AMD K6-3+@500mhz., Voodoo 3000 (desktop)

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby Fusion » 2019-5-07 @ 20:52

I have a 120mm fan attached to my V3. I moved the fan so its sitting slightly off center to cool the memory chips as well. It runs rock solid at 195/195! :cool:
WIP Retro Files
P3 800 | 512MB PC100| PCI V3 3000 16MB @ 195/195 | CT4780 SB Live! Value| WinME
P3 450 | 128MB PC100| AGP TNT2 Pro 32MB | CT4170 SB16 | MS-DOS 7.10
A64 2.4 | 2GB DDR1 | PCI-E Radeon X800XT @ 575/575 | Win2K
User avatar
Fusion
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: 2017-3-06 @ 04:49
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-5-07 @ 22:22

I just bought a "Cooler Master Drive-4 fan speed controller for this case.
It will control the CPU fan, Case fans and Voodoo-3 fan.
It is going to look Awsome !
I am going to paint that floppy drive Bezel and bay adapter silver too so everything will match.
Attachments
cool master fan speed controller -002.jpg
cool master fan speed controller -001.jpg
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-5-11 @ 20:06

Done with this build.
Attachments
34606B06-ACCC-429E-82EB-90F109E95EA3.jpeg
597FC191-C24C-4D29-B188-83536C771859.jpeg
0ACDA081-9038-4F78-9FF5-D63DCB150E01.jpeg
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-6-01 @ 15:43

This motherboard has a Turbo LED but no Turbo switch.
How do I enable/disable turbo ?

http://www.motherboards.org/files/manua ... m5eh20.pdf
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-6-01 @ 19:23

Intel486dx33 wrote:This motherboard has a Turbo LED but no Turbo switch.
How do I enable/disable turbo ?

http://www.motherboards.org/files/manua ... m5eh20.pdf

You don't.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6320
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby mothergoose729 » 2019-6-06 @ 18:30

Intel486dx33 wrote:This motherboard has a Turbo LED but no Turbo switch.
How do I enable/disable turbo ?

http://www.motherboards.org/files/manua ... m5eh20.pdf


From what I have read, the turbo switch on most socket 7 boards does nothing. Why they include it in the manual I don't know.
mothergoose729
Member
 
Posts: 264
Joined: 2018-4-10 @ 03:04

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-6-06 @ 21:36

Okay, I am done with this build. I am working on a tower version of this same build config.
Attachments
08353821-A4CB-4A25-8A90-9D2CDB89EA8C.jpeg
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby JonathonWyble » 2019-6-06 @ 23:59

Neat! That looks a lot like a well organized desktop layout. All of the wires and cables are not tangled together and everything. That must have been a little complicated to organize those cables.
JonathonWyble
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: 2019-1-13 @ 02:10
Location: Buffalo, New York

Re: Ultimate AMD K6-3+@500mhz.

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-6-09 @ 14:09

JonathonWyble wrote:Neat! That looks a lot like a well organized desktop layout. All of the wires and cables are not tangled together and everything. That must have been a little complicated to organize those cables.


Yes, This case has a large cavity so lots of room to move stuff around inside.
It was actually a mess of wires. But I was able to cable manage okay and tied up the wires as best I could.
In the end the wires and cables are all tied up well and do not impact the air flow inside the case.
Last edited by Intel486dx33 on 2019-6-11 @ 16:00, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: AMD K6-3+@500mhz., Voodoo 3000 (desktop)

Postby JonathonWyble » 2019-6-10 @ 23:47

Yeah, that makes sense. Maybe I should try doing that if I ever decide to put a desktop together, I would just get some extra zip ties to neatly organize the cables and such, and have it like that :-P
JonathonWyble
Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: 2019-1-13 @ 02:10
Location: Buffalo, New York

Re: AMD K6-3+@500mhz., Voodoo 3000 (desktop)

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-6-11 @ 17:50

JonathonWyble wrote:Yeah, that makes sense. Maybe I should try doing that if I ever decide to put a desktop together, I would just get some extra zip ties to neatly organize the cables and such, and have it like that :-P


Actually, The Tower version of this Lian Li case has a large cavity and is great for these old builds with lots of stuff.
The Desktop version is smaller and will only fit an Mini ATX or Baby AT case.
Space is limited and harder to work within.
You might be able to fit a full size AT motherboard in the Desktop version but it will be tight.
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: AMD K6-3+@500mhz., Voodoo 3000 (desktop)

Postby Zero_sugar » 2019-6-13 @ 05:03

I love those brushed aluminum mid-2000s cases. I have a Lian-li PC-V1000 for my main pc, a Japanese Abee case for my Tualatin PC and a Silverstone HTPC case for my K6-3 PC. Nice aesthetic.
Zero_sugar
Newbie
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2019-2-16 @ 05:31

Previous

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Robert B and 5 guests