build :- http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=40248
User avatar
foey
Member
 
Posts: 264
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 20:11
Location: UK

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby 386_junkie » 2019-3-20 @ 23:49

Retrobright working a treat... it is taking years off the system, looking good! Something I may have to try.

Yes, the Velcro there would have been to attach the plastic battery case... there would have been the other Velcro part on the battery case and a cable leading to the pins.
User avatar
386_junkie
Oldbie
 
Posts: 982
Joined: 2014-4-15 @ 20:02

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby eisapc » 2019-3-21 @ 09:27

Very nice, especially with the matching monitor. If you are looking for some memory upgrade PM me. I have some spare modules for sure.
I have a 386/20e and a 386/25e myself, a 386/16s ,a 486/L and countless /M and /XL, but never got my hands on such a monitor.
eisapc
User avatar
eisapc
Member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 2018-3-03 @ 13:18
Location: Germany

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Postby foey » 2019-3-21 @ 18:51

eisapc wrote:Very nice, especially with the matching monitor. If you are looking for some memory upgrade PM me. I have some spare modules for sure.
I have a 386/20e and a 386/25e myself, a 386/16s ,a 486/L and countless /M and /XL, but never got my hands on such a monitor.
eisapc


Thanks, have you replaced your battery? If so, can you please confirm the location + what I need to replace it with.

Thanks!
Cyrix Instead Build, 6x86 166+ | 32mb SD | 4mb S3 Virge DX | Creative AWE64 | Win95
ATC-S PIII Tualatin Win9x Build :- http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=40248
User avatar
foey
Member
 
Posts: 264
Joined: 2014-5-27 @ 20:11
Location: UK


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests