Dual socket 370 system!

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Dual socket 370 system!

Postby nd22 » 2019-4-17 @ 12:11

Today it entered in my possession an Abit VP6 motherboard with original caps in perfect condition. The idea is to build a dual CPU socket 370 rig.
One option is to use adapters such as Lin Lin ones for an ultimate Tualatin system however the price of such adapters is simply ridiculous and I only found them on E bay.
Option 2 is to use Pentium 3 Coppermine revision which is supported by the board natively and are much cheaper. I already found in my own country 2 P3 with the same spec number SL52R - one manufactured in Malay and one in Philippines - would this be OK to use or should I search for models manufactured in the same country? I also found 2 P3 with spec number SL5QJ Coppermine T revision which I do not know if they are supported by this board or they require a Tualatin compatible board. The performance is identical to the classic Coppermine or is something in between Tualatin and the classic Coppermine?
I already have 4 identical sticks of 512mb RAM and several PATA hard drives under 128gb capcacity.
Should I worry about something else? This would be my first dual CPU retro-build :blush: .
nd22
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 2016-10-17 @ 09:58
Location: Ploiesti, Romania

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby slivercr » 2019-4-17 @ 14:27

Congrats on the board, its a very nice one indeed!

-Watch out for the caps, even if they look pristine Abit used some cheap ones back then. If you run into trouble like instabilities and the such, these should be your first suspects.
-On eBay there are pre-modded Tualatin CPUs, if you choose to go that route. They are still on the expensive side though.
-When matching CPUs for SMP usage, the important thing is to match the stepping codes. Where they were manufactured is of no consequence.
-The CuMine-T you found will perform identical to a normal CuMine. They are compatible with motherboards that support normal CuMine signaling and motherboards supporting Tualating signaling.

Personally, having built a dual CPU system and ran Tualatins in it, I would just run CuMines. Cheaper, and less headache to get them running. Of course, you have to consider what you want to do with the system and how much money/time you want to spend on it. If the intention is to max it out then Tualatins all the way; for playing the occasional game and experimenting with SMP, either Tualatin or CuMine will do.

Good luck, and post some pics as you build!
Outrigger: an ongoing adventure with the OR840
QuForce FX 5800: turn your Quadro into a GeForce
User avatar
slivercr
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: 2017-2-16 @ 18:00
Location: Groningen

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby Cyrix200+ » 2019-4-17 @ 15:23

My VP6 has horribly bloated caps. I hope yours is okay!
User avatar
Cyrix200+
Oldbie
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 2015-5-11 @ 15:52
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby nd22 » 2019-5-05 @ 03:24

The motherboard look fine, no bloated caps. I do not have identical coolers so for testing I used some socket A ones. Memtest is now running to determine the stability and the right memory modules to use with the board. The BIOS is version YT and not the latest DR - but that one is only for the highpoint controller; should I upgrade or just leave it as it is?
Build progress:
Attachments
20190505_061118.jpg
20190505_061100.jpg
20190504_145550.jpg
20190504_145450.jpg
20190504_145429.jpg
nd22
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 2016-10-17 @ 09:58
Location: Ploiesti, Romania

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby bofh.fromhell » 2019-5-08 @ 14:54

nd22 wrote:The BIOS is version YT and not the latest DR - but that one is only for the highpoint controller; should I upgrade or just leave it as it is?


"If it aint broke.......you havn't fixed it enough !"
But seriously, one BIOS revision will most likely not have anything you need with that setup.
User avatar
bofh.fromhell
Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: 2019-2-09 @ 16:11

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-5-08 @ 16:47

I want to build this gaming computer.
With a Cooler Master Wave case and Jet-7 CPU coolers.
Maybe paint the motherboard flat grey.
Attachments
BCBC6425-37CA-489D-9E0B-03D5BA588721.jpeg
6C710C68-3A4A-4EBE-AB26-3F2499443F55.jpeg
010533B6-B260-46D3-91CC-CB87A933B4F3.jpeg
Last edited by Intel486dx33 on 2019-5-09 @ 18:22, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1491
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby luckybob » 2019-5-08 @ 18:40

once you go dual, you dont go back!
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby nd22 » 2019-5-08 @ 19:32

I encountered a problem with the system!
With 2gb of SDRAM PC133, even form 2 different manufacturers, the system will pass memtest86 multiple times - 3 times in one night I think is enough!
I tried multiple HDD and they are all recognized - I choose a Western digital 250gb from 2004 I think.
As a test video card I used some geforce 5500 and 93.71 drivers. For network duties I used a TP-LINK 851nd compatible with every Windows starting with 98.
Both windows 2000 and XP installed just fine and the system is up and running however the problem is with the sound card! I used 2 different Creative Live - 0060 and 0220 - but they are not recognized by the system - they do not appear not even with an yellow mark in device manager! I changed the PCI slots - first time the 5th slot now the 4th slot but with no luck! I tested both sound cards in different systems and both are running just fine - one in an Abit BX6 2.0 with Windows Millennium and one in an Abit IC7-MAX3 with Windows XP - so both of them are OK! I have several others Creative Live - different revisions - I will try them but any suggestions would be great!
nd22
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 2016-10-17 @ 09:58
Location: Ploiesti, Romania

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby luckybob » 2019-5-08 @ 22:17

check the bios.

there might be something funny in the PnP setup.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: Dual socket 370 system!

Postby chinny22 » 2019-5-19 @ 11:13

Another joins the SMP family, welcome :)
Creative cards can be a PITA. You doing a clean build every time or moving the card hoping it will be picked up as new hardware?
not that it matters, I've had the exact same problem then after yet another reinstall it comes up in device manager so I just back away slowly.
I am thinking of trying the daniel k drivers next time it happens.
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2218
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now


Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: knowledge [bot] and 1 guest