VOGONS

First post, by donhonk

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hey guys! I'm new to the vintage hardware game, having grown up with some sort of Packard Bell playing lots of Jedi Knight and Lego Island. This build is going to be a bit more modern than that. (1999 - 2000 ish.) The plan is to use this machine as a base, replacing a fair bit of components. (Not throwing out the old stuff, but may sell some of it off!) Wanting to go pretty high end, while replacing as many components as I can with modern counterparts. (Storage, Fans, ETC.)

The Base
1H8xqvnm.jpg7vD1r8wm.jpgKALpkKlm.jpg zb6U6rTm.jpg

As the title suggests, this was a find from my local FB Marketplace, I really wanted a beige PC case to match my cute little Sony CRT that I found. Got a very well taken care of Gateway Essential 550. The original owner tossed in a lot of extras too! (Not pictured.) Like original restore discs, additional cards, etc. Gave him some money and was on my way.

I already started modifying it as you can see, with the Noctua fan going in place of the original OEM fan. It almost seems a shame to change the internals but the plan is to replace it with a new board!

Graphics Cards
1W0RiVlm.jpg
This machine came with an Nvidia TNT2 it seems! Nothing wrong with this card as far as I can tell from the brief boot into the original owners installation of Windows ME. (Will be replaced with Windows 98.) What do y'all think of this card?

q9lki9Fm.jpgGGbpiSWm.jpgA7uvzgQm.jpg
In the big box of additional components that the owner gave me, I found this Maxi Gamer Phoenix! So basically a Voodoo Banshee?

My plan is to go a bit higher end than this, I'd like to maybe play Glide stuff and Half Life at 60 fps. That kind of locks me into super expensive voodoo hardware right? So far thats the plan.

The New Motherboard
GCmLb70m.jpgTkmcGGOm.jpg0BODN9Ym.jpg